Chevron Left
Back to Regression Models

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Regression Models by Johns Hopkins University

4.4
stars
3,228 ratings
549 reviews

About the Course

Linear models, as their name implies, relates an outcome to a set of predictors of interest using linear assumptions. Regression models, a subset of linear models, are the most important statistical analysis tool in a data scientist’s toolkit. This course covers regression analysis, least squares and inference using regression models. Special cases of the regression model, ANOVA and ANCOVA will be covered as well. Analysis of residuals and variability will be investigated. The course will cover modern thinking on model selection and novel uses of regression models including scatterplot smoothing....

Top reviews

KA
Dec 16, 2017

Excellent course that is jam-packed with useful material! It is quite challenging and gives a thorough grounding in how to approach the process of selecting a linear regression model for a data set.

BA
Jan 31, 2017

It really helped me to have a better understanding of these Regression Models. However, I've noticed that there is a video recording repeated: Week 3, Model Selection. Part 3 is included in Part 2.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 529 Reviews for Regression Models

By Andrew W

Feb 20, 2018

Great subject, was a bit frustrated with some of the material (seemed rushed and not well prepared). Great assignment, but too restrictive on the max number of pages allowed. Wasted a lot of time.

By Diego C

May 4, 2019

Very good course. Though basic, it provides you with the first tools and knowledge. The forums aren't what they used to be it seems, but you can find almost any answer there from past courses.

By Andrew W

Apr 5, 2018

Very good at presenting basic concepts. I highly reccomend saving the quiz questions as a good guide as to what you should know. I wish there were more material on generalized linear models.

By Arturo M K

Dec 10, 2016

I was hoping to learn about PROBIT models. I know they are very similar to LOGIT ones, but still... the pace is a little bit too fast and I think it requires more time than what it says.

By Bill K

Feb 10, 2016

This was a tough class covering a lot of material. The last week on logistic regression completely lost me. If you're new to stats like me you might want to take it more than once.

By Manny R

Mar 22, 2019

Really Fun Course. There is a lot to learn in this topic and this could be studied for a lifetime. I feel like I could apply this to discover solutions for issues at work.

By Vlad V

Apr 20, 2018

Good course, worth taking. It points out the importance of looking deeper into the world of regression models and creates right mindset and anchors for future development.

By Samirou T

May 26, 2018

I appreciate coefficients interpretation and variance influence to choose among models.

Running code takes a few seconds, understanding the model's outputs is a much hard

By David J B

Feb 19, 2019

Probably the most conceptually challenging and practically useful course in the JH data science certification series (so far... I have a few more courses to complete).

By Fernando L B d M

Sep 29, 2017

This time the professor Brian Caffo was more helpfull, explained better the concepts, and sometimes repeated some of the most important information... Good course!

By Nora M

Dec 1, 2017

Good course for basic regression. Would have enjoyed more time spent on properly interpreting results and how they are relevant to answering business questions.

By Roopak M

Sep 10, 2018

Nice course that helps make your foundations in regression modelling strong. The complexity of the course project can be increased to a more difficult level.

By Polina

Jun 29, 2018

This course is a practical introduction to the regression models. Materials and organization are great, however slides and presentations require some work.

By Martina H

Aug 19, 2016

Good course. My only negative remark is that I really missed the swirl exercises that were available for the other courses of this specialization.

By Talant R

Oct 24, 2016

Great course to learn various regression models and "R" tools to implement them efficiently, but

was little hard to keep with the deadline.

By Jim B

Apr 27, 2017

Some lab work (swirl()) did not match the material presentation order. Essential coursework delivered at a blistering pace. Good Stuff.

By Mohamed T

Mar 19, 2018

Great course, learned a lot. The only point is that I was hoping to learn more about general linear models and its applications.

By Andrew

May 15, 2019

Great introduction to regression models. A ton packed into the class. Be ready to be challenged, but you'll learn a lot.

By Pieter v d V

Jun 12, 2018

Useful information about regression models, but to really understand the math you have to do a lot of googling yourself.

By Federico A V R

Sep 13, 2017

Would love to see more hands on practical explanations rather tan mostly slides.

Content is great though!

By Brian F

Aug 15, 2017

This a challenging course, overall I think it was good, but the material could be a bit better presented.

By Chonlatit P

Aug 18, 2018

Love this course. teach me to understand Linear Regression more, especially swirl class is great.

By Shakti P S

Feb 29, 2016

Good course. Prof. Caffo is a great teacher! Hope to see an advanced version of RegMods soon!

By Freddie K

Jul 9, 2017

Really good! All the pieces from the previous courses start to come together into a whole.

By Billy J

Apr 7, 2016

Videos were very difficult to follow along with. Overall, I learned a good amount though.