Chevron Left
Back to Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees by University of Minnesota

4.7
stars
3,144 ratings
755 reviews

About the Course

Finding and hiring the right people is often cited as the number one concern of businesses today. It seems we are all competing for the best and brightest workers. As you will see in our time together in the second course, a critical component of the People Manager Value Proposition is to hire talented people who enable the organization to achieve its strategic goals. This course is an introduction into the topic of recruitment, selection and onboarding. At the outset of the course we will explore the importance of linking recruitment goals with overall company strategy. We then look at a number of options to recruit and select employees both effectively and legally. Throughout the course we will examine current issues in talent acquisition, such as how companies are now leveraging social media and hiring analytics to ensure better quality hires. At the conclusion of the course, we look at how to onboard employees to promote employee commitment and engagement....

Top reviews

KM
Nov 25, 2020

Great course to learn the theoretical background of HR management through practical applications. I highly recommend this course. Thank you all for the immense support provided throughout the course.

SB
Sep 7, 2017

It was amazing. Thoroughly enjoyed the entire bit of this course. Very interactive. Took a lot from this course. Very happy. Hoping to enroll for more courses in future. Thanks once again Coursera.

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 764 Reviews for Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees

By Maher A M

Mar 30, 2019

The course is great, gave me a great knowledge about the selecting process, but only onboarding part was kind of boring since i felt i am listening to radio and was not really engaged enough but still i have got very useful info.

By Pedro C C

Apr 29, 2019

The quality of the videos and the sound is really not good. Comparing to the other courses in the series this one really puts the bar down. When the instructor starts the videos is basically impossible to hear her.

By MELISSIDOU E

Nov 22, 2020

The first teacher didn't like very much. Some of her questions in the quizzes were not so important to make them countable. Her presentations were not so good.

The second teacher was ok.

By Avradip S

Aug 9, 2016

On later parts the videos are poorly edited and less interactive. In one place practice quiz has wrong answer marked as right. (Whether it's a situational question or behavioral).

By SHERY T A

Nov 22, 2016

Good course.However the initial part ,that is recruiting hiring portion could have been conducted in a better manner.It felt as if the lecturer was reading out from a text book.

By Rita A F C

Apr 8, 2020

It was good, particularly when it came to onboarding. However, the course is from 2016 so some examples, particularly when it comes to technology are a bit outdated.

By ABHAY R

Dec 20, 2020

It was not as good as the first module. The presentation did not have the graphics as it was in the first course. However, the content of the course was amazing!

By Nayeli H P

Sep 26, 2016

It is a good general overview about recruiting, but I would like more information about staff planning as well, how to forecast the workforce needs.

By Ezza T K

Feb 17, 2020

It is a good course and gives a detailed view. But I feel it would be better if more practical examples are shared with scenarios

By Jennifer H

Mar 31, 2020

Interesting course. However, have to say that the course content and presentation is slightly on the dry side....

By iolanda m

Mar 26, 2020

Not very useful,

if you have two years on the job experience even in small retail company you don't need it.

By Mário B

Jan 25, 2021

The knowledge behind and the teachers were very compreensive but the videos were badly edited and cropped.

By Liujin Y

Feb 19, 2020

I really disliked this course, especially the way she teaches, suffering when I'm studying!!!!!!

By Leo S

May 9, 2019

Production and audio/video quality is not as good as the first course in this specialization.

By Tabita I

Dec 2, 2019

Not as good as I have expected, not as much information, a little superficial.

By Hesham S E F

Jun 5, 2019

there is no Arabic language available with this course

By Nazish S

Mar 23, 2020

too lengthy and bore

By SUBBARAO A N

Apr 12, 2018

A bit of a let down!

By Anupama S

May 15, 2020

Good

By Catherine H

Aug 1, 2019

This course wasn't as good as the first one in the HR specialization, Preparing to Manage Human Resources. The quality of the videos was poor, with the introductions being almost impossible to hear and then the following fragment very loud. The videos were interrupted at weird places, in the middle of a sentence for example, for in-video quizzes and there were other unfinished sentences and lost of long breaks. The instructor spoke in a monotonous voice and didn't use many tools to make it more interesting. I found it difficult not to get distracted - the total opposite of the Preparing to Manage Human Resources course.

