Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
20,958 ratings
4,502 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

JM
Aug 11, 2019

Very challenging, but good course. I've been programming in R for over a year, but there were still some things for me to pick up in this class. Assignments were a challenge, but satisfying to tackle.

MR
May 11, 2020

Really interesting course. The interactive coding sessions with swirl are especially useful. Would be great, if you provided sample solutions for the programming assignments, in particular for week 4.

Filter by:

4126 - 4150 of 4,390 Reviews for R Programming

By Eric H

Mar 20, 2016

Assignments do not correspond with video lessons.

Video lessons has a lot of teorical concepts that are not usefull at all.

There's a big opportunity to enhace this course.

By Brett W

Aug 15, 2017

Good content, and lots of information, but the lectures are not well associated with the assignments, which makes the assignments frustrating and difficult to complete.

By Angela L

Jan 19, 2016

Difficult to follow if you are new to any type of programming. This is not a beginner's course. Best to take this course after trying Swirl, Data Camp, or Code School.

By Christopher G

Aug 29, 2018

Ultra simple lectures, ultra complicated assignments. I like the idea of complicated assignments, but please update lectures to show us more complicated examples.

By Scott N

Apr 3, 2016

My background is in software development, so I know a thing or two about writing code. I'm about halfway through the course, and I'm really struck by two things:

By Alejandro M C

Jan 12, 2021

Programming exercises require more knowledge that the one given in the course. I did have to spend hours in outside sources to complete the assignments!!!!

By Meredith C H

May 24, 2018

The material and practice exercises were do-able, the programming assignments were way too complicated given the depth of the material that was covered.

By Norman H

Feb 12, 2017

Very poor lecture support for the assignments. So much was not covered at all during the lectures that the assignments were extremely time consuming.

By Andries L

Sep 20, 2016

The course content and the assignments are too far apart. I would have learned more if it was better aligned and there were some exercise in between.

By Victoria M

Mar 8, 2016

This course is not at all beginner friendly, really hard to follow the assignments and the lectures if you do not have a programming or R background.

By Yash P

Aug 23, 2020

The teaching and the assignment are not on the same levels. The assignmnet contains contains concepts which are not taught in it's respective course

By Yuze Y

Dec 28, 2016

The videos do not adequately prepare the students of the programming assignments.

The instructor should provide more support regarding the homework.

By Phuong A V

Jul 26, 2020

The programming is quire hard. It is very difficult to apply the knowledge from the lecture videos and the book resources to finish the assignment

By Stephanie B

Apr 17, 2020

The gap between the lectures and swirl, and the assignments was much too large. It was hard to transition between the lectures and the assignments

By Faraz S

Jun 11, 2020

Assignments are difficult, very much coding experience required. Will recommend to subscribe courses on programminghub, codecademy and codecamp.

By Jason B

Jun 4, 2016

Way too much way too fast. Not sure how I would make it better, but I felt like I was learning from googling more than from the course.

By Frank D S

Jul 28, 2019

Good presentation, but the jump between course materials and assignments is too great for people that are very new to R/programming.

By Deleted A

Oct 28, 2016

R is a good to know tool, but so many of these process are automated now. You can do this quite easily in XLS or SPSS in most cases.

By William L

Aug 22, 2019

My review comments can be found in the surveymonkey response survey. To summarise: I would not recommend this course to others.

By Hideyuki T

May 3, 2018

There seems logical jump from the lecture/exercise and quiz. Lots of time required to self-learn new things on other websites.

By Shanmuga P

Dec 12, 2017

no detailed explanation, everything is left to Assignments

expected some more contents with programming examples in the Videos

By Steve H

Jul 18, 2017

very hard if you don't have any existing skills in R and the assignments are often not connected to the content of each course

By Mercy M

Sep 10, 2018

A very steep learning course for beginners, I had to take other introductory R courses on DataCamp to go through this course.

By Kevin W

Mar 1, 2016

The videos were helpful, but too fast. Not a lot of time is spent on any of the functions of F. Swirl helps but not a lot.

By Shreyas A

May 17, 2020

It's very difficult to crack weekly assignments. As examples taken while teaching the functions are not comprehensible.