Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
21,187 ratings
4,574 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

WH
Feb 2, 2016

"R Programming" forces you to dive in deep.\n\nThese skills serve as a strong basis for the rest of the data science specialization.\n\nMaterial is in depth, but presented clearly. Highly recommended!

MR
May 11, 2020

Really interesting course. The interactive coding sessions with swirl are especially useful. Would be great, if you provided sample solutions for the programming assignments, in particular for week 4.

Filter by:

3901 - 3925 of 4,475 Reviews for R Programming

By Eliza J

Aug 16, 2020

Be cautious if you haven't done any programming before... you'll learn with this course but it will be kinda painful.

By Not E C

Mar 6, 2016

I think the jump in difficulty from week 1 to week 2 is discouraging to many students with little to no R experience.

By Shubham A

Oct 27, 2020

The course was more theoretical with less examples, something which can be added. Else a good experience with Swirl

By Kiran K R

Apr 17, 2020

Assignments were too advanced and with the knowledge from the lectures it is not easy to figure out the assignments.

By Sonny T

Nov 28, 2016

Good course. I would request that the instructors work through modules in real time that are similar to the quizzes.

By aparna T

Nov 7, 2017

Only beginner level understanding. more examples could help. Lexical and Dynamic scoping concepts not really clear.

By Stefano M

Jan 24, 2020

The lectures are good but the gap between exercises and assignments is enormous. I cannot recommend to a beginner

By Andaru

Feb 12, 2016

Challenging, but it gives a good idea on rprogramming, should be taken with other learning tools outside coursera

By Pradeep M V

Jul 5, 2020

Good course content. But gained more from the course text book and Swirl() exercises than the instructor videos.

By Md. S R

Apr 23, 2020

Course content and Assignments are not equivalent to each other. Please try to maintain the standard. Thank you.

By Sara G

Sep 5, 2019

I learned a lot in this course but found the assignments far too advanced for the subject matter we were taught.

By Elma E T

May 17, 2020

I am happy with what I learned in the course but there is a gap between what is taught and the assignment given

By Christian B

Feb 5, 2018

Very light course if you have previous experience programming. I expected there to be a lot more hands-on work.

By Hanyue Z

Aug 15, 2016

It's ok that the instructor always talks fast, but he stammered a lot. Wish he could speak everything fluently.

By Rishabh J

Jun 24, 2020

The course should cover more R Packages and their usages, to bridge the gap between tutorials and Assignments.

By Benjamín D

Feb 22, 2019

Is weird trying learning to program in R without ever programmed before. even before learning to manage data.

By Albert B

Aug 14, 2016

Need way more content, and accesibility to begginers, gap between theory and practical exercises is too big!

By Tian W

Feb 26, 2021

I think the course will be much more helpful if the explanations are provided for each assignment and quiz.

By Suhail s

Jun 7, 2020

Lectures and notes were not satisfactory. They weren't sufficient to do the weekly programming assignments.

By Rami A

Mar 29, 2016

The course needs an update. Really poor presentation of the material although a lot of things are covered.

By Jone C

Apr 26, 2021

Good content overall but programming assignment requires deeper insights into syntax that were not covered

By Jason S

Sep 9, 2020

Assignments are a huge step up in difficulty compared to lectures. It is like there are lectures missing.

By Jonathan Y

Mar 31, 2020

The programming assignments were way too difficult compared with the material presented in the same week.

By Lorenzo F

Oct 25, 2017

I felt some assignment required more knowledge than the course had offered. Overall this is a good course

By Jaya K

Mar 6, 2016

its good and still more programming problems can be discussed to ease the learners to dive interest in R.