Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
21,625 ratings
4,688 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

EJ

Jul 11, 2016

Excellent course! I already knew a lot about R - but this class helped me solidify what I already knew, taught me lots of new tricks, and now I have a certificate that says I know `something' about R!

JM

Aug 11, 2019

Very challenging, but good course. I've been programming in R for over a year, but there were still some things for me to pick up in this class. Assignments were a challenge, but satisfying to tackle.

Filter by:

4326 - 4350 of 4,596 Reviews for R Programming

By Meredith C H

May 24, 2018

The material and practice exercises were do-able, the programming assignments were way too complicated given the depth of the material that was covered.

By Norman H

Feb 12, 2017

Very poor lecture support for the assignments. So much was not covered at all during the lectures that the assignments were extremely time consuming.

By Andries L

Sep 20, 2016

The course content and the assignments are too far apart. I would have learned more if it was better aligned and there were some exercise in between.

By Victoria M

Mar 8, 2016

This course is not at all beginner friendly, really hard to follow the assignments and the lectures if you do not have a programming or R background.

By Yash P

Aug 23, 2020

The teaching and the assignment are not on the same levels. The assignmnet contains contains concepts which are not taught in it's respective course

By Yuze Y

Dec 28, 2016

The videos do not adequately prepare the students of the programming assignments.

The instructor should provide more support regarding the homework.

By Phuong A V

Jul 26, 2020

The programming is quire hard. It is very difficult to apply the knowledge from the lecture videos and the book resources to finish the assignment

By Stephanie B

Apr 17, 2020

The gap between the lectures and swirl, and the assignments was much too large. It was hard to transition between the lectures and the assignments

By Faraz S

Jun 11, 2020

Assignments are difficult, very much coding experience required. Will recommend to subscribe courses on programminghub, codecademy and codecamp.

By Jason B

Jun 4, 2016

Way too much way too fast. Not sure how I would make it better, but I felt like I was learning from googling more than from the course.

By Frank D S

Jul 28, 2019

Good presentation, but the jump between course materials and assignments is too great for people that are very new to R/programming.

By Deleted A

Oct 28, 2016

R is a good to know tool, but so many of these process are automated now. You can do this quite easily in XLS or SPSS in most cases.

By William L

Aug 22, 2019

My review comments can be found in the surveymonkey response survey. To summarise: I would not recommend this course to others.

By Hideyuki T

May 3, 2018

There seems logical jump from the lecture/exercise and quiz. Lots of time required to self-learn new things on other websites.

By Shanmuga P

Dec 12, 2017

no detailed explanation, everything is left to Assignments

expected some more contents with programming examples in the Videos

By Steve H

Jul 18, 2017

very hard if you don't have any existing skills in R and the assignments are often not connected to the content of each course

By Mercy M

Sep 10, 2018

A very steep learning course for beginners, I had to take other introductory R courses on DataCamp to go through this course.

By Kevin W

Mar 1, 2016

The videos were helpful, but too fast. Not a lot of time is spent on any of the functions of F. Swirl helps but not a lot.

By Shreyas A

May 17, 2020

It's very difficult to crack weekly assignments. As examples taken while teaching the functions are not comprehensible.

By Michael P

Dec 11, 2016

Had potential, but exercises and quizzes do not align with content taught by professor. This is not a beginners course!

By Karanvir S

Mar 17, 2020

The pedology used here does not interest a learner. It seems as if the instructor is just reading through the slides.

By zezhi

May 1, 2016

The lecture is too general. Not a courser for beginners. But if your are not a beginner, you won't need this, so…

By Kevin M T

May 16, 2021

There's no connection between the assignments given and the lecture being taught. So many contexts are missing.

By Chris D

Dec 23, 2017

Not for the faint of heart. Extremely difficult and not for beginners. If U pass U will have learned alot...IF

By David B

Aug 13, 2018

Disjointed and not cohesive. Start with the basics and build from there. The assignments are a waste of time.