Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
21,589 ratings
4,680 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

JM

Aug 11, 2019

Very challenging, but good course. I've been programming in R for over a year, but there were still some things for me to pick up in this class. Assignments were a challenge, but satisfying to tackle.

EJ

Jul 11, 2016

Excellent course! I already knew a lot about R - but this class helped me solidify what I already knew, taught me lots of new tricks, and now I have a certificate that says I know `something' about R!

Filter by:

4301 - 4325 of 4,589 Reviews for R Programming

By abhishek s

Feb 9, 2016

The assignments are highly dissociated from the course material. Also once the due date has passed sharing the best solution would help so as to give insights on what could have been done better.

By Jason C

Feb 25, 2018

Lessons and assignments were not aligned, expected beginners to know advanced R topics in order to complete assignments. Good info and would be better if lessons and assignments aligned better.

By Chitra B

Apr 15, 2018

It was very difficult to solve the projects . I think I should have more coding experience or analytical experience before attempting this course. The practical exercises should be more to do.

By WARIS A

Jul 8, 2020

This course is not much good because of some topics are not clearly explained Like Loop Function and 4TH week also. Assignment was so much tough and not related to the topics that covered ..

By Alex S

May 20, 2020

Massive gap between learning materials and assignments. Even with taking notes and going through additional swirl exercises you don't feel prepared for the assignments. Note: beginner in R.

By Nattaya P

Oct 19, 2017

In the lecture, they didn't mentioned enough function to use in assignment. I just stared to my computer couple hour and didn't know what I should do. T^T Take many time to figure it out

By Matthew D

May 15, 2020

Good luck! Without prior R background, you will struggle. The professors will be of little help. Post your problems to other internet forums, you're more likely to get help and faster.

By Thomas J

Mar 11, 2021

It's hard to finish the assignment unless you already know how to use R. You have to search functions, arguments, and tips in the discussion forum to figure out the struggle points.

By Yaroslava B

Mar 21, 2020

Very heavy on math/programming terms that are not necessarily familiar to beginner level, making it impossible to follow the course logic and explanations. Please revise course.

By Leonardo M

Jul 13, 2020

The level of assignments was very difficult, considering the material offered in the body of the course, the r programming task dont fit the learning curve of beginner students

By Boris S

Jan 14, 2017

I do not like how the lecturer teaches. It is too theoretical, and from very simple concepts makes rocket science. It would be better to have more exmaple and less theory.

By Eric H

Mar 20, 2016

Assignments do not correspond with video lessons.

Video lessons has a lot of teorical concepts that are not usefull at all.

There's a big opportunity to enhace this course.

By Brett W

Aug 15, 2017

Good content, and lots of information, but the lectures are not well associated with the assignments, which makes the assignments frustrating and difficult to complete.

By Angela L

Jan 19, 2016

Difficult to follow if you are new to any type of programming. This is not a beginner's course. Best to take this course after trying Swirl, Data Camp, or Code School.

By cgarrita

Aug 29, 2018

Ultra simple lectures, ultra complicated assignments. I like the idea of complicated assignments, but please update lectures to show us more complicated examples.

By Scott N

Apr 3, 2016

My background is in software development, so I know a thing or two about writing code. I'm about halfway through the course, and I'm really struck by two things:

By Alejandro M C

Jan 12, 2021

Programming exercises require more knowledge that the one given in the course. I did have to spend hours in outside sources to complete the assignments!!!!

By Meredith C H

May 24, 2018

The material and practice exercises were do-able, the programming assignments were way too complicated given the depth of the material that was covered.

By Norman H

Feb 12, 2017

Very poor lecture support for the assignments. So much was not covered at all during the lectures that the assignments were extremely time consuming.

By Andries L

Sep 20, 2016

The course content and the assignments are too far apart. I would have learned more if it was better aligned and there were some exercise in between.

By Victoria M

Mar 8, 2016

This course is not at all beginner friendly, really hard to follow the assignments and the lectures if you do not have a programming or R background.

By Yash P

Aug 23, 2020

The teaching and the assignment are not on the same levels. The assignmnet contains contains concepts which are not taught in it's respective course

By Yuze Y

Dec 28, 2016

The videos do not adequately prepare the students of the programming assignments.

The instructor should provide more support regarding the homework.

By Phuong A V

Jul 26, 2020

The programming is quire hard. It is very difficult to apply the knowledge from the lecture videos and the book resources to finish the assignment

By Stephanie B

Apr 17, 2020

The gap between the lectures and swirl, and the assignments was much too large. It was hard to transition between the lectures and the assignments