Chevron Left
Back to Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.4
stars
750 ratings
156 reviews

About the Course

Course Overview: https://youtu.be/JgFV5qzAYno Python is now becoming the number 1 programming language for data science. Due to python’s simplicity and high readability, it is gaining its importance in the financial industry. The course combines both python coding and statistical concepts and applies into analyzing financial data, such as stock data. By the end of the course, you can achieve the following using python: - Import, pre-process, save and visualize financial data into pandas Dataframe - Manipulate the existing financial data by generating new variables using multiple columns - Recall and apply the important statistical concepts (random variable, frequency, distribution, population and sample, confidence interval, linear regression, etc. ) into financial contexts - Build a trading model using multiple linear regression model - Evaluate the performance of the trading model using different investment indicators Jupyter Notebook environment is configured in the course platform for practicing python coding without installing any client applications....

Top reviews

LH

Mar 24, 2020

A very good introduction course to python programming and it has a perfect combination with statistics, which makes financial analysis more interesting and refresh my mind on it, thanks.

TD

Jul 05, 2019

The videos in this course are exceptional and very interesting. The Jupyter notebooks provide a good template for applying the methods and techniques.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 156 Reviews for Python and Statistics for Financial Analysis

By Adrian B W

Feb 19, 2019

Great course by a great instructor.

By Sujeet p

Dec 28, 2019

Very good course and informative

By Torres M

May 06, 2019

Me gusto

Es un curso muy completo

By Rajesh K

Aug 21, 2019

The course was awesome

By DING G

Feb 13, 2019

friendly to beginners

By Graham T

Feb 22, 2020

Great! Thank you :)

By Feiting X

Feb 27, 2019

Nice Introduction!

By Santiago L C

Jan 30, 2019

I enjoy very much

By Artem C

Feb 23, 2020

Great course !

By Bhavya S

Jan 27, 2020

whatta wow :D

By 裴品傑

Jun 05, 2019

很不錯,但最後的回歸有點難

By Henrique G

Sep 24, 2019

It's great!

By Ruikun D

Jan 29, 2019

very

useful

By John W

Oct 09, 2019

great

By Xiaobing C

Dec 22, 2019

good

By Jing-Yeu M

Mar 02, 2020

In general a satisfactory course and not too to follow through. It is focused more on the stat side than finance which I kinda have a mixed feeling toward. Professor could probably have done a little better job on explaining the meanings behind the formula but for the most part it is not hard to figure it out yourself by searching or reviewing the materials a few times by oneself. I also feel this course is a bit short, and if in the future it can try to cover more topics that will be awesome.

But hey I did learn stuff and am happy to have taken this.

By Tristan H

Mar 31, 2020

A wonderful course to get an introduction into financial statistics and a few python basics. This helped me understand many things about prediction and trading strategies. However to truly understand how to code a financial trading strategy you will need a lot more practice than you get in this course.

I really liked the course and would recommend it to anyone who wants to learn more about financial trading and python!

By PUREUM W

Jun 30, 2019

전공이 금웅공학이나 금융분야는 아니지만 관심이 많아 찾아보던중 이 강의를 들어보았습니다. 결과적으로 말씀드리면 이 강의는 대학교의 명성만큼 어느정도 수준이 높은 강의이며, 기초지식으로 파이썬과 통계학을 요구합니다. 저같은 경우, 전공이 IT여서 파이썬과 통계학을 배웠음에도 불구하고 금융적인 해석능력이 부족하여 많이 고생하였습니다. 만약 이 강의를 듣기를 고민하고 있다면, 자신이 통계학과 파이썬을 어느정도 할 수 있는지 자체 레벨테스트를 할 필요가 있습니다. 강의의 구성과 교수님의 설명은 전체적으로 만족스럽습니다. 이 교수님이 조금 더 낮은 레벨의 강의를 개설하여 입문자를 더 많이 늘렸으면 좋겠네요.

By Shiang-ping H

Feb 14, 2020

Great Intro. course to Python application in the Financial domain. It will be beneficial to have some Python and Pandas background. Good examples, very practical.

It's a great course - with many practical examples. But this course needs some basic Statistics and Python knowledge to really follow along with some "deep concepts".

By Mario

Mar 25, 2020

It is a short and well organized course with a gently introduction to the popular Python's data analysis library, Pandas. In addition, the course shows sufficient statistical and financial tools to build simple and practical strategies that put some light on the obscure (at least for some people) market stock analysis.

By Goh S T

Apr 04, 2020

Generally a very informative course on how to use python for financial analysis. Some of the concepts are not clearly explained. Would recommend to have a little basic finance background and to have some ideas about statistics as these concepts are only vaguely explained during the course.

By Julian W

Jan 09, 2020

Nice intro to using python in financial statistics. I dont have financial background so a lot of things were too complex for me. In general this course will not teach you statistics or python but will rather show potential in learning both of them together.

By Zacharias L

Mar 10, 2020

I have learned quite a lot from this course. Econometrics and statistics are an important part of Financial Analysis of course. I would prefer if the course drew more deeper into the mechanics of Python, however.

By Matthew B

Aug 03, 2019

Good course with introduction to some statistical concepts and surface level python. Does not go into great depth with python and the jupyter notebooks could be a bit more challenging but overall a solid course.