The quizzes included many questions that weren't discussed in the videos, or sometimes even marked answers as wrong while the video clearly said it was the right answer. Also, in case of a wrong answer, it didn't say afterwards which should've been the right answer, just that it was wrong. How are you supposed to learn from you mistakes this way?

The course gave some suggested reading, however it only gave a link to the homepage of a website. It would've been helpful to get suggestions on interesting articles or pages on the website, or at least mention why this website is relevant.

One of the videos included a link to a YouTube video, which was an interesting video but the course said it would only take 10 minutes while the video lasts over an hour.

Finally, I'd suggest to get a quality check on peer review assignments. I spent quite some time on my assignment and on reviewing others, including constructive feedback even in cases where I thought the quality of the work was poor. In most cases I just received a grade back from other peers, or in the best case a rushed comment saying 'great work'. This doesn't feel rewarding and I wonder what's the point of taking this course if the quality is not monitored.

Overall, I found the contents of HR management interesting but the course disappointing.

By Matjaz

Apr 6, 2020

Took this course and although Amy seems like a very pleasant person, the course doesn't quite live up to the expectations:1. There's a lot of general theory but very little practical cases how to actually use it and a lot of information is very vague. For instance: "if it's cold outside, dress in a way you won't be cold." Well, if course I want to dress warm, but the information I would expect to get is: what types of materials to use (wool, cotton, polyester...), what type of gloves to wear, which socks to use, how to layer the clothes so I get the best effect. And this is the biggest problem of the course, giving us obvious information but little information with any added value.2. A lot of story telling (refers to #1), which again, is harder to use in practical work situation.3. Quite a big part of the course refers specifically to the American legislation and practices. I understand it's an American University but judging by some other courses, this could be done with less emphasis.4. Outdated additional readings and listenings. Using old sources (i.e. referring to almost 20 years old articles). Sometimes links to certain examples of good practice don't even work anymore because they're so outdated and companies replaced the content with something else.Like I wrote in beginning - Amy seems really nice and all this topic has potential, but the outcome is really not so great. But maybe if you would revise it and bring it up to date, it would make a great course!

By JIA N

Jun 2, 2020

I am not satisfied with the course at all. Firstly the recording. It is observed multiple times that the first 50 secs of a video was recorded poorly - the audio volume recorded was so low that it was not audible.

Secondly, the content. The slides were blunt. Many times the entire slide is just one big title or a few bullet points. I might as well just read the transcript.

The quiz is not well designed. The questions are literally trying to test the recency of you watching the video. There is a question which asks you to choose the right percentage of something from four options! It is not even a fact that is worth to remember! Many other questions are simply true/false questions, which does not require you to apply what you learned from the lecture but rather remember what you have watched.

Even for the lecture itself, the lecturer gave absolute statements without qualifying it or combining it with sufficient contexts, which is off-putting. For instance, one of her opinions is, "whenever you can, hire internally". She gave reasons such as boosting morale, less hiring costs etc. These are true reasons but "whenever you can" gives the absoluteness and it is ambiguous (how do you define can/cannot?)

I feel pretty upset after going thru the first two weeks of content and just don't want to waste my time any more.

By Adrienne C

Aug 12, 2019

This course seemed much less thought out than the other courses in this specialization. The slides were lacking, with only one or two words on a slide while the professor rambled on for minutes at a time. Dead air randomly through every video made it seem like no one had bothered to review these before posting them online. The random splicing of in-lecture quizzes seemed like an after thought, especially because they were typically quizzing on something that hadn't yet been addressed.

The other courses in this specialization have been fantastically put together, and if this were the first course I had attempted, I probably wouldn't have bothered with the specialization as a whole.

By Julie L

Apr 10, 2020

Very basic and outdated content. This course teaches the basics of how Hiring and Onboarding were done 15 years ago. It does not mention the new innovative methods that Best companies use today. It barely mentions the new A.I.-driven and/or video-based technologies available today to look for a job or how to hiring Millennials. Good if you don't know anything about Hiring at all (like what are the steps: phone call, interview, background checks, etc.)