Chevron Left
Back to Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees by University of Minnesota

4.7
stars
4,355 ratings

About the Course

Finding and hiring the right people is often cited as the number one concern of businesses today. It seems we are all competing for the best and brightest workers. As you will see in our time together in the second course, a critical component of the People Manager Value Proposition is to hire talented people who enable the organization to achieve its strategic goals. This course is an introduction into the topic of recruitment, selection and onboarding. At the outset of the course we will explore the importance of linking recruitment goals with overall company strategy. We then look at a number of options to recruit and select employees both effectively and legally. Throughout the course we will examine current issues in talent acquisition, such as how companies are now leveraging social media and hiring analytics to ensure better quality hires. At the conclusion of the course, we look at how to onboard employees to promote employee commitment and engagement....

Top reviews

KM

Nov 25, 2020

Great course to learn the theoretical background of HR management through practical applications. I highly recommend this course. Thank you all for the immense support provided throughout the course.

SB

Sep 7, 2017

It was amazing. Thoroughly enjoyed the entire bit of this course. Very interactive. Took a lot from this course. Very happy. Hoping to enroll for more courses in future. Thanks once again Coursera.

Filter by:

851 - 875 of 1,065 Reviews for Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees

By Ali I A A

Aug 6, 2022

OK

By Jismah M A

Jun 26, 2022

-

By Yadavalli C

Aug 25, 2023

By SHIVATARSHAN T

Nov 22, 2022

.

By نجاح م س ا

Aug 21, 2022

.

By Yeganeh G

Jun 29, 2022

.

By Quentin E

Jun 3, 2022

By Juliana A M

Apr 23, 2022

By ASHLY S

Dec 7, 2020

I

By IMDR201921 - D (

Nov 30, 2020

.

By Aysha A

Aug 9, 2020

g

By Mohita R

Jul 6, 2020

e

By manishkumar s

Jun 17, 2020

g

By Danilo V

Jun 5, 2018

I

By Nikki N

Apr 21, 2017

I

By Todd E

Apr 5, 2021

Gave me the overview of recruiting and hiring that I was looking for. It's conceived as introductory course, so it provides a basic introduction. I appreciate that it's informed by a methodology and that the instructor emphasizes the need to align recruiting to organizational strategy. My only criticism is the area of sourcing - I know that so much sourcing is done through job aggregators and online resources, and the course didn't really address Applicant Tracking Systems until Module 3. The Sourcing module (Module 2) came off at times as a little too simplistic. As far as I'm aware, many larger organizations today have distinct roles - sourcer vs. recruiter, i.e. recruiters aren't really doing the sourcing.

By Rene V

Mar 16, 2020

Good information; will definitely learn something even if already doing.

I gave it a 4 stars because before each topic, the instructor comes on and gives a brief intro to set the stage for the topics about to be discussed. The sound quality in these intros were not good. I could barely hear the instructor talking. I would have to turn the volume way up to hear her. Once the powerpoint started, her voiceover would be so loud that I would be blasted once she started talking again. I'd have to remember to turn down the volume before the PowerPoint slides started. That was just a minor hassle.

By Ekaterina

Apr 7, 2020

I really like this course and the information provided! It will help to select, recruit and onboard the employees. Tasks were interesting and I especially like to see other students' reviews, as it gives you a lot of good and bad examples, I wrote down some ideas from there!

The thing why I do not give 5, is that sometimes I felt that some questions in tests were not that obvious of the course, but it happened just maybe 2 times. Also, some things were about US law, while the course audience is very international. But it was also just once, so generally, I am happy with the course!

By Gina

Oct 9, 2021

The course was interesting for beginners and the lectures were easy to follow with real case examples. I would prefer to have assignments graded by a professional but obviously not feasible for such a low cost programme. Peer-graded assignments were a challenge not because they were difficult but I found many learners not taking their assignments seriously and were basically submitting things that were irrelevant (assignments for other courses, blank submissions etc) and I couldn't learn much for others. I imagine that this must be a common problem for other courses as well.

By Quang Q B L

Jul 19, 2023

The "Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees" course on Coursera was an invaluable learning experience. It provided comprehensive insights into the recruitment process, from strategic planning to candidate onboarding. The instructors' expertise and real-world examples made the course engaging and practical. I especially appreciated the focus on ethical considerations and diversity in hiring, making it a well-rounded and relevant course for today's HR practices. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in talent acquisition and human resources management.

By Emma C

Apr 9, 2020

The instructor was great as was the content! However, I'm giving the course 4 stars because there are a number of tech issues/mistakes - particularly in week 3 - that really detract from what the instructor is saying. There are issues with volume level and editing (cut too close or too much silence) throughout. The content order seems off in week 3 and there's a fair bit of repetition in it. It's a real shame because the content and the instructor really are great, but I expected better quality videos.

By Līga Ā

Jun 11, 2020

The course itself, the information was interesting and useful, but several times questions in quizzes where confusing and weird, it felt like they don't belong there and can't be answered using the learning material. Also the last assignment, in my opinion, was lacking information and details about the case described and that we were supposed to analyse - this assignment was very theoretical and, I think, it should be changed to something more practical.

By Amado D

Jan 12, 2023

The lesson is great and the instructor is really well knowledgeable on the lesson. However, the audio needs to be on the same level throughout the course. I feel that when there is a recorded audio segment from the instructor's office/home, it is very low that is hard to hear, even with earphones/headphones on, compared to the lesson audio. Otherwise, this course was very well put together.

By Manya W

May 19, 2020

Both instructors are fabulous professors. The individual who designed the curriculum did not effectively connect the dots to the presentation. When taking tests, the curriculum was not in sync with the questions on the presentation. I highly recommend this course to anyone seeking continued education. I am a 40+ year HR professional yet still acquired new information.

By Tony M

May 15, 2022

Overall good material and good instructors. I took off a point for audio issues in Professor Falank's lectures, low quality of reading materials, and general course rigor. Discussion questions were optional and the general quality of the peer reviewed assignments was abysmal. More rigor needs to be instituted to protect the prestige of the credential.