Chevron Left
Back to Quantitative Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Quantitative Methods by University of Amsterdam

4.7
stars
1,182 ratings
397 reviews

About the Course

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

Top reviews

LG

Jan 05, 2018

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

AL

May 08, 2018

It is well-structured and informative. The pop up questions are interactive and the animation is fun. I have learned a lot from the video instruction, recommended readings, and assignments. Thanks.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 390 Reviews for Quantitative Methods

By Jonathan J d S P

Sep 20, 2015

Extremely helpful.

By BHASKAR A

Jun 24, 2019

Great Experience.

By Matija K

Mar 21, 2016

Excellent course!

By Daniela L y S

Feb 28, 2016

Excellent course!

By Dafna B

Feb 21, 2017

Great course!!!

By Ana C d O N P

Jan 05, 2019

Great course!!

By Elimane N

Apr 20, 2019

Great course!

By Maryluz H

Oct 15, 2017

Great course!

By Haotong S

Jan 30, 2020

nice course!

By Travis J V

Mar 14, 2019

very helpful

By Jiajia L

Feb 27, 2017

Very helpful

By ABDUL B Q

Sep 17, 2015

Great course

By Minali B

Jun 22, 2019

GREAT....!!

By Jessica P V S

Dec 17, 2019

Excelente!

By Davi F L V Z

Jun 27, 2019

Muito bom!

By Ozgur O C

Feb 18, 2016

Brilliant!

By Sheila I P C

Nov 17, 2017

Excellent

By Rlk P

Oct 09, 2015

Excellent

By Leonardo L e C

Jun 19, 2019

Amazing!

By Norvie T J

Feb 04, 2017

Stellar!

By Eldin D

Mar 12, 2017

Perfect

By Martin O C J

Mar 11, 2016

I

By Sara E M

Feb 15, 2016

I really enjoyed this course overall (and it was somewhat easy for me because I have some background in this already), but there were some technical issues especially regarding accessing assignments. It would be nice if there was a more robust group of volunteer tutors/teaching assistants or something to answer questions or deal with these technical issues, especially the final exam not working for a while for me and some other people. But, I enjoyed the illustrations (drawings) and cute examples, and also the lecturer did a pretty good job on camera. I would probably give this course a 4.5 if possible, but I am hesitant to give it a full 5 points because of the technical issues. Anyway I would recommend the course to someone who wants a survey of quantitative methods to prepare for future study.

By Irene P

Jun 25, 2018

I had no grounding in quantitative research methods before doing this course, although I have an undergraduate humanities degree with some background in the philosophical foundations of the course (e.g. epistemology, ontology). I found that the course was pitched at a good level for me. It gave a clear, thorough overview of quantitative research. I enjoyed the simplicity of the videos and the appeal of the cartoons, but I also really appreciated the additional interviews with social scientists and the use of real academic articles in the assignments, as it allowed me a more nuanced understanding and application of the concepts. (Useful to note: I took notes as I watched the lectures, and I found it took a lot longer than the recommended time, because the lectures are very content-dense.)

By Jennifer B

Jan 28, 2020

I thought the content, progress quiz questions, and other materials were very helpful. I'm glad I took this course, even if you know some of the material it's great for reinforcement and introducing other topics. I do agree with others though that the assignments are a bit hard to tackle. I work in UX Research, so it was refreshing an a nice challenge to review scientific papers, however I would have liked more variation in the types of assignments and -many- of my peers in the group didn't seem to understand the instructions or maybe didn't put in the effort. I think peer review is valuable, but the course seemed to rely on this activity and the articles a lot, which was a stumbling block. That being said, I would recommend this course.