Chevron Left
Back to Python Programming Essentials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Programming Essentials by Rice University

4.8
stars
2,240 ratings
550 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to the wonderful world of Python programming! We'll learn about the essential elements of programming and how to construct basic Python programs. We will cover expressions, variables, functions, logic, and conditionals, which are foundational concepts in computer programming. We will also teach you how to use Python modules, which enable you to benefit from the vast array of functionality that is already a part of the Python language. These concepts and skills will help you to begin to think like a computer programmer and to understand how to go about writing Python programs. By the end of the course, you will be able to write short Python programs that are able to accomplish real, practical tasks. This course is the foundation for building expertise in Python programming. As the first course in a specialization, it provides the necessary building blocks for you to succeed at learning to write more complex Python programs. This course uses Python 3. While many Python programs continue to use Python 2, Python 3 is the future of the Python programming language. This first course will use a Python 3 version of the CodeSkulptor development environment, which is specifically designed to help beginning programmers learn quickly. CodeSkulptor runs within any modern web browser and does not require you to install any software, allowing you to start writing and running small programs immediately. In the later courses in this specialization, we will help you to move to more sophisticated desktop development environments....

Top reviews

JW

Apr 26, 2018

I really enjoyed this course, but I would highly recommend taking something along the lines of Codecademy prior to this one. It will help to get you versed in some of the more basic things in Python.

MM

Jul 04, 2020

This course is such a wonder!! In spite of being an unenthusiastic Computer Science undergraduate, it was this course that cultivated the interest in me. Both the instructors were too good. Thanks :0

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 550 Reviews for Python Programming Essentials

By Honey S

Nov 28, 2018

This course is a very good introduction to Python for beginners. Amazing lectures and lot of practice exercises.

By Georges-Emmanuel P

Jan 07, 2018

Very nice Team and very good course as usual but ... this time for Python ... 3 ! why is really great. Thanks !

By Ashiqur R

Jul 26, 2020

Great Course.It builds the the basic understanding of the python programming from from scratch to expert level.

By Aman

May 18, 2020

Very awesome course and very beautifully explained. i do not have programming experience but still i learnt it.

By Roberto N

Feb 19, 2019

Excellent course to start programming in Python, interesting, funny, I really congratulates the Scott and Joe.

By Pratik G

May 02, 2020

Excellent course for beginner like you will learn all the things in depth and not like some youtube videos.

By Lilya43

Apr 02, 2020

It was very useful. The course provided a lot of details for people like me who learned Python from scratch

By Maria E M

Mar 02, 2020

I really like this course. Interesting videos and challenging projects! Thanks Rice University and Coursera

By Facundo F

Aug 14, 2019

Excellent course! Thank you for providing first-class education worldwide. This is democratizing education.

By Peter K

Mar 18, 2018

Great introduction to basics of using Python. Looking forward to further courses within the specialization.

By Cadet P

Mar 15, 2018

A good introduction of Python scripting. Final project did a very good job in showing how to use functions.

By Hugh R

Jul 11, 2020

It was a very informative course and I look forward to doing the next three courses in the specialization.

By Mustapha E

May 15, 2018

good culture with clear examples. the first step to learn python or any other programming language.

thanks!

By Bhaskari k

Apr 14, 2020

The best course, this helped me a lot in learning python.The teaching faculty is also so good.

THANK YOU.

By Elekanyani M

Jul 18, 2020

This was not easy, my recomandations is that you should start with python for everybody before this one

By WEI Z

Oct 10, 2019

The teachers are really kind and helpful. The tools they use is fairly carefully designed. Good course.

By Anu

Jul 08, 2019

The professors did a great job explaining basic concepts in a way that even non-programmers understand.

By Jesús E

Jun 24, 2020

Nice and clear explanations.

Good problems and also good external tools to initiate Python programming

By wen y

Nov 29, 2019

Very interesting and helpful! The final project is really combined the knowledge from those 4 weeks.

By Ray W

Jan 27, 2019

Love it! Each programming tips were short and convenient, but most importantly, easy to understand.

By Ashay T

Dec 11, 2017

The assignments were well designed and a good refresher even for people familiar with the language.

By Azamat R

Jun 28, 2020

This is amazing course. I spent a whole week learning all these codings. It helps me a lot. Thanks

By Asutosh B

Sep 18, 2018

Very well structured course and explained everything clearly. Practice questions are very helpful.

By Lucia C

Sep 10, 2018

This course is great! Very good structure, excellent didactic and instructors! I had a lot of fun!

By Ashish G C L

Feb 22, 2018

I recommend this course for those who want to learn python scripting from basic to advanced level.