Chevron Left
Back to Quantitative Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Quantitative Methods by University of Amsterdam

4.7
stars
1,899 ratings
671 reviews

About the Course

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

Top reviews

LG
Jan 4, 2018

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

AL
May 7, 2018

It is well-structured and informative. The pop up questions are interactive and the animation is fun. I have learned a lot from the video instruction, recommended readings, and assignments. Thanks.

Filter by:

651 - 671 of 671 Reviews for Quantitative Methods

By Ailbhe T

Aug 18, 2020

Course materials are great. I really enjoyed the videos and found the assignments engaging. I'm only giving 3 stars, however, because the peer review system is disappointing. Lots of people are not properly submitting or reviewing and it really impacts the experience of taking this course. The forums are also pretty useless because they're filled with people asking for reviews on their assignments. I think this course could benefit from a bit more ongoing moderation from staff.

By Justyna L

May 10, 2020

The course materials are great, but the peer review system for assignments does not work for me. Most people just give perfect grades to everyone, and the quality of the assignment doesn't matter. Forums are also not used for anything other than students asking for good reviews of their work, so there isn't really a spirit of learning from each other. This impacts on my personal learning as I do not know whether my assignments were actually correct.

By Mariana O

Dec 1, 2020

It's good, but the lack of interaction with professors weakens the quality of learning. Fellow students are mostly not up to the level for peer reviews, so feedback is mostly extremely weak, and content discussions are virtually inexistent. Also, many participants seem to copy and cheat, which decreases credibility of the program. It would be better if we could have direct access to professors to clear out doubts and debate learning topics.

By Bianca V

Mar 15, 2018

It was a well and clearly structured course. Although rich in content, it was enjoyable and useful to complete.

However, the course is missing a contingency plan in case somebody fails a session. Since assessments are peer reviewed, I do not see the motivation of my peers to come back and grade me again - which means I cannot complete the course on time despite, being on time with all assignments.

By casey

May 8, 2020

While some of this course was useful, there are some issues I have with it. The first week, a philosophical history, had little to do with the material I wanted to learn. The rest seems focussed on teaching definitions, rather than truly explaining concepts. I would have preferred a structure that enabled practice of concepts, rather than definition regurgitation.

By Farinaz A

Sep 13, 2021

This course has very clear videos. However, a lot of information is intensely put in these videos without any seminars etc. so this will certainly not be an equivalent of a real course at a university.

Of course there are forums but the teachers are never involved in those and do not really respond to any questions or feedback.

By Karin S

Oct 29, 2020

Course content is good. The presentation is very good; transcript and video. however the delivery is poor. There seems to be a lack of administration and the peer reviews diminish the quality of the course due to people just passing any level of content.

By Big W

Apr 8, 2016

mechanically it worked pretty well. just a little hard to figger out what's going on and what's important. what needs to be memorized and what just needs to be understood . . .

By Jude B

Feb 23, 2020

The course was okay, the assignments and final quiz don't really reflect the material properly and need to be re-evaluated and rephrased to be clearer

By Daniel C

Dec 14, 2015

Just three stars so far, I've just started the course late... I think it looks good tho.

By smeets

May 28, 2016

very good course, but I never recieved the feedback I needed on the forum

By ANUPAMA R

Jun 24, 2020

Too long and difficult as there are more number of peer reviews

By tengson p

Jan 11, 2017

Fairly good. Fundamental knowledge for researcher.

By Hafeez A

Oct 25, 2015

interesting and informative course.

By Tarjani P

Aug 8, 2020

good

By Cynthia C

Sep 6, 2020

The material is good. However, the peer review format is poor. Most students submit copied answers, literally, they are all the same and they are not even correct. Student's don't bother reading the instructions or questions of the tests. Which indicates that I don't even know if their review of my own submissions are correctly evaluated. And the professors of the course are not available.

By Jason M H

Mar 4, 2016

Over reliance on student grading. Material does not map well to the quizzes.

By Sabine W

Apr 21, 2021

Actually I liked the Course VERY much (so actually 5 stars).

BUT: At the end of week 6 I was kicked out of the course! Though I am paying for it! I am so frustrated! I tried to get in again, but no Chance. I need to do everything again from the very beginning, but I am too frustrated to do that. I actually passed all the exams until week 6.

By Marc F

Mar 25, 2018

too much work, too much specific question, alot of not related knowledge that we need to learn... Not useful in my opinion.

By Winthrop Y

Apr 19, 2016

Excellent lectures, good tests, too many peer evaluations!

By Maryam s s O A

Feb 21, 2021

.