Chevron Left
Back to Python Programming Essentials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Programming Essentials by Rice University

4.8
stars
2,964 ratings
740 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to the wonderful world of Python programming! We'll learn about the essential elements of programming and how to construct basic Python programs. We will cover expressions, variables, functions, logic, and conditionals, which are foundational concepts in computer programming. We will also teach you how to use Python modules, which enable you to benefit from the vast array of functionality that is already a part of the Python language. These concepts and skills will help you to begin to think like a computer programmer and to understand how to go about writing Python programs. By the end of the course, you will be able to write short Python programs that are able to accomplish real, practical tasks. This course is the foundation for building expertise in Python programming. As the first course in a specialization, it provides the necessary building blocks for you to succeed at learning to write more complex Python programs. This course uses Python 3. While many Python programs continue to use Python 2, Python 3 is the future of the Python programming language. This first course will use a Python 3 version of the CodeSkulptor development environment, which is specifically designed to help beginning programmers learn quickly. CodeSkulptor runs within any modern web browser and does not require you to install any software, allowing you to start writing and running small programs immediately. In the later courses in this specialization, we will help you to move to more sophisticated desktop development environments....

Top reviews

RS
Apr 27, 2021

A really good course good material and lectures. However, I find that sometimes that too much guidance given, and it has sort of made the course less challanging. nevertheless a good foundation course

JW
Apr 25, 2018

I really enjoyed this course, but I would highly recommend taking something along the lines of Codecademy prior to this one. It will help to get you versed in some of the more basic things in Python.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 740 Reviews for Python Programming Essentials

By Vipin B

Jan 4, 2020

This course is very good for beginner. It gives exposure to all the basics required to become a good programmer. Its tool suggestions are also very good like pthon tutor and pylint.

By Ashutosh S L

Jul 25, 2020

Very good course for python beginners. No prior programming experience is required before starting this course so it is great start for people who wants to become python programmer

By Alexander F

Oct 16, 2019

Really liked the development of the course with clear instructions and step-by-step build-up along the way. The final project was challenging but just enough to not be frustrating.

By Eric L

Jun 8, 2020

Apart from joe's (Young Sheldon) Karaoke it was a really solid first course. I'm going to do the rest of this track and the next one in Python. Definitely the best Python courses!

By Abderahmane O

May 1, 2020

This course has helped so much to develop my python programming techniques, this course is so simple and really helps you code in a proper way ! thank you so much for this course.

By Muhammad F

Oct 27, 2020

A very good course. Teaching about the basics of python and sometimes give challenging quizzes which is very useful to up force myself to think and reflect on what I have learned

By Shaanto K

Jun 6, 2019

I started this course with an idea to get started on Python. The presenters did a great job of easing into it. Enjoyed the experience and got a great start to Python programming.

By Jennifer X

Jul 12, 2021

An excellent beginner's introduction to Python. Comprehensively covers the basics, and the subsequent courses build coherently upon this intro one. Excellent practice questions.

By Muralidharan L

Feb 3, 2021

Very informative course, for Python beginners this course is very helpful to understand the basics of coding and guides to transform the requirement from Language to coding.

By Muhammad T

Aug 8, 2021

Very well structured and amazing team of tutors! Loved the way the course was designed and carried out! Much thanks to Coursera and the teaching staff from RIce University!

By Aivaras K

Dec 31, 2020

Everything was just right for the beginner! I absolutely recommend this course for anyone that wants to start using Python from scratch. Great course and great instructors!

By 卓玛多杰

Jul 22, 2020

The teachers are both enthusiastic and the last test is quite interesting with detailed guide.

I am looking forward to the following courses in the specialization!

Thank u

By Avishek K S

Jul 9, 2020

Easy to understand course with some of the great documented assignments. Really liked the course especially the last assignment part! we need more assignments like that!

By Vijayanand S

May 19, 2020

An excellent start for me to learn the basics of Python language. The structure of this course is truely engaging and I look forward to study more and more such courses.

By jingyao z

Sep 10, 2019

it's so nice that the course offers step-by-step reference to show me how to complete a code, which will keep me motivated and when i finally complete i got so exciting!

By Carlos E

Nov 30, 2017

Good course, very challenging, particularly as there is a lot of Math included. I do appreciate the approach to teach how to write code in an elegant and structured way.

By Rakesh K

Jul 1, 2020

Easy Course , Lovely Educator means instructor. But for Assignment is very Difficult task.. It take a lot time but watching again and again videos I learned. Thank you

By A-068 R J

May 16, 2020

A very helpful course to build up the basics of python programming language. The mentors were excellent. I enjoyed the course. Also the project and quizzes were amazing

By Micaela P

Apr 30, 2020

This is an incredibly well-made course! It is clear, engaging and fun, and there are lots of helpful tips/resources for if you are struggling with a particular topic.

By Padmapriyadarshini

Jun 2, 2019

Very helpful course and very clear explanation by the Instructors. Prompt reply by moderators helped me to complete the course. Thanks to Rice University and Coursera

By Lee R

Dec 4, 2017

Am doing this specialization to review and practice my coding skills but it is at the right level for anyone without a background in computer science and programming.

By Ali H I A Z

Apr 22, 2020

Excellent course, the content was to the level expected and the explanation was perfect and easy to work through. challenging task and project but really enjoyed it.

By Scott M

Apr 14, 2018

The Rice team does an excellent job. They explain very well and the forums have lots of great information. They also invest in creating tools for students to use!

By Rahul

Apr 23, 2020

It was an amazing experience. Lecturers taught me very well with a smiley face which kept me so interesting. I liked the course. Thank you Coursera for everything

By Wei Q

Jan 2, 2020

This course is clear and consistent throughout, easy for beginners to get familiar with python, and the humor of Joe and Scott certainly add flavor to the course!