Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
21,069 ratings
4,532 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

EJ
Jul 11, 2016

Excellent course! I already knew a lot about R - but this class helped me solidify what I already knew, taught me lots of new tricks, and now I have a certificate that says I know `something' about R!

WH
Feb 2, 2016

"R Programming" forces you to dive in deep.\n\nThese skills serve as a strong basis for the rest of the data science specialization.\n\nMaterial is in depth, but presented clearly. Highly recommended!

Filter by:

4376 - 4400 of 4,433 Reviews for R Programming

By George J

Jul 16, 2020

The instructions were not satisfactory, and there is a large gap between the assignment and the skills taught.

By Ben W

May 15, 2016

This course was so convoluted and not practical that it made me lose complete interest in the specialization.

By Tristan I

Jun 12, 2020

Fix the assignments so they match the course content. This is unfair to the people who pay for this service.

By Casey B

Feb 3, 2018

This course presumes you are a programmer to begin with. I tried to take the class to learn how to program.

By Jonathan N

Nov 18, 2016

Assignments do not match up well with the lessons and the lessons are BAD. They are not educational.

By Rishi R

Jun 27, 2017

Too much of a jump from the previous course. Exercises much too complex relative to the lessons.

By Joan S

Feb 11, 2016

You can't do assignments using the lecture materials. Need A LOT of time to finish this course.

By Jostein B

Mar 30, 2017

There is a huge disconnect between the lectures and what is asked in the homework assignments.

By Juan M O

Sep 15, 2020

Gap between the theory and the practical assignment is huge. For a beginner is not an option!

By p a t

Jul 7, 2020

This course is not for beginner. If you look for beginner course for R, look else where.

By todhm@nate.com

Apr 10, 2016

Actually I feel like i'm reading the instruction manual without knowing useful skills

By zhimin

Feb 6, 2021

The assignment is too hard. There is a big gap between the assignment and the lecture

By Stéphane P

Feb 26, 2016

It's good introduction, but the assignment are rather poor. Not worth paying for it

By Thomas Y

Jan 14, 2020

Doesn't teach many functions that are related to how to solve the question at hand

By avdesh s

Apr 1, 2016

In Lectures rate of speech is really fast and in some presentations are not clear

By L. R B

Oct 12, 2016

There is a disconnect between the video lectures and the assignments/quizzes.

By Adanna G A

Mar 1, 2016

Assignments not always in line with lecture.

Material is above beginner level.

By Holly N

Mar 16, 2021

Extremely frustrating course - huge gaps between lectures and assignments.

By Gamze M

Apr 16, 2017

the assignments were very hard to understand. the course videos were poor.

By Mohd Z A K

Apr 28, 2020

They taught lower-level programming and assignments are very high-level.

By MD. A Z

Jul 5, 2020

Lessons that were tought had almost nothing to do with the assignments

By DarrenWu

May 19, 2016

Why should I waste my time listening to someone reading a book to me...

By Ian H

Apr 12, 2018

Terribly designed course!!! Better off paying far less for Data Camp!

By Poonam S

Dec 28, 2017

Not very intuitive videos. Swirl is the only best part of this course

By Carolina R

Sep 20, 2020

It's impossible if you don't have previous programming experience.