Chevron Left
Back to Quantitative Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Quantitative Methods by University of Amsterdam

4.7
stars
1,859 ratings
658 reviews

About the Course

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

Top reviews

LG
Jan 4, 2018

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

AL
May 7, 2018

It is well-structured and informative. The pop up questions are interactive and the animation is fun. I have learned a lot from the video instruction, recommended readings, and assignments. Thanks.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 653 Reviews for Quantitative Methods

By Vinay S

Mar 31, 2020

A really well thought-out course, informative videos, intriguing examples and challenging quizzes. Enjoyed learning every bit of it. Kudos to the entire team!

By Alexander K

Feb 17, 2019

Great course to enhance understating of what underpins social science, research methods and potential threats that a study can be exposed to. Recommended!

By Kevin B

Dec 27, 2019

This course is able to help me have a much better understanding of research methods. As a result, I am able to understand papers at a much deeper level.

By Elena G

Jul 9, 2020

Peer-grade assignment was not useful and sometimes quite disappointing. Thanks for providing video with an explanation about the exam, it helped a lot.

By Ibrahima D

Nov 10, 2019

I enjoyed learning in this course. The explanations were clear and the teachers show great efforts in making the material easily accessible.

Thank you!

By priyam v

Nov 19, 2017

It was an exciting experience to be the part of this. It enhanced my way of understanding the concepts, with excellent examples and practical learning.

By Kristin S D

May 19, 2021

Great quant methods course. The curriculum is straight to the point and provides practical examples so that students can quickly apply the concepts.

By Stefan S K

Apr 1, 2016

There is nothing that i would have like to change about the course. Brilliant work! My sincere thanks to the whole UVA team for this specialization

By Sanjana B a h

Nov 7, 2020

Course that teaches you the fundamentals of good quantitative research. Can get a bit challenging at times, but is packed with useful information!

By Natália d C

Dec 23, 2019

Great course, the explanations are very clear and the exercises help you to review the content. I learned a lot from it and highly recommend it!

By Lotey O

Aug 31, 2020

The course material was very helpful and informative. The course has significantly helped me achieve my goals. Very systematic and easy flow.

By Petra S

Jun 22, 2020

Excellent course, designed specifically for statistics in social sciences. Well organised course, useful examples and interesting assignments.

By Ayfer V

Feb 24, 2019

Great course! You really learn the content and are able to work on it. The only struggle is not having enough assignments which you an review.

By Elvira N

Nov 14, 2017

Very useful course if you are interested in how properly conduct a research. Only theoretical basis, no calculations included. Thank you ! :)

By Hans H C V

Aug 17, 2020

I learned something new, I'm so happy. :)

Sorry for delay, I'm currently on internship and in a full time job, and my english isn't the best.

By Hasan K

Mar 27, 2017

The language used in the courses are very clear. The exercises and assignments helped me a lot to understand the provided material. Thanks!

By Kunj A

May 15, 2020

Best course I have ever attended, One who wants to dive deeper into ocean of research must give this scientifically designed course a try

By Luciano S

May 9, 2020

Great course. Very well planned in terms of progression and evaluation. I felt both challenged by the tests and supported by my peers.

By Kate W

Feb 24, 2016

I love that the videos have little drawings and notes in them to help the concepts stick! The teaching for this course is exceptional!

By SIVAPRASAD J

Aug 29, 2020

A well-structured course that equally emphasize on knowledge and the learner's ability to apply the same through several case studies

By Kerry F

Mar 14, 2019

A well set out course. The material was well explained with clear and relate-able examples used to illustrate the different concepts.

By Deboleena

Oct 5, 2016

This was a wonderful course. The assignments were thought provoking, the peer review guidelines clear and precise. Really enjoyed it.

By Amelia

Jun 7, 2020

Great. Really enjoyed the course, testing methods, lecturer, and materials. Would have liked some reading and worksheets/printables.

By Qihui

Nov 11, 2020

great course in quantitative and experimental methods. Easy to understand and study burdens are not too heavy if you are part time.

By Paolo M P B

Jul 9, 2020

Contents were presented in a very clear manner which helped in making these difficult and usually hard concepts easy to understand.