Chevron Left
Back to Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.4
stars
2,552 ratings
567 reviews

About the Course

Course Overview: https://youtu.be/JgFV5qzAYno Python is now becoming the number 1 programming language for data science. Due to python’s simplicity and high readability, it is gaining its importance in the financial industry. The course combines both python coding and statistical concepts and applies into analyzing financial data, such as stock data. By the end of the course, you can achieve the following using python: - Import, pre-process, save and visualize financial data into pandas Dataframe - Manipulate the existing financial data by generating new variables using multiple columns - Recall and apply the important statistical concepts (random variable, frequency, distribution, population and sample, confidence interval, linear regression, etc. ) into financial contexts - Build a trading model using multiple linear regression model - Evaluate the performance of the trading model using different investment indicators Jupyter Notebook environment is configured in the course platform for practicing python coding without installing any client applications....

Top reviews

LH
Mar 23, 2020

A very good introduction course to python programming and it has a perfect combination with statistics, which makes financial analysis more interesting and refresh my mind on it, thanks.

GZ
Mar 25, 2020

Very clear explaining of the significant aspects when structuring a financial analysis, applicable in many forms of data if you don't want to make predictions only for the stock market.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 564 Reviews for Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

By Carlo A S

Jan 18, 2021

The course provides a good basic knowledge of the matter.

The learning curve is not uniform across the four weeks, becoming substantially steeper in the last week. Many concepts are given without much discussion during this week.

Some incoherencies between the slides and the exercises make the learning process sometime frustrating.

By Daniel H

Feb 13, 2020

Great Intro. course to Python application in the Financial domain. It will be beneficial to have some Python and Pandas background. Good examples, very practical.

It's a great course - with many practical examples. But this course needs some basic Statistics and Python knowledge to really follow along with some "deep concepts".

By Mario

Mar 25, 2020

It is a short and well organized course with a gently introduction to the popular Python's data analysis library, Pandas. In addition, the course shows sufficient statistical and financial tools to build simple and practical strategies that put some light on the obscure (at least for some people) market stock analysis.

By MESSAN A

Nov 11, 2020

In general, the course is very interesting, very clear with a lot of explanation. However, I dislike some part of the quiz: when we need to follow the link to answer the question, it is not possible because the link doesn't show the notebook but our course's process. It will be greater if you ameliorate this part.

By Masooma J

Feb 16, 2021

It was explained well, my only issue was the fact that when it came to the application, I struggled a lot. The examples never really touched upon the application questions. I wish he had done more application of the actual outcomes. Not the exact question in the quiz but something along that line.

By George S

Apr 13, 2020

First course I've completed using Coursera initially found it difficult to get to grips with embedded python, but quickly got to grips with it, really interesting course and a brilliant introduction to python and statistics for financial analysis think the course was really well structured.

By Goh S T

Apr 4, 2020

Generally a very informative course on how to use python for financial analysis. Some of the concepts are not clearly explained. Would recommend to have a little basic finance background and to have some ideas about statistics as these concepts are only vaguely explained during the course.

By Weiru S

Mar 31, 2021

The jupyter notebook embedded in the course is quite useful and can be replicated in real life experience, but it requires intermediate programming and statistics knowledge to better understand the content. Would be great if the lecturer could dive deeper into the pre-requisite knowledge.

By Pokman Y

Apr 19, 2020

Good and quick course for beginner to use python for financial analysis. The Jupyter Notebook is advanced development environment for python and academic/scientific researcher, but difficult for beginner. Would suggest to have a summary card for all the commands used during the course.

By John T

Aug 5, 2020

Good pace, instructor at times is hard to understand, had to look at the transcript to understand some parts. Course only scratches the basic parts of python and statistics -- good beginner course, but may require small knowledge of python and basic statistics before beginning.

By Diego A C C

Jun 20, 2020

Es un curso que presenta conceptos interesantes sobre el mercado bursatil, y explica de manera clara la manera en que se pueden analizar los comportamientos de diferentes indices bursatiles. Es importante tener conceptos previos de estadística y algo de logica de programación.

By Juan d D

May 24, 2020

The content of the course is really good.

The amount and density of the information for the last week is high. Specially compared with first week. Would be great if it could be balanced information per week.

Time to time the (English) pronunciation wasn't good enough.

By Deep S

Jun 2, 2020

The course has offer me a insight in Python in Statistics and how I can implement in the field of Finance.

Overall difficulty was moderate to high, Week 4 was way to difficulty, I would suggest that a person with Knowledge on Statistics should apply to this course

By Sergio J

Aug 21, 2020

I agree the content is extremely useful, especially, for people who are starting to learn about finance, and statistics. The only complain was that my expectations were rather a focus in python than in the finance concepts themselves. Overall, a great course

By Bryan M

Jun 10, 2020

It has been a really interesting course, but I expected to learn a way to get the signals using a price action analysis, or even identify some support/resistance areas. However, it has given me some ideas to continue with my learning.

Completely recommended!

By Julian W

Jan 9, 2020

Nice intro to using python in financial statistics. I dont have financial background so a lot of things were too complex for me. In general this course will not teach you statistics or python but will rather show potential in learning both of them together.

By Alvaro V T

Jan 23, 2021

The course was good, however the resources used are sometimes confusing and lack information

also, the tests have links and NONE of them work (at least on my computer)

In general, thank you for making this course available for everyone ;)

By Francisco R

Apr 12, 2021

Too much too fast. I was having trouble keeping up in some lessons because i didn't know how to code in with Python in the first place. But overall, good course and use of statistics applied to finance modeling and analysis.

By Richie S

Sep 1, 2020

Good introduction to Financial Analysis. However people with no background in statistics may have trouble. Moving back and forth between lectures to recollect small details makes it a good learning tool.

Thanks Again!

By Gregório P d O

Jul 13, 2020

The course is very short and condensed, serving as an introduction to Finance with Python. More examples and exercises are needed to explain more about the topics, but overall it's pretty good and straightforward.

By Zacharias L

Mar 10, 2020

I have learned quite a lot from this course. Econometrics and statistics are an important part of Financial Analysis of course. I would prefer if the course drew more deeper into the mechanics of Python, however.

By Matthew B

Aug 3, 2019

Good course with introduction to some statistical concepts and surface level python. Does not go into great depth with python and the jupyter notebooks could be a bit more challenging but overall a solid course.

By Saksit S

Jun 29, 2020

This is very fun course but i'm not recommend for beginner at least you need to have knowledge of statistics and basic machine learning(test,train) these will help you more understanding while study this course

By Lorenzo P

Sep 15, 2020

Really useful tool to know something about libraries like Pandas, Numpy, Matplotlib, Scipy and useful review of statistics. Pity that algo trading strategies don't work very well. Maybe they require more study

By jitesh p

Aug 2, 2020

The course is power-packed and sound technically, I as an MBA student would recommend you guys to study statistics as a prerequisite before this course which will help you to understand this course better.