Chevron Left
Back to Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.4
stars
2,432 ratings
547 reviews

About the Course

Course Overview: https://youtu.be/JgFV5qzAYno Python is now becoming the number 1 programming language for data science. Due to python’s simplicity and high readability, it is gaining its importance in the financial industry. The course combines both python coding and statistical concepts and applies into analyzing financial data, such as stock data. By the end of the course, you can achieve the following using python: - Import, pre-process, save and visualize financial data into pandas Dataframe - Manipulate the existing financial data by generating new variables using multiple columns - Recall and apply the important statistical concepts (random variable, frequency, distribution, population and sample, confidence interval, linear regression, etc. ) into financial contexts - Build a trading model using multiple linear regression model - Evaluate the performance of the trading model using different investment indicators Jupyter Notebook environment is configured in the course platform for practicing python coding without installing any client applications....

Top reviews

LH
Mar 23, 2020

A very good introduction course to python programming and it has a perfect combination with statistics, which makes financial analysis more interesting and refresh my mind on it, thanks.

GZ
Mar 25, 2020

Very clear explaining of the significant aspects when structuring a financial analysis, applicable in many forms of data if you don't want to make predictions only for the stock market.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 542 Reviews for Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

By Shine A

Sep 10, 2020

Great course as a Basic for Data Analysis. Not very in depth analysis of finance.

By Shriya K

Jun 3, 2020

went too fast sometimes. basics were not made clear the course matrial is good

By Anushka G

Jul 7, 2020

Some of the material of the course needs to be updated including the quizzes.

By Mehul V

Mar 11, 2019

Many things were left unexplained. A step by step procedure wasn't followed.

By KAUSHIK N

May 6, 2020

More explanation were required on the codes, being a beginner level course.

By Jacob R

Jun 28, 2020

Pretty solid course, kind of difficult to grasp at times to a newcomer.

By RAHUL N

Jul 7, 2020

No coding based assignments. Not too useful.

By Chaitanya G

Apr 28, 2020

The videos could have been more explanatory.

By Fernando D

Apr 2, 2020

Es un curso para interesados en trading

By sachin t j

Nov 16, 2020

Python codes are not really explained.

By HRIJU S

Jul 27, 2020

its a good learning experience for me

By dhruvi

Sep 26, 2020

the content is amazing but outdated

By Dawn M

Apr 13, 2020

It was a bit hard to follow

By MOHD H

Dec 5, 2020

...

By Chutian Z

Feb 10, 2020

The topics are interesting and some basic statistics/finance knowledge are required for the learner. The cons of this course is there are no coding practices or homework. The Jupyter Notebook included after each lesson basically asks you to copy and paste the syntax provided. The student's knowledge base is evaluated only through simple quizzes, which I found absolutely insufficient. Only when the hands get dirty can a student actually master the coding skills. I won't recommend this course.

需要一些基本的统计学和金融知识,但没有作业自己不用输代码,coding skill得不到训练,不推荐。

By Volodymyr M

May 19, 2020

I really cannot recommend this course. Course tries to touch two major topics: Financial Risk Management and Statistics. In both disciplines course is only scratching surface of the subject without going into any details. Just for quantitive estimation, FRM is 100+ hours of material, Statistics - another 200+ hours. Whole course contains definitely less than 4 hours of lectures.

On the other hand - course is some sort of source of topics you need to find yourself over Internet and learn yourself.

By Warren V

Apr 1, 2021

In evaluating this course, it took me a while to identify the target audience from the course materials. The statistical content is too fast-paced and lacking detail for newcomers, and that the Python content is de-emphasised. I suppose that this course is a good introduction for those outside finance seeking an introduction. Looking at this course as exercises to improve my Pandas knowledge, I left disappointed because there was no course Python assignment in implementing a trading strategy.

By Colin

Feb 1, 2021

I have a PhD in econometrics - took this course to see if it would be useful to some of my team - gleans over complex issues way to fast but given the length that is understandable - my issues with this course are (a) the Jupiter notebooks are complete already so don't make students think and (b) there should be a great deal of included warnings with references for students to dig deeper outside of the class

By Daniel

Jul 3, 2020

Part of the code doesn't work. To fix it it is needed to go to Python documentation and do research

A lot of statistics concept are not quite well explained. The course should include more detailed explanations or at lease some links where the this information can be studied

The results of the trading system implemented in the curse are not the one that you will obtain

By Nico M

Nov 25, 2019

Too many mistakes in the use of English throughout the course made it hard for me to follow the course properly without getting annoyed. The instructor's English was terrible as well, just too many mistakes, which made it impossible to follow without subtitles. The content was good though which is why it deserves two points.

By Victor M

Nov 6, 2019

I was hoping for a little more from this course. While it effectively combines statistics, finance and python, it does not go into great detail in any of the three. There are spelling mistakes and the audio quality is not great. For me the most useful part was learning the python functions and syntax.

By Lale N

May 28, 2020

i am happy with subject and course syllabus but if the data that the lecturer worked on them, was available the course would be much more useful,

without the data, it was just some code that we were watching.

thank you coursera :)

By Nicolas P

Sep 1, 2019

I would change the title. It has little practical content on trade, and explains more statistical methods.I would call it "how to use and graph statistics in python, with some trade samples".

By Mohini J

Mar 21, 2020

The course tried to cover a lot but wasn't really helpful for those who didn't have basic knowledge of either Python or Statistics

By Panguluri B T

Jul 10, 2020

Poor Explanation of topics, was in a very hurry to complete than in explaining the concepts in depth. Did not reach expectations.