Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
21,263 ratings
4,589 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

EJ
Jul 11, 2016

Excellent course! I already knew a lot about R - but this class helped me solidify what I already knew, taught me lots of new tricks, and now I have a certificate that says I know `something' about R!

MR
May 11, 2020

Really interesting course. The interactive coding sessions with swirl are especially useful. Would be great, if you provided sample solutions for the programming assignments, in particular for week 4.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 4,492 Reviews for R Programming

By Михаил

Feb 27, 2019

It is the best course of R-programming I'v ever saw. Exercises and quizzes help me understand material better. Every week added something new to my skills. Thanks a lot to professors!

By Abhinav k

Apr 30, 2017

Excellent course for someone new to R programming, some of the assignment really test your temperament and tempts you to cheat,but you just need to keep your calm and continue trying.

By Sergio T

Nov 23, 2020

This course was exceptional for learning programming in R and some programming structures. I really learnt a lot and I think this course could have a second part in programming in R.

By Lynda Y

Dec 22, 2016

Great introduction to R programming that provides you with the skills to manipulate data in R including understanding the basics of vector type operations, functions and debugging.

By Rajat G

Apr 26, 2020

The entire course was really amazing and it did help me learn the basics and am really happy that I could solve such complex questions after going through the course material. Kudos

By Jamie M

Jun 23, 2018

Great course, really ensures depth of learning the fundamentals and not just skimming the practical applications and teaching to the assignments, which is typical in normal courses.

By Wong W J

Nov 20, 2020

Course introduces basics to coding in R, with higher-level assignments that tests application. Very steep learning curve, but rewarding when you manage to get the required outputs.

By Sridhar N S

Oct 15, 2020

AS simple AS these concepts MAY seem, they are a bit tricky!

I love the SWIRL package. Best way to have a hands-on session on your own, and to revise the concepts anytime you need!!

By Marcus S

Jun 3, 2018

I recommend to everyone this course, in special if you are going to take the "Statistics with R" specialization, because it definitely missing this course as part of their program.

By Dhiraj G

Feb 17, 2017

The concepts were explained in a clear and understandable fashion. The functions in the programming assignments were of a higher standard compared to what is taught in the course !

By Afrin D

Aug 23, 2020

There are a lot of new concepts in this language! Most of them get covered in the videos itself, if not the implementation in the swirl exercises helps in understanding them well!

By Suzy J

Aug 27, 2020

The course efficiently equips me with fundamental knowledge in R programming. Specifically, I find the questions in assignment well-designed and especially conducive to my study.

By Polla T

Sep 5, 2017

It was really awesome! I can recommend this for everbody with a little R background. Without R knowledge it can be a little bit hard, but with a lot of google it can be solvable.

By Adolfo F A

May 26, 2017

Excellent introduction course to R.

It is a very complete course, easy to follow but you have to work hard in the assigment.

Highly recommended for an initiation in R - programming

By Екатерина Л

Feb 25, 2017

Very interesting course with great base of knowlage. Easy enough to understand for new members and interesting for R-lovers.

Mostly I like the Programming assignments!

Thank you!

By Alexander O

Apr 16, 2016

A great intro to the basics of R programming that is especially useful for those who have aren't very familiar with programming, or extremely out of practice (such as myself...).

By Denis O

Jul 17, 2020

It is a really complete course to undertand how R programming language works. The classes are really great and the content is really important to work in the data science field.

By Xianhui W

Mar 23, 2019

About the assignment in week 1, it may be challenging as a beginner. But generally it is a great course. Thanks to professor Peng and others who made contribution to this class!

By Christian B

Sep 27, 2016

This was a challenging class and it took me quite some time to figure things out. But I feel I learned something. Definitely check the tips provided my the mentors in the forums

By Dona P

Jul 6, 2020

I learned a lot through this course. I can feel the difference every time I complete a course. Thank You

Some data were missing towards the end. otherwise, the course is simple.

By Mark O

Nov 14, 2019

Hi team, FYI there is a typo in R programming, background material, Week1:Getting started and R Nuts and Bolts - Video : Getting Help - Slide 9/14

Follow up witht the solution

By Andrew

Feb 9, 2019

For a beginner, the assignments were very challenging, but worth it. I learned a lot from the course and feel as if I left the course with a solid grasp of how to program in R.

By Sarib S

Oct 5, 2017

best teaching and student financial Aid Option is also very beneficial for every class of students. I thank the coursera team for their efforts to run this educational website.

By DIANA L D G

Oct 27, 2020

The course is great, the assignments are challenging but they help a lot to improve your R programming skills. The videos and swirl() lessons are great tools, helped me a lot.

By Francisco M R O

Oct 8, 2018

This course about R is perfect, it gives you the tools and knowledge you need in order to do data analysis. I'm going to recommend this course to my peers, thank you coursera.