Chevron Left
Back to How to Manage a Remote Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for How to Manage a Remote Team by GitLab

4.8
stars
590 ratings
208 reviews

About the Course

Remote management is much more than just implementing a work-from-home policy. In this course, you’ll learn and apply remote work best practices, build your remote work policy, and prepare your team for success. This course is ideal for current managers, executives, and human resources professionals who want to learn how to lead and support a high-functioning, scalable remote team. GitLab is one of the world’s largest all-remote organizations; experts from throughout the company will guide you through in-depth lessons for leaders, people managers, and HR professionals to build, manage, and scale. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Lead in a remote environment - Build a remote organizational culture and practices - Assess teams’ and managers’ readiness and preparation for remote work - Create a foundational strategy for executing a remote transformation For the final project in this course, you will create a real or hypothetical strategic plan to transition a team to remote operation. You will assess your organization's remote maturity and infrastructure, and identify the best team structure for remote operation — including determining whether to use an all-remote or remote-friendly model. You'll outline plans for documentation, education, leadership, and equipment or resource needs for your unique organization. This is an intermediate-level course, intended for learners who have previous experience managing or leading people. To succeed in this course, you should have at least one year of management experience. No remote experience is required....

Top reviews

JB

Jun 15, 2021

Amazing! I am happy to see how it is possible to obtain good results by sharing with plurality and concern for inclusion. I learned a lot, with direct practical use in my current roles in my company.

SF

May 26, 2021

A solid course, even for somebody with extensive experience in managing remotely. This will help you move your department or company on the right path to a remote work structure that works for you.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 218 Reviews for How to Manage a Remote Team

By Clotilda K

May 5, 2021

This course is an eye-opener to Remote Work structure.

I have learned new skills of leading a remote work team and enjoyed doing the assignments and the discussion forums.

By Nizar C

Feb 2, 2021

Exceptional course with outstanding reading and visual material. I invite everyone to attend this course especially during this worldwide move affected by the pandemic.

By Matteo L

Apr 17, 2021

Thank you for the great journey. I have found a lot of information and many cases to study. Absolutely recommended to have a serious approach to the remote management.

By Douglas F

May 17, 2021

a great overview of remote work and some of the required thinking to get started. I recommend this course for those looking to understand their remote point of view.

By Kristy M

Dec 23, 2020

Helpful course and is relevant in supporting leaderships and employees who are adapting to remote work, will do remote work, or doing it as an outcome of COVID-19.

By Jesus G V C

Mar 5, 2021

It was an amazing experience, I learned a lot from a big company like GitLab, it was really amazing because now I can help to my employer towards a remote program

By Charles A N C

May 23, 2022

Very nice course! I would strongly suggest engaging in forums. There are people from all around the world from many industries. There may be your next colleague!

By Vincent B

Nov 30, 2020

Very interesting. Up-to-date (with current pandemic situation). Material is diverse (readings, videos, quizzes) making it easy to keep focus and make progress.

By Jose E V E

May 17, 2021

Hoy en día para dar valor a nuestras empresas es necesario realizar este tipo de curso. Como lideres debemos comprometernos y adaptarnos a los nuevos cambios

By Aram S

Mar 27, 2022

With everyone working in a hybrid-remote world, this course will help prepare campanies and managers with some insight on how to manage these challenges.

By Gregory T

Nov 29, 2020

Greate experience excellent course. The course is really helpful and the external resources from Gitlab more than simple examples and not just show cases.

By Tanya J A A M

Aug 11, 2021

Timely and current. The teachers offer clear and indispensable knowledge to work and manage, in the work environments of the immediate future. Thanks.

By Ken H

Jan 31, 2021

An excellent model of online learning. Just the content I was looking for with just the right amount of variety and activities to keep me coming back.

By Daniel A D S

Oct 1, 2020

Relevant and with tons of ideas where to focus, where to spend money and a clear use case for any company that want to be serious about going remote.

By Hisham Z

Jan 27, 2022

The course was very helpful for those who plan to transfer the work to Remote, and discuss many topics in this field. I advise strongly to be taken.

By Donna-Luisa E

Apr 14, 2021

Excellent Course. Would recommend for most companies to have their teams use this as a point to pivot from. Its a lot of information in bite sizes.

By BMG

Nov 16, 2020

Great course! I love the transparency that GitLab is offering the community. I've downloaded the online handbook to use for future endeavors.

By paul w

Feb 8, 2021

Really comprehensive course - the assignment and feedback at the end was particularly useful in creating an actionable transition plan.

By Jacob A W

Jan 12, 2021

Really enjoyed learning how Gitlab is scaling remote work and the links they provided for self-studying to learn from their experience.

By Valentinos H

Nov 20, 2020

An excelent course highlighting the key aspects of remote work from truly professional and experience pople . Very well presented .

By Adam J

Mar 21, 2022

T​horough treatment of an important, emerging topic with excellent resources. Foundational to navigating the new work environment.

By Pierce

Nov 20, 2021

Informative ad timely. It's worth checking out for the course materials alone (GitLab's employee manual and guide to remote work).

By Christina K

Mar 18, 2021

Very concise in the overview and outline of the course. Trainers were great and although prerecorded still came over as engaging.

By Reinaldo B N

Mar 23, 2021

The course provides a high level framework and valuable insights to support planning the transition to a remote work structure.

By Pradeep K I

Mar 13, 2022

The course taught me a lot, and I intend to use this knowledge to improve my leadership skills and move on to the next level.