Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
21,340 ratings
4,615 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

JM
Aug 11, 2019

Very challenging, but good course. I've been programming in R for over a year, but there were still some things for me to pick up in this class. Assignments were a challenge, but satisfying to tackle.

WH
Feb 2, 2016

"R Programming" forces you to dive in deep.\n\nThese skills serve as a strong basis for the rest of the data science specialization.\n\nMaterial is in depth, but presented clearly. Highly recommended!

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 4,518 Reviews for R Programming

By Shri P S

Aug 2, 2017

Good beginners course for learning R. I like the course design, Assignment and online collaboration on the forum!!. Its is very effective if done seriously.

By Christoph J

Jul 29, 2017

Really great course with good lectures. The assignments are harder than what you'e expect from the lectures but guess that's part of the learning experience.

By Chandan

Oct 21, 2016

It was a great course with great practice exercises, which helped me a lot to understand all the concepts as well as implemented them in an efficient manner.

By AKSHAY A K

Apr 18, 2020

Great explanation and progression enabled me to gain confidence in R programming. I had the opportunity to gain a new skill during this quarantine period :)

By Ayna M

Jan 4, 2018

I found this course challenging but very interesting and useful! Still in the dark mostly about the true purpose of lexical scoping in practical situations.

By Prathamesh

May 21, 2017

Swirl exercises are simply brilliant! Perhaps you can add more challenging problems

The assignments push you to research, which I think is a major plus point

By Naiyan C

Apr 2, 2017

The course content was well delivered. Assignments were challenging but very useful to help get the learner up to speed with programming on R independently.

By Artsiom R

Sep 23, 2016

It's very interesting course, what give you a basics of R programming language. The most interesting was the last programming assignment with real data set.

By Shashwat T

Apr 25, 2020

This course, R Programming, challenges the learner to solve problems very aggressively. Instructors are amazing, and the post-course content is remarkable.

By Greg V

Jan 24, 2019

Great course! R syntax can be tricky, and it often took a bit of googling and experimentation to complete the exercises. But I also learned a lot doing so.

By Vitalii S

Jul 20, 2017

I am working as BI and using R almost every day.Thank you for this course.

I can say that it very powerful tool for data analysis, especially big datasets.

By Hugo H

Apr 18, 2016

This class was really good. Coincidentally I was struggling with this type of code. The case is challenging but very well delivered. The material is great.

By Matt S

Oct 16, 2018

Excellent course. May be difficult for individuals with little to no programming experience. The programming assignments are fun and will teach you a lot!

By Ariel C

Jul 9, 2017

Great course. Lots of information. Glad of learning R Programming, it will be very useful for my career.

Thank you all for preparing this material so well.

By Paresh N

Jan 31, 2016

A distinguished course for those who want to put their first step in learning the fundamentals of R Programming in the unceasing journey of Data Science .

By Venkatachalam J

Nov 6, 2019

The course is well-structured. Content, and the practical exercise motivate the learner to understand the concepts and make comfortable with R commands.

By Johann R

Feb 13, 2017

Really good course, and structured in a way that you have to do a lot of thinking, reading, and research for yourself - forcing you to learn and explore.

By Fabrice C

Feb 7, 2016

high level teachers , and well-organized course, in a pedagogic way. Understandable for non-specialists, requires a significant amount of personnal work.

By Kazi H R

Oct 4, 2020

Really quite a detailed introductory course on R. For those wanting to get a kick-start this would be the perfect course for the cause without any doubt

By Jack D

Nov 26, 2017

A good course to gain more experience in programming with R. The assignments are of reasonable size, and expand on the basics presented in the Toolbox.

By Ryan G P D

Nov 21, 2017

Challenging. Its a plus if you have a background on PHP, Python, and Java and not just SAS and SPSS. Otherwise, it would be a steep learning curve in R.

By Juan A J R

Jun 11, 2017

La primera vez que lo tome significo un impulso en mi carrera profesional; efectivamente iniciandome como un programador en R, y no solo como un usuario

By Jeremy D V

Sep 5, 2016

Great course for beginners! Informative, well-structured and straightforward. The "SWIRL" exercises and the introduction to GitHub are also very useful.

By Nandini B

May 1, 2020

It was great experience with R Programming. Mentor was really good to learn online. I feel a bit celebrated explanation required for doing assignments.

By Harby S N

Nov 26, 2017

I encountered some difficulties in the process, but through getting help, I managed to survive and learn the course. It's been a worthwhile experience.