Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
20,482 ratings
4,394 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

MR
May 11, 2020

Really interesting course. The interactive coding sessions with swirl are especially useful. Would be great, if you provided sample solutions for the programming assignments, in particular for week 4.

EJ
Jul 11, 2016

Excellent course! I already knew a lot about R - but this class helped me solidify what I already knew, taught me lots of new tricks, and now I have a certificate that says I know `something' about R!

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 4,281 Reviews for R Programming

By Kunal V

Apr 21, 2017

Thank you so much for sharing an awesome knowledge that everyone would like to come across.It feels a pleasure that i have been R certified from Johns Hopkins University, through Coursera.

By Sudheer N R

Jan 9, 2017

Very good course for anyone willing to learn R. I started with no knowledge of R. This course gave me a solid start. I have built my knowledge over it and I am very comfortable with R now.

By Cathryn S

Aug 10, 2016

Quite difficult, and you certainly need to work hard to figure out the exercises. The lectures get you started but don't have all the answers. Not one for people who want to be spoonfed.

By Akhmetzhan M G

Apr 21, 2020

Excellent course. I've gained lots of valuable knowledge which obviously will help in my future career. Great thanks to the instructors. They explained complicated issues in a simple way.

By Manasa L

Jun 24, 2018

Very well taught and the course materials are helpful! I would recommend everyone who wants to jump into R to take this course and definitely do the swirl programming practice exercises !

By Deleted A

Nov 1, 2016

While challenging, this course did more than simply lay out the basics of R. It moved me to think critically about specific tasks and innovate ways of solving problems using the language.

By Sanjay J

Jun 4, 2020

Thank you for the practical and very hand's on course. Has made me confident about 'R'. My special thanks to Prof. R Peng. Lucid explanation, good flow and good structure of the content.

By 刘晶

Feb 27, 2018

Though I have learned R for 5 years, I still found some very interesting contents and insight opinion, by the way, all the mentors of this course are very professional and accommodating.

By lety4ent

Jun 11, 2017

Very excellent course, it has the necessary level to encourage you to learn something more, but not so difficult to quit. I strongly recommend this course to people who wants to learn R.

By Dominic C

Aug 1, 2016

A great way to learn a new language is through use, using Swirl to teach the language R and at the same time concepts in data science was such an efficient and effect approach. Thank you

By Михаил О

Feb 27, 2019

It is the best course of R-programming I'v ever saw. Exercises and quizzes help me understand material better. Every week added something new to my skills. Thanks a lot to professors!

By Abhinav k

Apr 30, 2017

Excellent course for someone new to R programming, some of the assignment really test your temperament and tempts you to cheat,but you just need to keep your calm and continue trying.

By Sergio T

Nov 23, 2020

This course was exceptional for learning programming in R and some programming structures. I really learnt a lot and I think this course could have a second part in programming in R.

By Lynda Y

Dec 22, 2016

Great introduction to R programming that provides you with the skills to manipulate data in R including understanding the basics of vector type operations, functions and debugging.

By Rajat G

Apr 26, 2020

The entire course was really amazing and it did help me learn the basics and am really happy that I could solve such complex questions after going through the course material. Kudos

By Jamie M

Jun 23, 2018

Great course, really ensures depth of learning the fundamentals and not just skimming the practical applications and teaching to the assignments, which is typical in normal courses.

By Wong W J

Nov 20, 2020

Course introduces basics to coding in R, with higher-level assignments that tests application. Very steep learning curve, but rewarding when you manage to get the required outputs.

By Sridhar N S

Oct 15, 2020

AS simple AS these concepts MAY seem, they are a bit tricky!

I love the SWIRL package. Best way to have a hands-on session on your own, and to revise the concepts anytime you need!!

By Marcus S

Jun 3, 2018

I recommend to everyone this course, in special if you are going to take the "Statistics with R" specialization, because it definitely missing this course as part of their program.

By Dhiraj G

Feb 17, 2017

The concepts were explained in a clear and understandable fashion. The functions in the programming assignments were of a higher standard compared to what is taught in the course !

By Afrin D

Aug 23, 2020

There are a lot of new concepts in this language! Most of them get covered in the videos itself, if not the implementation in the swirl exercises helps in understanding them well!

By Suzy J

Aug 27, 2020

The course efficiently equips me with fundamental knowledge in R programming. Specifically, I find the questions in assignment well-designed and especially conducive to my study.

By Tamás-Marosi P

Sep 5, 2017

It was really awesome! I can recommend this for everbody with a little R background. Without R knowledge it can be a little bit hard, but with a lot of google it can be solvable.

By Adolfo F A

May 26, 2017

Excellent introduction course to R.

It is a very complete course, easy to follow but you have to work hard in the assigment.

Highly recommended for an initiation in R - programming

By Екатерина Л

Feb 25, 2017

Very interesting course with great base of knowlage. Easy enough to understand for new members and interesting for R-lovers.

Mostly I like the Programming assignments!

Thank you!