Chevron Left
Back to The Raspberry Pi Platform and Python Programming for the Raspberry Pi

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Raspberry Pi Platform and Python Programming for the Raspberry Pi by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
2,549 ratings
444 reviews

About the Course

The Raspberry Pi is a small, affordable single-board computer that you will use to design and develop fun and practical IoT devices while learning programming and computer hardware. In addition, you will learn how to set up up the Raspberry Pi environment, get a Linux operating system running, and write and execute some basic Python code on the Raspberry Pi. You will also learn how to use Python-based IDE (integrated development environments) for the Raspberry Pi and how to trace and debug Python code on the device. Please note that this course does not include discussion forums....

Top reviews

GB
Mar 8, 2018

Extremely helpful if you want to start using Raspberry Pi. Gives you the required knowledge to kickstart your Raspberry Pi learning and you get a hint of python programming as well which is useful

JP
Apr 27, 2017

It was very good, all the basics about python and the raspberry pi platform. I would like if you publish a book to read about the topics, for example I have been reading the book "Think Python".

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 434 Reviews for The Raspberry Pi Platform and Python Programming for the Raspberry Pi

By SAMALA N K R

Jul 10, 2018

good

By KOPPU H V

Jul 9, 2018

NICE

By patnam s

Jul 8, 2018

good

By Marala S S

Jul 5, 2018

Good

By DUGGU K S

Jul 5, 2018

Good

By K B D P

Jul 2, 2018

nice

By Pasupu P

Jun 26, 2018

Good

By G.Aswani

Jun 25, 2018

Good

By Tungala R

Jun 20, 2018

good

By s r

May 13, 2018

good

By Pieter G

Sep 12, 2017

Good

By Prasanna P M

Dec 27, 2016

Nice

By Emmanuel C

Jun 26, 2016

nice

By Abdul H M

Dec 22, 2017

g

By Rudolf M

Aug 10, 2016

Nice course, but could be better supported.

Video: On Programs on whiteboard several wrong syntax (UC/LC writing)

Better: Not just there's the doc on web - study it - rather point on important things on doc and make tests.

End of week 4: Second link to program is missing, when making peer review, everyone can learn so much from each other.

Pi Hardware: I missed awfully electric characteristics on GPIO. Looking on the web, anyone was talking about this matter (max. 50mA total all outputs, max. 3-16mA ?? each...). A little electronics guide how to dimension LED resistors and pullups / pullsdowns and how to drive relais would be nice. Many student know surely less about electronics, but to interact with IoT it is nessecary.

Coursera: Not on all platforms (iPad i.e.) you can make positive comments when reviewing.

By Alec K

Dec 25, 2015

Although I missed the input of TAs, mentors and the Professor and didn't find the generalised thread as useful as the classic Coursera forums I still found the course to be interesting. As with the Arduino course I found the Demos to be the best part. I'm hoping I'll learn a lot in the second RPi interfacing course. I think it would be especially good if the RPi and the Arduino were connected in the next or some later course. I think also that some interaction between the Professor and the material on the presentation would enhance the lessons. What I enjoyed most was actually writing the programs and getting the circuits to work.

By Ranganath E

Dec 21, 2015

So far good. I really like the "smaller detail without too much detail" approach. The RaspberryPi is easy to master given excellent support by the Pi Foundation but then there is little too much to access. This course kind of streamlines what one needs to know. I have been using the Pi since 2 months but already feeling more confident thanks to this course and I have just finished only Module 1.

By My N

Sep 15, 2016

I am a newbie with R.Pi so this course help me a lot in the studying process with R.Pi. I gain many new interesting knowledge.

I wish the learner could take the quizzes and know the results without upgrade, that would be better. I agree once the learner need to print the results and some official certificate, so need to upgrade.

By Unity W

Sep 12, 2019

I had already completed assignment. But due to your recommendation of resetting timelines, my whole study is now shown as null in the website. Pls generate my certificate as I have already done this course. Why the timeline has been completely changed!

Very disgusting! Kindly generate my certificate as soon as possible!!

By Jeff R

Aug 15, 2016

Good course, but I expected something a little more detailed and to last a little longer. The videos were good, but w little long for the amount of content that they contained. For instance, a few videos could be compressed to the size of one video and still contain the relevant content.

By Egidijus Š

Jan 11, 2016

I liked this course. There were no alternatives of the course covering such subject before and I am glad of appearance of this course. I rated it 4 stars, because there still is space for course improvement, but I recommend very strongly to attend it if you are interested in subject.

By Sergey L

Oct 9, 2017

A very good introductory course on using Raspberry Pi with Python. The only drawback for me is that in the course a lot of time is given to using Raspberry Pi as a desktop with a monitor, keyboard and graphical interface, and not as an IoT device.

By Jocelo

Jan 6, 2016

Since it's the penultimate course of the certification, I expected to contain more practice projects. It's the only downside from my opinion. Course material is excellent, and instructor knows what he is talking about.

By Prashanth R

Apr 13, 2020

Good Introduction to both platforms:

Raspberry Pi

Python

Nice and simple teaching however, I didn't prefer the peer evaluation as my certificate would be delayed by their submission.

By DAVID I R

Mar 9, 2017

Content is interesting, even the Twitter section (which looks unrelated to the main goal of the course). Some classes were recorded using Python 2 while the course targets Python 3.