Chevron Left
Back to Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.4
stars
2,431 ratings
547 reviews

About the Course

Course Overview: https://youtu.be/JgFV5qzAYno Python is now becoming the number 1 programming language for data science. Due to python’s simplicity and high readability, it is gaining its importance in the financial industry. The course combines both python coding and statistical concepts and applies into analyzing financial data, such as stock data. By the end of the course, you can achieve the following using python: - Import, pre-process, save and visualize financial data into pandas Dataframe - Manipulate the existing financial data by generating new variables using multiple columns - Recall and apply the important statistical concepts (random variable, frequency, distribution, population and sample, confidence interval, linear regression, etc. ) into financial contexts - Build a trading model using multiple linear regression model - Evaluate the performance of the trading model using different investment indicators Jupyter Notebook environment is configured in the course platform for practicing python coding without installing any client applications....

Top reviews

LH
Mar 23, 2020

A very good introduction course to python programming and it has a perfect combination with statistics, which makes financial analysis more interesting and refresh my mind on it, thanks.

GZ
Mar 25, 2020

Very clear explaining of the significant aspects when structuring a financial analysis, applicable in many forms of data if you don't want to make predictions only for the stock market.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 541 Reviews for Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

By Rahul

Aug 2, 2020

Week 4 could have been taught in more constructive manner like the previous 3 weeks' content. Otherwise, it's a great combination of Finance, Statistics, and Python.

By Prateek P

Sep 30, 2020

Kinda complicated on the statistics front if you're a beginner like me but I appreciate the knowledge I gained on how to handle financial data using python.

By Patricia I J L

Oct 25, 2019

Is a good course for begginers in python, but you should really have a background in investment finance and stadistics if you want to take advantage of it.

By Alinur S

Jan 11, 2021

The course is excellent because of its content, however, there were not enough practical tasks to develop an understanding of the topic deeper. Thank You!

By Baptiste M

Aug 18, 2019

Good introduction to Python. Need aforelearnt competencies in statistics. Course goes a bit too fast concerning the translation of statistiques to python

By Taouli O

Aug 1, 2020

It was an interresting course which helped me to discover statistics and financial word and to learn how to use python to deploy analysis of the markets

By Manik H

May 2, 2020

There should be 2 programming assignments as well. That will make the course more challenging and difficult to pass by just skimming through videos

By Ivett N C B

Oct 30, 2019

Muy buen curso sin embargo tienes que tener un poco de conociemiento de python ya que con el transcurso del curso el enfoque es más en estadística.

By Aditya B

Jul 30, 2020

Some statistical concepts required more explanation than provided. Often I had to learn about the concepts myself. Otherwise, it's a great course.

By Jack W E

Jun 9, 2020

I thought this offered a very valuable introduction in to the use of Pandas within Python, with work through notebooks and examples in the videos.

By Karthikeyan T

Jan 2, 2021

The course gave food insigts on Statistics mainly with little less weightage on Python. Overall a decent start for financial analysis with Python

By Anushka C

Apr 21, 2020

Overall the course is good but the python codes used are not explained properly. So for python beginners like me, it was difficult to understand.

By Chiu S W T

May 12, 2020

The content of the program is very useful although some question in the quiz are needed to be updated. I have learnt a lot! Thank you very much!

By Nicolo d G

May 4, 2020

Relatively easy course that has taught me a number of useful panda tricks. Notebooks are used just for demonstration and not very challenging.

By Amelia D P A

Jan 31, 2021

it is a good course, statistically detailed explanation, discussion forums are also very helpful when I have difficulty undergoing the course

By David M

Aug 9, 2020

Great for an intro / refresher in statistics and forecasting fundamentals. Would recommend having some Python knowledge before registering.

By amit d

Sep 17, 2019

Professor can do hands simultaneously with lecture then it will be more beneficial and easy to understand instead of explaining from slides

By vineet b

May 21, 2020

A decent beginners guide to financial analytics.

Don't expect much as this is more like a foundation course for more in depth complex once.

By Kuanzhi L

Feb 5, 2021

It is a good start for me to pick up more Python techniques for Financial Analysis. Than you Prof.Wan and Coursera, also my school ESSEC.

By Vijay D

Aug 15, 2019

It is course to learn the linear regression along with stock market basic information and strategy. Well organised and simple takeaways.

By Luis M

Oct 5, 2020

Very good content and excellent notebooks! Didactics (concepts, their relation with each other and applications) could somehow improve.

By Phi L B

May 9, 2020

Very interesting, but some concepts went too fast. It is also very difficult to learn how to code, other than copy-pasting the lines.

By Sebastian C

Aug 26, 2020

Great course. Learned Python and Statistical Analysis. This course could add more content as I have enjoyed the learning process.

By Ramazan A

Aug 19, 2019

Background required, the course often provides no additional/explaining information about technical details, need to use google)

By Francesco P S

Jul 23, 2019

Overall nice course. Sometimes the instructor skips some logical steps. It would also be nicer to see the coding happening live.