Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
21,056 ratings
4,526 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

MR
May 11, 2020

Really interesting course. The interactive coding sessions with swirl are especially useful. Would be great, if you provided sample solutions for the programming assignments, in particular for week 4.

EJ
Jul 11, 2016

Excellent course! I already knew a lot about R - but this class helped me solidify what I already knew, taught me lots of new tricks, and now I have a certificate that says I know `something' about R!

Filter by:

4176 - 4200 of 4,426 Reviews for R Programming

By Phuong A V

Jul 26, 2020

The programming is quire hard. It is very difficult to apply the knowledge from the lecture videos and the book resources to finish the assignment

By Stephanie B

Apr 17, 2020

The gap between the lectures and swirl, and the assignments was much too large. It was hard to transition between the lectures and the assignments

By Faraz S

Jun 11, 2020

Assignments are difficult, very much coding experience required. Will recommend to subscribe courses on programminghub, codecademy and codecamp.

By Jason B

Jun 4, 2016

Way too much way too fast. Not sure how I would make it better, but I felt like I was learning from googling more than from the course.

By Frank D S

Jul 28, 2019

Good presentation, but the jump between course materials and assignments is too great for people that are very new to R/programming.

By Deleted A

Oct 28, 2016

R is a good to know tool, but so many of these process are automated now. You can do this quite easily in XLS or SPSS in most cases.

By William L

Aug 22, 2019

My review comments can be found in the surveymonkey response survey. To summarise: I would not recommend this course to others.

By Hideyuki T

May 3, 2018

There seems logical jump from the lecture/exercise and quiz. Lots of time required to self-learn new things on other websites.

By Shanmuga P

Dec 12, 2017

no detailed explanation, everything is left to Assignments

expected some more contents with programming examples in the Videos

By Steve H

Jul 18, 2017

very hard if you don't have any existing skills in R and the assignments are often not connected to the content of each course

By Mercy M

Sep 10, 2018

A very steep learning course for beginners, I had to take other introductory R courses on DataCamp to go through this course.

By Kevin W

Mar 1, 2016

The videos were helpful, but too fast. Not a lot of time is spent on any of the functions of F. Swirl helps but not a lot.

By Shreyas A

May 17, 2020

It's very difficult to crack weekly assignments. As examples taken while teaching the functions are not comprehensible.

By Michael P

Dec 11, 2016

Had potential, but exercises and quizzes do not align with content taught by professor. This is not a beginners course!

By Karanvir S

Mar 17, 2020

The pedology used here does not interest a learner. It seems as if the instructor is just reading through the slides.

By zezhi

May 1, 2016

The lecture is too general. Not a courser for beginners. But if your are not a beginner, you won't need this, so…

By Kevin M T

May 16, 2021

There's no connection between the assignments given and the lecture being taught. So many contexts are missing.

By Chris D

Dec 23, 2017

Not for the faint of heart. Extremely difficult and not for beginners. If U pass U will have learned alot...IF

By David B

Aug 13, 2018

Disjointed and not cohesive. Start with the basics and build from there. The assignments are a waste of time.

By Ashwin S

Jun 23, 2020

Theory and online lectures are fine, assignments are not (at all) consistent with the level in the lectures.

By Yarden B

May 11, 2020

There is a huge gap between what they teach us and what the assignments ask. Had to get a lot of extra help.

By Sneha Y

Jan 12, 2020

Had some good information but did not expect the course to be intermediate level for the entirety of course.

By Hui R

Feb 20, 2020

It would be really helpful if the teacher gives more examples or graphs when he explains some concepts.

By Jake R

Sep 11, 2016

The lectures for this course do not adequately prepare students for the graded quizzes and assignments.

By Maggie L

Mar 5, 2020

It's totally difficult for me. Some of the assignments are really hard to work out for me as a novice.