Chevron Left
Back to Quantitative Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Quantitative Methods by University of Amsterdam

4.7
stars
1,910 ratings
675 reviews

About the Course

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

Top reviews

LG
Jan 4, 2018

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

AL
May 7, 2018

It is well-structured and informative. The pop up questions are interactive and the animation is fun. I have learned a lot from the video instruction, recommended readings, and assignments. Thanks.

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 675 Reviews for Quantitative Methods

By Vibhor B

Oct 22, 2020

The videos are comprehensive and the assignments really test your learning

By Hanneke L

Jan 13, 2020

Love the videos and the clear explanations of all concepts discussed.

By Georgina D

Jul 8, 2019

Great course. Broad scope and hones in on important ethical aspects.

By Tobias R A

Jul 29, 2020

A very good course, with very good examples, lectures and exams

By ThomasIwalla

Mar 2, 2019

A very intensive course. Learnt a lot from the course so far.

By Jennifer P

May 7, 2016

Good pacing, good explanations, reasonable expectations.

By 婉佑 田

Aug 17, 2016

it's really good for a student in planning department.

By Toshan M

Nov 19, 2018

Good introduction to statistics and social science.

By Chris C

Aug 24, 2020

Very interesting but could have been more rigorous

By Iñaki R

Sep 13, 2021

Very good course, although it is very theoretical

By Gabriella L E

Nov 14, 2020

It is a pleasure and great to learn this course.

By Fabian G

Dec 2, 2015

Interesting and concise. Straight to the point.

By Bertik B

Dec 10, 2015

Great content and delivered in a clear way.

By Mahalakshmi V

Sep 11, 2020

good and easy understandable subject

By Juan S B M

Jan 12, 2017

very good course, well structured!!

By Madiha G

Aug 13, 2020

Good one for beginners

By PUSPARGHYA S

Aug 29, 2020

THIS HELPS A LOT.

By Ree R

Jul 7, 2020

Excellent course.

By MYAT T W

Oct 3, 2019

effective for me

By Jamer N C A

Oct 29, 2015

Excelente!

By MUSA T S

Jan 24, 2017

good

By Nitika J

Aug 10, 2020

.

By Flavia F

Jun 6, 2020

The course is very interesting and the material discussed is all essential knowledge for doing research in the field of social sciences. I also really appreciate the extra material that the teachers offered, the interesting interviews in particular, which presents the student with the perspective of scientists conducting research in the field.

However, the amount of work required for completing the course is significantly above that mentioned in the course description, or at least in one takes the final assignments seriously.

Another problem I had was with understanding the questions of several final assignments and of the final exam. I have a master in cognitive science, one in analytic philosophy, and I am at the final stage of my PhD in philosophy. I have studied my masters in English, and I am writing my PhD thesis in English. Yet, many questions really puzzled me, including the questions regarding the philosophical content of the course.

Given the difficulties I encountered, I wonder whether this course would be really suitable to undergraduates.

Despite that, I am happy to have completed the course and I recognize that I learned a lot during the course. Despite the final assignments requiring more work than I had planned, I had a lot of fun doing them. Furthermore, I really appreciate the teachers' effort (and I believe quite some was needed) to design this course and to offer students more than it was required to provide them with some basic knowledge.

By Julia D C

May 16, 2021

I really enjoyed the course content and its organisation. It’s clearly a really well-made online course. Carefully put together.

Videos and explanations are easy to understand, even with the hardest subjects. The interviews were a nice “breather” between topics. And the assignments varied on difficulty, but all of them were, in my opinion, valuable and helpful in the learning process. I enjoyed the studying process so much I recommended a couple of friends whilst I was doing it.

But I have to say how frustrating and disappointing the grading system was. The peer evaluation is a nice tool and it helps students with their critical analysis, but the completion of the course shouldn’t depend on it.

I personally needed the course certificate for a university application and therefore, worked day and night to complete it during my first month. Also because I couldn’t really afford to pay the second month.

I finished it a few days in advance, but couldn’t receive the certificate in time because there was no grading on my assignments. The final grade needed was received a couple of hours after my credit card was charged for the next month. In the end, I missed the deadline and was charged for an extra month I absolutely didn’t need - as I have already completed all my activities in the previous month.

I’m sad to say that even with such good content, in the end, my experience was negative due to the unfairness of its system.

By Dori H

Sep 19, 2020

The course content is great. The lectures and materials are good as well. However, the peer review assignment is more than terrible. The idea of collaborative learning is awesome, but pursing which requires certain checking and supporting mechanisms. There is no quality control of the review system. Plagiarism is prevalent!!! I don't understand how people just copy-n-past the same thing and submit as their own work? This happens every week, and people copied the exact same works. I was shocked reading several identical submissions in a row. Such actions of ACADEMIC DISHONESTY should NOT BE TOLERATED. Another huge problem, relating to peer-review, is the discussion forum. There is almost no discussion about the course content. I thought the purpose of forum is to clarify confusion through discussions. But it turns out to be a place to post one's work requesting for review. It's okay for sure, but this should not be the main function of the forum. Thus, overall, unfortunately, I feel that the disfunction of the discussion forum and the lack of countering mechanism against plagiarism tarnished this wonderful course.