Chevron Left
Back to Qualitative Research Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Qualitative Research Methods by University of Amsterdam

4.6
stars
928 ratings
330 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will be introduced to the basic ideas behind the qualitative research in social science. You will learn about data collection, description, analysis and interpretation in qualitative research. Qualitative research often involves an iterative process. We will focus on the ingredients required for this process: data collection and analysis. You won't learn how to use qualitative methods by just watching video's, so we put much stress on collecting data through observation and interviewing and on analysing and interpreting the collected data in other assignments. Obviously, the most important concepts in qualitative research will be discussed, just as we will discuss quality criteria, good practices, ethics, writing some methods of analysis, and mixing methods. We hope to take away some prejudice, and enthuse many students for qualitative research....

Top reviews

KF
Dec 20, 2018

I found this a very useful way of getting a basic introduction to qualitative research methods, without just sitting down with some text books. The content was engaging and at the right level for me.

DR
Oct 8, 2016

The teacher is really passionate, everything's very clear and easy to understand. It's full of all the basic knowledge one needs to know about qualitative research methods to begin working with them.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 327 Reviews for Qualitative Research Methods

By Madhumita P

Jul 24, 2016

Great Course !!!

By Abdelaziz E H

Jun 7, 2020

Very insightful

By Harrison A

Nov 17, 2020

Great coirse

By Santhosh K R

Aug 6, 2019

Interesting!

By Victor H

Apr 28, 2019

Eye-opening.

By IDREES M

Feb 11, 2016

LOVED IT!!!!

By Monica S M V P

Aug 3, 2020

I loved it!

By SUBHA G

Jul 2, 2020

Good course

By Fabiola S D

Aug 22, 2020

Excellent!

By Leandro L L

Oct 10, 2016

Muito bom.

By Xie Q

Sep 21, 2016

Great job!

By Akki P R

Jul 5, 2020

Excellent

By Hua X

May 9, 2020

thank you

By VINCENT O O

Sep 7, 2016

Awesome!

By Vignesh. M

Oct 2, 2020

Good!

By Ibrahim A K

Aug 10, 2020

good

By Cui L

Jun 22, 2020

good

By 王金娜

Oct 12, 2016

Very

By Jonathan J d S P

Nov 9, 2015

:)

By LUBNA R

Aug 18, 2017

V

By Arwin v d P

Jun 20, 2017

This course is an excellent opportunity to gain knowledge on Qualitative Research. Prof. Gerben Moerman is one of the most excited teachers you'll ever 'watch' during any lesson, which makes it even more fun to watch all the lessons. On top of that, the course really touches upon the most important things about this kind of research in a very enjoyable (and not boring-lame-exhausting) way. You have to invest some serious time in doing your weekly tasks, but they are all interesting and easy to make you grab the essence of doing Qualitative Research. Overall, I enjoyed this course very much. It's a lot better than the experience I had at the faculty of religionstudies in Groningen, The Netherlands.

By Janis R

Sep 4, 2020

EXCELLENT lectures! The main negative is the lack of expert oversight. When students correct the work of other students without oversight, it is literally the blind leading the blind. One student marked me down on an issue that I know was correct, but no one of authority was there to say so. I confirmed my thoughts with a mentor, which took several days. Because of her answer, I know more about the issue, but the student who corrected me doesn't. He may still think his perspective is accurate. Other than that, I learned a lot and am very glad I took the course. I look forward to taking the next in the series.

By Tian R

Jun 17, 2020

Thank you for putting this course together. It provided a great introductory overview of qualitative research methods! In terms of feedback: I felt that the assignments could have been a bit more challenging. I felt some of them were too easy. Also, while completing my peer review tasks, I noted several times that many individuals failed to follow assignment instructions. Perhaps find a way to make these instructions more clear. With respect to course content, I would have liked to have seen more in depth information on how to conduct qualitative analysis (e.g., thematic analysis). Thanks again!

By Elina T

Aug 24, 2020

I truly enjoyed the course and the pedagogical lessons. Previously, I have struggled with the philosophical terms and I cannot claim of mastering them now but I definitely have a better clue. Thank you for the suggestions of literature, such as the book of Irving Seidman which I am now reading or the lectures of Graham Gibbs. The only small minus of the course is that I think qualitative analysis could have been given more space. Or are you planning a course on methods to analyse qualitative data?

By Stephan R

Jul 19, 2020

Overall a good course, covering a lot of relevant issues. Most of the assignments were really aligned with the content of the course (doing a real interview, analyzing and writing about it. The midterm and final test, however, do include few questions and correct answers which are absolutely debatable. I enjoyed the enthusiasm of Gerben, but his intensive non-verbal gestures distracted me from the content. I am sure he can do without it. Thanks and kind regards