Chevron Left
Back to The R Programming Environment

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The R Programming Environment by Johns Hopkins University

4.4
stars
1,096 ratings
299 reviews

About the Course

This course provides a rigorous introduction to the R programming language, with a particular focus on using R for software development in a data science setting. Whether you are part of a data science team or working individually within a community of developers, this course will give you the knowledge of R needed to make useful contributions in those settings. As the first course in the Specialization, the course provides the essential foundation of R needed for the following courses. We cover basic R concepts and language fundamentals, key concepts like tidy data and related "tidyverse" tools, processing and manipulation of complex and large datasets, handling textual data, and basic data science tasks. Upon completing this course, learners will have fluency at the R console and will be able to create tidy datasets from a wide range of possible data sources....

Top reviews

MV
Dec 25, 2018

Very Very Rigorous Course for a beginner on R language and because of its nature, after completing just one course, I feel like I have gained a lot of knowledge and also familiarity with R language.

KV
Jun 17, 2019

A very good course to read and get the valuable content of R language. This is for the students who want to learn and practice the basic and some intermediate concepts of data manipulation.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 292 Reviews for The R Programming Environment

By Abdirahman H H

Aug 5, 2017

The R Programing Environment is very supportive environment, and I appriciate the guideline and the materials. futhermore, the course was good begining. Thanks

By Sigrid

Jul 23, 2019

What I liked most about this course was that it gave us a solid foundation on how to program in R and at the same time made us want to learn more about it.

By Giorgi G

Jun 11, 2020

Overall, it is an excellent course. However, there was a big difference in terms of difficulty between the quizzes, especially with the last one.

By Dingoo K

Sep 24, 2017

The course will be very helpful for those who are interested in R programming and starting it out. The course teaches you the basics.

By Miao C

Nov 25, 2017

very good introduction to the R programming language, with holistic introduction to updated R packages written by Hadley Wickham.

By Gregory G

May 25, 2017

So far I have really enjoyed this course. It has added to my overall R knowledge, especially the functions for data manipulation.

By Rui G

Oct 16, 2017

Very nice courses for people want to get more familiar with R (like me), the quiz are really related to the points in the book.

By Malinda W

Nov 21, 2020

Excellent R course for a beginner. This course is a bit more challenging, but you can learn a lot as a first time learner.

By Helaynea E I M

Sep 26, 2019

This course helped me learn functions I had not been previously aware of and really helped challenge me. I learned a lot!

By Petko S

Mar 22, 2018

Very useful course not only for beginners but also for practitioners! There are some valuable insights in the R practice!

By Laura A R

Feb 2, 2018

Interensate, ameno y muy explicativo. La plataforma es muy cómoda y el ritmo de trabajo es asequible. Recomendable 100 %

By Sayan S

Apr 21, 2018

An excellent course. Very good introduction to R and certain packages such as dplyr and grepl. Hands-on and challenging

By Edmund J L O

Aug 26, 2017

Great introduction to the world of R !!! Also a great refresher course after taking the Data Science Specialization.

By Shafi M W O

Aug 12, 2018

Very detailed with clear instruction of basics to a bit of advanced on R. A fantastic crash course for any beginner

By emmette

Oct 14, 2018

Great overview of R with a focus on Hadley Wickham's tidyverse (very useful set of packages for data scientists).

By Jomin P J

Mar 21, 2018

It is a wonderful beginner level course to start with. It really help you understand the basics and move forward.

By Jonas M

Jun 23, 2018

Great review of concepts that I had already learned at some point. Looking forward to 'Advanced R Programming'.

By Gregorio A A P

Aug 26, 2017

Excellent, but I would be grateful if you could translate all your courses of absolute quality into Spanish.

By Vikesh K

Mar 21, 2019

Very good course. The pedagogy and the course content along with the assignments is rigorous and fantastic.

By Vibha S

Feb 14, 2019

The course was well designed for beginners. It helped me to gain lot of confidence in building my knowledge

By Niraj P

Sep 6, 2017

A wonderful course that help me a lot to learn R programming

Thank you John Hopkins University and Coursera

By Kshiti D

Jan 7, 2018

The course was very helpful on covering the basics. All the necessary materials and guidance was provided.

By Jean P

Oct 12, 2017

More interaction with classmates through forum is definitely needed. Other than that the course is awesome

By Alice M

Feb 1, 2019

Solid introduction to R and the tidyverse with very nice assignments to get practice on the command line.

By Feisal V

Aug 7, 2020

Wonderful course! Learnt a lot. Very rigorous so be prepared to have to absorb a lot of R knowledge!!