Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
21,189 ratings
4,574 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

JM
Aug 11, 2019

Very challenging, but good course. I've been programming in R for over a year, but there were still some things for me to pick up in this class. Assignments were a challenge, but satisfying to tackle.

WH
Feb 2, 2016

"R Programming" forces you to dive in deep.\n\nThese skills serve as a strong basis for the rest of the data science specialization.\n\nMaterial is in depth, but presented clearly. Highly recommended!

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 4,475 Reviews for R Programming

By Hugo S

Mar 26, 2020

Great introductory course in R. Swirl is a very good introductory method for learning R by 'doing it'. The set of exercises were great (allow us to explore R in a more deep level), with very detailed and easy to follow instructions. Recommend!

By Yatin M

Oct 20, 2016

Excellent introduction to R Programming...whether you are taking it stand-alone, as part of the data scientist specialization or want to ease into the machine learning side of things . The swirl() exercises are a helpful add. Kudos to the team.

By James H

Feb 8, 2016

This course provides a great overiew to introductory R programming. Since taking the course, I have successfully used the precepts learned here for a number of analysis projects. Coupled with ggplot2 graphics, the results became self-evident.

By Suyash O

Dec 7, 2020

A good course to start with the fundamental and there is no better way than to learn hands-on which the assignments do help with. Would recommend for beginners as the videos cover a lot of topics. Improvements can be made but i like the course

By Juan M E R d A N R

Jul 9, 2020

Great course. But please consider including a reading version of the video lecture, (not the same as the transcript) just like in the previous course (The Data Scientist Tool Box). I found those reading versions of the lectures really useful!

By Marely T R A

Apr 24, 2019

Great course, I loved the SWIRL module. It was awesome. The videos were great and the examples really well though. The instructor has a great voice, he should consider a side job as a narrator, he could do it great.

Honestly, I just loved it.

By Akshay W

Jun 27, 2020

I like this course so much.just because when I was doing this course I have learnt so many thing that will help me in future and thankyou so much sorry for giving me this opportunity.i will surely do more course and learn new thing from you.

By Gerson G

Apr 26, 2020

This course will provide you with fundamental knowledge about R. It does not only teach you how to do things, but why to do them and it also covers how R works behind the scenes. This is valuable knowledge for anyone wanting to work with it.

By John M M

Dec 7, 2017

It was a nice programming course to start with although did not have prior skills in programming. I believe that I will use the knowledge to improve my programming skills and hopefully become a data scientist and an expert on R programming

By Richard B

Feb 6, 2016

This course was set out in such a way that it was very easy for me to follow. I hope that all the courses in this Specialization will be as well planned and structured as this one. It was very easy to learn the very basics of R programming.

By VISHAL D

May 27, 2020

Excellent course ! i aready know about R but this class very help me .i learn a ot of R basic , but i was completely lost for week 2+ 4 write functiom assignment - they strike at the level too high level for complete tye beginner for me

By Tomasz S

Jul 21, 2017

This course is easy at the beggining. And difficult at the end. I try to do it at least 2. I will recommend it to all the people who would like to get knowledge in programming and in data science. To these who are curious about the world.

By Dariusz R

Feb 7, 2016

Great course! I got previously some basics in R and this course helped me a lot with more effective programming in R. Especially, thank you for great lectured "functions" module, because I never understood it and now it seems much easier.

By Gregorio P V

Aug 29, 2020

It´s an excellent course, please take in mind that the effort necesary to finish this course is bigger than the effort applied in the previous one, The Data science´s Toolbox, but the knowledge obtained is very pertinent to data analysis

By Fahad Y

Nov 23, 2019

Indubitably a great starting point for someone who is new to R programming language. The course curriculum is so intutive and well decorated such that it was a challenging task for someone like me who belongs to a CS graduate background.

By Abhyudai M

Aug 2, 2017

The best part of the course is swirl. It allows me to refresh my concepts at any point of time as the library is installed in my system. Apart from that this course has a very refined structure which has avoided complexity and confusion.

By Valinho A

Aug 24, 2020

It's help alot for gaining confidence in my R programming skills. I don't say that it is not for the beginner, but they will need more time, effort and motivation to finish this course. Thanks, Coursera and Roger Peng for the insights!

By Mohammad A S

Jun 12, 2020

Really loved the assignment. I wasn't familiar with R before, but the complexity of the assignments made me dive deep.

I don't know too much about data science. But, I think in the real-world scenario I will face these type of problems.

By William G C

Jan 23, 2017

An amazing course! I have had some experience programming in R but this course helped me take my programming to the next step. I highly recommend this course for any level of programmer. It is a great course to have in your back pocket.

By Tania M T

Apr 5, 2020

Great course! Really useful. It can get difficult at some points, I found that the course doesn't prepare you so well for the assignments if you don't have any background knowledge in programming. However, it is a great course to take.

By Eric J

Feb 27, 2020

Overall a very good class. It provides a good introduction to the R programming language with assignments that prompt you to use these skills. However to become proficient more practice is required, just like any programming language.

By Rodrigo D

Sep 18, 2017

It brought to me not only the technical ability to work with R but also reminded me of the conceptual gaps I have to fulfill in order to be a better data scientist, more specifically regarding the depth of the knowledge of Statistics.

By Jurijs J

Jan 25, 2016

Very useful course for getting started in R Programming. I would advise to take this course for everyone, who is interested in working with data. I had a pleasure to complete the tasks and to get knowledge about new things! Thank you!

By Cleiton P d S

Feb 20, 2020

Although I gave a good score in my evaluation, I think that the course should have more practical explanations... The last two assignments and tons of students in the forum may confirm what I'm saying.

I am grateful for this course!

By Mariela N R

Nov 12, 2019

It is a great course for learning deep foundations about R programming. The programming assignment were a good challenge for learning a lot of advanced things. Thanks coursera and Johns Hopkins University for offering this course!