Chevron Left
Back to Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees by University of Minnesota

4.7
stars
3,516 ratings
835 reviews

About the Course

Finding and hiring the right people is often cited as the number one concern of businesses today. It seems we are all competing for the best and brightest workers. As you will see in our time together in the second course, a critical component of the People Manager Value Proposition is to hire talented people who enable the organization to achieve its strategic goals. This course is an introduction into the topic of recruitment, selection and onboarding. At the outset of the course we will explore the importance of linking recruitment goals with overall company strategy. We then look at a number of options to recruit and select employees both effectively and legally. Throughout the course we will examine current issues in talent acquisition, such as how companies are now leveraging social media and hiring analytics to ensure better quality hires. At the conclusion of the course, we look at how to onboard employees to promote employee commitment and engagement....

Top reviews

KM

Nov 25, 2020

Great course to learn the theoretical background of HR management through practical applications. I highly recommend this course. Thank you all for the immense support provided throughout the course.

SB

Sep 7, 2017

It was amazing. Thoroughly enjoyed the entire bit of this course. Very interactive. Took a lot from this course. Very happy. Hoping to enroll for more courses in future. Thanks once again Coursera.

Filter by:

801 - 825 of 846 Reviews for Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees

By Alessandra G

May 4, 2017

It was interesting, but sometimes confusing (i.e. I experienced more than one that questions posed would not find answers in the videos, or they were not well phrased).

The notes approach (hand writing on the tablet?) was not the best choice maybe, the other courses on the specialization were more schematic and clear.

By Shawna H

Oct 13, 2021

The content was interesting and good... the execution of the course was problematic. Awkward edits and pauses, questions on the quiz that weren't accurate (and often unclear) in regards to the information presented. The formatting of some of the quizzes were problematic. The execution of the course was sloppy.

By Troy H

Oct 27, 2021

The course was filled with great basic material, it only lacked greater specifics regarding the topic. I also noticed that this course was possibly created in 2016. If this is correct, it would be rather engaging for a discussion with you to date emphasis where applicable

By Maher A M

Mar 30, 2019

The course is great, gave me a great knowledge about the selecting process, but only onboarding part was kind of boring since i felt i am listening to radio and was not really engaged enough but still i have got very useful info.

By Pedro C C

Apr 29, 2019

The quality of the videos and the sound is really not good. Comparing to the other courses in the series this one really puts the bar down. When the instructor starts the videos is basically impossible to hear her.

By MELISSIDOU E

Nov 22, 2020

The first teacher didn't like very much. Some of her questions in the quizzes were not so important to make them countable. Her presentations were not so good.

The second teacher was ok.

By Arinze-Oforka A C

May 22, 2022

please why am i still getting 60% in my graded after several attempt. I think there is a problem somewhere. Please help me rectify it so i can continue with my learning speed. clease

By Avradip S

Aug 9, 2016

On later parts the videos are poorly edited and less interactive. In one place practice quiz has wrong answer marked as right. (Whether it's a situational question or behavioral).

By SHERY T A

Nov 22, 2016

Good course.However the initial part ,that is recruiting hiring portion could have been conducted in a better manner.It felt as if the lecturer was reading out from a text book.

By Rita A F C

Apr 8, 2020

It was good, particularly when it came to onboarding. However, the course is from 2016 so some examples, particularly when it comes to technology are a bit outdated.

By ABHAY R

Dec 20, 2020

It was not as good as the first module. The presentation did not have the graphics as it was in the first course. However, the content of the course was amazing!

By Nayeli H P

Sep 26, 2016

It is a good general overview about recruiting, but I would like more information about staff planning as well, how to forecast the workforce needs.

By Ezza T K

Feb 17, 2020

It is a good course and gives a detailed view. But I feel it would be better if more practical examples are shared with scenarios

By Sophia G

May 15, 2022

Please, a more size-bite lessons! Overall it was a fun course, very informative & the instructor was good! Thanks!

By Jennifer H

Mar 31, 2020

Interesting course. However, have to say that the course content and presentation is slightly on the dry side....

By iolanda m

Mar 26, 2020

Not very useful,

if you have two years on the job experience even in small retail company you don't need it.

By Mário B

Jan 25, 2021

The knowledge behind and the teachers were very compreensive but the videos were badly edited and cropped.

By Liujin Y

Feb 19, 2020

I really disliked this course, especially the way she teaches, suffering when I'm studying!!!!!!

By Leo S

May 9, 2019

Production and audio/video quality is not as good as the first course in this specialization.

By Tabita I

Dec 2, 2019

Not as good as I have expected, not as much information, a little superficial.

By Hesham S E F

Jun 5, 2019

there is no Arabic language available with this course

By Nazish S

Mar 23, 2020

too lengthy and bore

By SUBBARAO A N

Apr 12, 2018

A bit of a let down!

By Anupama S

May 15, 2020

Good