Chevron Left
Back to Qualitative Research Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Qualitative Research Methods by University of Amsterdam

4.5
stars
715 ratings
236 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will be introduced to the basic ideas behind the qualitative research in social science. You will learn about data collection, description, analysis and interpretation in qualitative research. Qualitative research often involves an iterative process. We will focus on the ingredients required for this process: data collection and analysis. You won't learn how to use qualitative methods by just watching video's, so we put much stress on collecting data through observation and interviewing and on analysing and interpreting the collected data in other assignments. Obviously, the most important concepts in qualitative research will be discussed, just as we will discuss quality criteria, good practices, ethics, writing some methods of analysis, and mixing methods. We hope to take away some prejudice, and enthuse many students for qualitative research....

Top reviews

KF

Dec 21, 2018

I found this a very useful way of getting a basic introduction to qualitative research methods, without just sitting down with some text books. The content was engaging and at the right level for me.

AW

Aug 31, 2019

Really enjoyed this course. The lectures were engaging, the assignments applicable. I really enjoyed being able to review other classmates' assignments from around the world. Very cool concept.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 232 Reviews for Qualitative Research Methods

By Andrzej W

Jan 20, 2020

Very energetic :)

By Carolina B

Sep 30, 2018

So good teacher!!

By Ramanatha.H.R

May 06, 2020

Very Good Course

By SOMNATH M

Dec 05, 2019

excellent course

By Sobia K

Aug 11, 2019

Excellent course

By Martina C

Sep 27, 2016

very good course

By Madhumita P

Jul 25, 2016

Great Course !!!

By Santhosh K R

Aug 06, 2019

Interesting!

By Victor H

Apr 28, 2019

Eye-opening.

By IDREES M

Feb 11, 2016

LOVED IT!!!!

By Leandro L L

Oct 11, 2016

Muito bom.

By Xie Q

Sep 21, 2016

Great job!

By Hua X

May 09, 2020

thank you

By VINCENT O O

Sep 07, 2016

Awesome!

By 王金娜

Oct 13, 2016

Very

By Jonathan J d S P

Nov 10, 2015

:)

By LUBNA R

Aug 18, 2017

V

By Arwin v d P

Jun 21, 2017

This course is an excellent opportunity to gain knowledge on Qualitative Research. Prof. Gerben Moerman is one of the most excited teachers you'll ever 'watch' during any lesson, which makes it even more fun to watch all the lessons. On top of that, the course really touches upon the most important things about this kind of research in a very enjoyable (and not boring-lame-exhausting) way. You have to invest some serious time in doing your weekly tasks, but they are all interesting and easy to make you grab the essence of doing Qualitative Research. Overall, I enjoyed this course very much. It's a lot better than the experience I had at the faculty of religionstudies in Groningen, The Netherlands.

By Samantha T

Feb 03, 2020

Overall - well-designed course from a learning perspective. From an examination perspective, often the midterm and final exams did not match up to the topics covered as it did in the Quantitative Research Methods. Being unfamiliar with the course content, I'm sure an expert opinion (someone who is quite familiar with the material) could see the parts examined being similar enough to the content.

By Anastasiya K

Mar 08, 2020

This course is great and can help you to understand that qualitative researches isn't 'the simple way' to do researches, but difficult too. But minus 1 star for tests – maybe, it's because i'm not a native English speaker, it was difficult for me to understand that the questions are in the test and correspond with the answers (such problems are not resolved in the lectures themselves).

By Julieta R G

Nov 17, 2017

Excellent in everthing! Fun and very interesting! One thing only would make it perfect. Instead of having the slides as notes, the same info could be organised differently in a word document, as it would be easier to read and to print out. But other than that, it was excellent! The prof. is engaging and the lectures very well orgaqnised. Besides, difficult material was made easy.

By Stephanie S

Apr 14, 2016

Very enthusiastic lecturer, which made learning that much more enjoyable! The course content is fantastic. My only comment is the grading system for the assignments / how the assignments are designed - in my opinion the grading system could be improved to reflect efforts and correct submission done by students.

By zeba a

Sep 20, 2017

Its a good introductory course on the topic. Of course, the subject is too wide to fit in a month-long mooc but I felt it was a good primer and touched about key aspects of Qualitative Research Methods, with good references and sign-posting to further in-depth study on the specific topics.

By Danielle L

Nov 07, 2017

Overall, a very good course. I'm more analytically minded so I took it as a part of the sequence and there was a bit of a reckoning since it's not a way that I usually think. Regardless, the material was well presented and the lecturer is nothing if not enthusiastic.

By Celina T C

Mar 06, 2020

This is an excellent course, very well explained by the enthusiastic instructor, but I give four stars because of the slides at the end of each lesson. Not always you can understand very well the content of the course because they seem incomplete.