Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
21,421 ratings
4,643 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

EJ
Jul 11, 2016

Excellent course! I already knew a lot about R - but this class helped me solidify what I already knew, taught me lots of new tricks, and now I have a certificate that says I know `something' about R!

MR
May 11, 2020

Really interesting course. The interactive coding sessions with swirl are especially useful. Would be great, if you provided sample solutions for the programming assignments, in particular for week 4.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 4,546 Reviews for R Programming

By Ankit S

Jan 20, 2019

It's great to learn it from here. However, for beginner like me, it was a pretty complicated while doing the assignments. But, thanks anyways for the teachings.

By Waleed A

Apr 8, 2017

An excellent course to get to know the basics of R programming. The practice material and the assignments really instill the material being taught in your mind.

By Nelson S S

Oct 25, 2020

Thank you very much for everything you learned.

It is these difficult times of the Pandemic. Thank you very much for your generosity in sharing your knowledge.

By Eric T

Apr 3, 2020

Assessments always seem a bit more challenging than initially expected and the learning continues. Assessments are not of the 'check the box' type. Well done.

By Dongjin L

Mar 2, 2019

Everything was perfect, a good start to get to know about programming and data science. By the way, the assignments are a bit too hard for beginners like me.

By Yusuf E

Nov 25, 2017

Solid introduction to R Programming. Assignments took many hours to complete but in the end it was all worth it. Looking forward to Getting and Cleaning Data.

By Sothiro P

Oct 22, 2017

Excellent class with the right level of difficulty and some challenging assignments. I like that it's only 4 weeks long and gives an overview of the language.

By Marty G

Jan 27, 2016

Great class, plenty of resources to find help. The resources are great especially since the class is only 4 weeks long. It really helped me to stay caught up.

By Russ B

Nov 24, 2020

This was a very challenging and rewarding introduction to the R programming language. I highly recommend this course for anyone in the data analytics field.

By Mohamed I

Oct 13, 2020

This course so was amazing, it opens new orders, but the most important thing is to apply and play around swirl programming which fun and friendly practices.

By Dan N

Sep 11, 2020

Very informative, and covers the basics of R quite well. The assignments cover the material well and provide for ample opportunity to experiment with R code.

By Sachin A

Jul 20, 2020

The course is too good. Beyond my expectations. It includes more like hand on training that I have never seen before. I suggest everyone to take this course.

By Shri P S

Aug 2, 2017

Good beginners course for learning R. I like the course design, Assignment and online collaboration on the forum!!. Its is very effective if done seriously.

By Christoph J

Jul 29, 2017

Really great course with good lectures. The assignments are harder than what you'e expect from the lectures but guess that's part of the learning experience.

By Chandan

Oct 21, 2016

It was a great course with great practice exercises, which helped me a lot to understand all the concepts as well as implemented them in an efficient manner.

By AKSHAY A K

Apr 18, 2020

Great explanation and progression enabled me to gain confidence in R programming. I had the opportunity to gain a new skill during this quarantine period :)

By Ayna M

Jan 4, 2018

I found this course challenging but very interesting and useful! Still in the dark mostly about the true purpose of lexical scoping in practical situations.

By Prathamesh

May 21, 2017

Swirl exercises are simply brilliant! Perhaps you can add more challenging problems

The assignments push you to research, which I think is a major plus point

By Naiyan C

Apr 2, 2017

The course content was well delivered. Assignments were challenging but very useful to help get the learner up to speed with programming on R independently.

By Artsiom R

Sep 23, 2016

It's very interesting course, what give you a basics of R programming language. The most interesting was the last programming assignment with real data set.

By Shashwat T

Apr 25, 2020

This course, R Programming, challenges the learner to solve problems very aggressively. Instructors are amazing, and the post-course content is remarkable.

By Greg V

Jan 24, 2019

Great course! R syntax can be tricky, and it often took a bit of googling and experimentation to complete the exercises. But I also learned a lot doing so.

By Vitalii S

Jul 20, 2017

I am working as BI and using R almost every day.Thank you for this course.

I can say that it very powerful tool for data analysis, especially big datasets.

By Hugo H

Apr 18, 2016

This class was really good. Coincidentally I was struggling with this type of code. The case is challenging but very well delivered. The material is great.

By Matt S

Oct 16, 2018

Excellent course. May be difficult for individuals with little to no programming experience. The programming assignments are fun and will teach you a lot!