Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
20,731 ratings
4,451 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

EJ
Jul 11, 2016

Excellent course! I already knew a lot about R - but this class helped me solidify what I already knew, taught me lots of new tricks, and now I have a certificate that says I know `something' about R!

WH
Feb 2, 2016

"R Programming" forces you to dive in deep.\n\nThese skills serve as a strong basis for the rest of the data science specialization.\n\nMaterial is in depth, but presented clearly. Highly recommended!

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 4,340 Reviews for R Programming

By Y.David Z

Jul 17, 2020

This is course is probably my favorite out of the Data Science: Foundations using R specialization. There was plenty of opportunity to practice and further develop by burgeoning R programming skill.

By Regena R

Feb 21, 2017

I am pleasantly surprised with the quality of this course. For a beginner, the Swirl exercises are incredibly helpful and I was able to build confidence in working with R because of them. Thank you!

By Rob D

Mar 3, 2016

A great introduction to slightly more complicated R programming. Basic concepts covered well and it builds nicely to the point where you feel like you can apply your knowledge to real world examples

By Deepak K V

Feb 3, 2016

The content is superbly designer for a beginner. The Swirl assignments need to make compulsory. Infact they contributed more to the learning process. More Swirl contents will make the course richer.

By Meichen L

Nov 3, 2018

This is a very thorough introduction to R. There are plenty of exercises to quickly get familiar with the language. Some good guided assignments really help getting familiar with coding functions.

By Sven B

Apr 28, 2016

This course fully meets my expectations. It provides a concise starting point and even manages to introduce advanced concepts such as the 'apply' family. The final assignment is fully appropriate.

By Alexander R

Sep 22, 2018

It is a very important course, despite being at introductory level opens the path to the data science, this is very important and I'm very excited by the possibilities. For me was very important.

By Abdul S K C

Jul 16, 2018

For anyone planning to set their foot in the vast field of data analytics and R, this course is what will set the momentum and actually make you fond of programming in R by the end of the course.

By Aviral B

Sep 7, 2017

Great course for people who work with data a lot.

This course actually helps in looking at data in its basic forms, helps understand transformations better, and gives ideas about playing with it.

By Oscar R H R

Sep 6, 2020

An excellent course that provides the fundamentals of programming in R. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to start in the wonderful world of programming related to data analysis.

Regards

By Arun C

Aug 8, 2017

The course is good however I felt the programming assignments were too difficult compared to lectures. Which however makes us work hard and refer to a lot of solutions to arrive at our solutions

By Paolo F

Jan 23, 2017

This course is a great place to start learning R (and any programming language at all). Due to it I fell in love with R and the whole domain of data science. Do I recommend it? Yes! Thanks, JHU!

By Anjan D

Mar 2, 2016

It is a very well organised course. I really like the swirl assignment programming assignments. It for doing exercise and learning at the same time. I am very much impressed and learning a lot.

By Sanjeev K

Apr 3, 2020

i am very happy to be a part of this course and i learned very usefull things in r programing through this course.And at last i would like to thank Dr. Peng for giving such wonderfull lectures

By wenlei b

Nov 20, 2016

very comprehensive for those who has a little coding background but new to R. The programming quizzes are very helpful for practicing coding. I suggest solution codes by instructors be posted.

By Felipe H

Feb 28, 2016

Excellent course for everybody who wants to know about R and some programming. A basic programming background as a pre-requisite should be required because the pace of the course is very fast.

By Dhaval B

May 6, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, you really have to explore R a lot on your own as well. The programming assignments are easy logically but you really need to get a hang of the "R way to do it"

By Michael S

Mar 19, 2018

I felt this course covered an adequate distribution of introductory material in the right amount of time. In particular, the swirl() library is incredibly helpful and well-designed. Cheers!

By Daniel B L d S

Jan 19, 2018

This course is really challenge. The classes are precise, short, and engaging. I can say I learned a lot. The assignments are very efficient in access what the students really really learned.

By Fouzi T

Nov 26, 2017

This is the best place where I have learned a lots about R Programming with efficient and right way. I'm realy recommand this Course if you want to master and proof rapidly your skills in R .

By Silvia J L H

Aug 23, 2016

I will recommend it 100% for those who want to learn R. There are good teachers, explanations, assignments... But it may have some tricky exercises for those who have not programmed before.

By Smith O G V

May 17, 2020

it's very useful and practical, i've learned some things that i didn't have idea before, and this course enriches me in the knowledge in this type of topic, thank u very much for everything.

By Valery b

Mar 31, 2018

Very good and broad coverage of the tool needed to start working and checking our understanding of the language,. Exercices are difficult enough to start using advanced functions and skills.

By John B

Oct 23, 2017

R Programming” is an introductory course teaching users the basics of R. While I did think it went over the basics well, the assignment difficulty was a bit too much for true beginners to R.

By Subodh

Sep 22, 2019

Five stars are what I can go max. It has perfect content with detailed explanation and hands-on interaction in R makes it perfect.

I would recommend the course if you want to up-skill in R.