Chevron Left
Back to Qualitative Research Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Qualitative Research Methods by University of Amsterdam

4.6
stars
1,120 ratings
388 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will be introduced to the basic ideas behind the qualitative research in social science. You will learn about data collection, description, analysis and interpretation in qualitative research. Qualitative research often involves an iterative process. We will focus on the ingredients required for this process: data collection and analysis. You won't learn how to use qualitative methods by just watching video's, so we put much stress on collecting data through observation and interviewing and on analysing and interpreting the collected data in other assignments. Obviously, the most important concepts in qualitative research will be discussed, just as we will discuss quality criteria, good practices, ethics, writing some methods of analysis, and mixing methods. We hope to take away some prejudice, and enthuse many students for qualitative research....

Top reviews

KF
Dec 20, 2018

I found this a very useful way of getting a basic introduction to qualitative research methods, without just sitting down with some text books. The content was engaging and at the right level for me.

HU
Aug 8, 2020

Best course on Qualitative Research.Improved knowledge about the concepts and its application in different steps of research.Thanks to Dr.Gerben Moerman for his matchless delivering of concepts.

Filter by:

376 - 388 of 388 Reviews for Qualitative Research Methods

By Karina Z

May 22, 2016

I had done ALL the tasks in February-March - I don't remember exactly when, but I received my certificate in May. The course was interesting, but I needed the certificate for my application to university. Now I'm so dissapointed.

By Mateja K

Mar 13, 2016

The instructor's presentations are so irritating due to him acting in a jumpy, nervous, and hyper-excited manner that I could not stand watching the lectures. If you don't mind that, it's probably not a bad course.

By Lucy B

Jan 2, 2017

A very enthusiastic teacher, but the information was difficult to follow and some of the assessments took over 4 hours to complete. This made it hard to get the work done.

By Raju G

Nov 14, 2016

Very vague, abstract ideas in the lectures. Would be much better if more real-life examples and scenarios were used in the lectures to convey those abstract ideas.

By Monica A

Jul 29, 2020

As a humanities student, I find this module not challenging and boring. The videos are way too long and hard to follow.

By Olalowo I

Nov 20, 2020

Please , the style of power reviewing assignment isn't encouraging. It's delaying my completion for over 3 months

By Abigail B

Feb 13, 2016

Video's were great but some of the assignments were unpractical and the tests were based on minuscule details.

By K

Jun 19, 2016

content is not good, too scattered content, cannot find focus.

assignments are meaningless.

By Anthony J M

Jun 28, 2016

Scattered lectures that are hard to follow and choppy

By Radu V

Jul 7, 2020

the course is locked and i cant review or submit

By Arun P

Dec 5, 2015

Too abstract and unroganized

By Susie P

Oct 2, 2016

Not recommended.

By مرحبا ا

Dec 23, 2019

very bad