Chevron Left
Back to Python Programming Essentials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Programming Essentials by Rice University

4.8
stars
3,034 ratings
756 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to the wonderful world of Python programming! We'll learn about the essential elements of programming and how to construct basic Python programs. We will cover expressions, variables, functions, logic, and conditionals, which are foundational concepts in computer programming. We will also teach you how to use Python modules, which enable you to benefit from the vast array of functionality that is already a part of the Python language. These concepts and skills will help you to begin to think like a computer programmer and to understand how to go about writing Python programs. By the end of the course, you will be able to write short Python programs that are able to accomplish real, practical tasks. This course is the foundation for building expertise in Python programming. As the first course in a specialization, it provides the necessary building blocks for you to succeed at learning to write more complex Python programs. This course uses Python 3. While many Python programs continue to use Python 2, Python 3 is the future of the Python programming language. This first course will use a Python 3 version of the CodeSkulptor development environment, which is specifically designed to help beginning programmers learn quickly. CodeSkulptor runs within any modern web browser and does not require you to install any software, allowing you to start writing and running small programs immediately. In the later courses in this specialization, we will help you to move to more sophisticated desktop development environments....

Top reviews

RS
Apr 27, 2021

A really good course good material and lectures. However, I find that sometimes that too much guidance given, and it has sort of made the course less challanging. nevertheless a good foundation course

HR
Jul 3, 2020

This course is such a wonder!! In spite of being an unenthusiastic Computer Science undergraduate, it was this course that cultivated the interest in me. Both the instructors were too good. Thanks :0

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 756 Reviews for Python Programming Essentials

By Wei Q

Jan 2, 2020

This course is clear and consistent throughout, easy for beginners to get familiar with python, and the humor of Joe and Scott certainly add flavor to the course!

By Zhuoyu C

Nov 25, 2019

Good tutorial, but I think it focus too much on detail for someone who are new to programming. Show them the fancy part first and leave out the redundant details

By Li-Wei H

Jun 2, 2019

Really clear explanation and demonstration. Strongly recommend each of you to complete not just the quiz and/or final project, but also the exercise in each week

By Vivek V A

Mar 16, 2019

This course is very good to know the basics and the assignments are good to test us practically. Overall a good course for a beginner who is looking for Python.

By martin

Jun 12, 2018

Great for beginners, you will get a good start with this class. Clear explanations, and good assignments and materials. Oh, and the professors are great also.

By Virginia G

Oct 30, 2020

Loved this course, it is more challenging than other python intro courses I saw in coursera. I found the exercises very interesting and fun to code. Thanks!

By Pon N k N

Mar 30, 2021

Great course. Just a perfect one to start python. I have 15+ years of experience in C programming and i found this course as perfect one to start in Python.

By Pawan D

Feb 27, 2020

This course helped me a lot to learn the basic scripting of Python language.Everyone should go through this course before starting the real world of Python.

By Salvador T R

Jul 22, 2018

It is a great course for anyone who wants to study this language. You dont need to know anything because this course will start from scratch. Great course!

By Rashed M

Mar 26, 2018

This was a review class for me. Even basic materials, it was good to learn the proper way of doing things. Absolutely recommend to all level of learners.

By Brian R

Nov 20, 2017

I audited the course and it was super insightful. The lessons build smartly on each other. I strongly recommend it if you want to begin to learn python

By 江睿

Sep 16, 2018

This Python course is incredibly great, I had learn a lot Python through this course, and the most important thing is it elicit my passion to coding!

By Adjamilton J

Apr 27, 2018

The step by step methodology and the assignments was what I most liked about the course. I am really glad to have a certificate from Rice University.

By sayantan s

Jul 5, 2020

A great course never have I been taught in this manner,really surprising how a video is more interactive than many of the teachers in our university

By Graeme R

Dec 8, 2020

Excellent intro to Python and logic. Been a long time since l have done it and it brought back a lot of knowledge that l thought l had forgotten

By Guanyu B

Oct 28, 2020

Good course that has a link to Fundamental of Computing. Love Joe and Scott's teaching style.

Want to become one of Rice's students in the future.

By Suhani A

Aug 31, 2020

Teaches multiple skills in python basic functions. The step by step instructions by the excellent tutors provides an amazing learning experience!

By Pradyumna P

Jun 18, 2020

I really liked the Project-based approach of RICE university for an online course like this. I expect more courses will follow the same approach!

By Rajesh J

May 29, 2020

Very useful step by step explanation and very long assignments. Very simple explanations due to which course became very interesting, Thank You!

By Pallavi P

Dec 10, 2020

Will suggest this training to folks as it gives a good understanding of python even if you know nothing 'bout it.

Special Thanks to Joe and Scott

By Anu K P U

Jun 30, 2020

Really enjoyed this introductory course. Being a complete a newbie in the world of coding, this course helped me a lot to learn the essentials.

By Mehul D

Jun 20, 2020

Thank you, Scott and Joe, for the awesome course. Very nicely explained and Very Good Project. It helped me to learn a lot and gain confidence.

By Andrés F R L

Sep 25, 2020

The course has the first steps to learn Python and the explanation is easy, I enjoyed this course (and the jokes of the teachers, by the way).

By Joanne H P C

Jan 29, 2019

Good introduction to the basics of Python scripting. Step by step explanations and exercises/quizzes help better solidify new concepts learnt.

By Ruchita T

Dec 3, 2017

very good for beginners to learn python. Easy to follow the lectures and the assignments and project are well designed to test your learning.