Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Research Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Research Methods by University of London

4.6
stars
5,363 ratings
1,766 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC is about demystifying research and research methods. It will outline the fundamentals of doing research, aimed primarily, but not exclusively, at the postgraduate level. It places the student experience at the centre of our endeavours by engaging learners in a range of robust and challenging discussions and exercises befitting SOAS, University of London's status as a research-intensive university and its rich research heritage. The course will appeal to those of you who require an understanding of research approaches and skills, and importantly an ability to deploy them in your studies or in your professional lives. In particular, this course will aid those of you who have to conduct research as part of your postgraduate studies but do not perhaps have access to research methods courses, or for those of you who feel you would like additional support for self-improvement. No prior knowledge or experience in research is required to take this course and as such, the course is for everyone. This MOOC draws on a wealth of existing course material developed to support research training across SOAS, University of London and particularly drawing from the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy (CISD). In 2015, the course was nominated for the prestigious Guardian University Award for its innovative approach to online learning. Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes...

Top reviews

AG
Jul 26, 2017

This is wonderful course especially for research scholars, one suggestion is instead of giving articles from books, please provide a PPT which will be more effective ! thank you for wonderful session.

JV
Nov 28, 2020

A well made lesson with focus of what matters the most in research. The university of London along with Coursera did a great job at pointing out how research topics should be approached.\n\nThank you

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 1,755 Reviews for Understanding Research Methods

By Rupert D l R

Jan 18, 2017

This course should take by the researcher especially those who has problem in their research, they will give you helpful advice and know the opinion of some expert

By efren r

Apr 4, 2017

El curso fue muy importante para mi, porque con él reforce y apliqué los conocimientos adquiridos para la investigacion de mi tesis. Es muy recomendable el curso.

By F M S

Apr 2, 2021

I learned a lot from this course. It was a great journey. If you want to know what research is without any background knowledge you should enroll in this course.

By Laura C G D

Aug 22, 2020

Excelente curso, agradecida por la oportunidad que brindan para adquirir nuevos conocimientos y términos imprescindibles para llevar a cabo en una investigación.

By mahima a

Feb 14, 2017

Well planned!! course, gives you insight into research planning and time management. Professionals suggestions and tips are worth. Great experience and learning.

By Edirimanna R S J T

Oct 12, 2021

That is a very good opportunity to get the ideas of the scholars all over the world to get a better idea regarding this specific subject area. Very interesting!

By Mazoon

Jul 12, 2021

wonderful course! really helpful videos and material. The assignment and reviews help me to improve my understanding research methods.

Thanks to Coursera team.

By Aumlan G

May 20, 2020

High-quality content at a very affordable price. Enjoyed the way the basics of research methods were explained, in a very simple & lucid manner,

Thanks a lot...

By Praisy T

Jul 23, 2020

This course has surely helped in gaining an insight over research methodology and importance of reviewing literature in a short span of time very effectively.

By Smt..Ch.Indira P A P

May 15, 2020

Very much helped in improving my knowledge on Research Methods, as i have been teaching for 5 years Engineering Research Methodology and IPR for MTech students

By Navjyotsinh J

May 24, 2018

This course has enlightened my approach towards research in very good way. The experiences and approaches discussed as well presented have helped learn better.

By Rebecca S

Nov 9, 2020

Very good, clear, and intriguing course, thank you Professors Lee and Rofe! I feel much better prepared now to create my Research Proposal and Research Plan.

By Abeer S I A

Nov 4, 2017

It is very effective and quite interesting course for all those who are interested in the research field. Thank you so much for providing us this opportunity.

By Catherine P

Jul 5, 2021

Thank you to the 2 main presenters. This course was fun and interactive and helpful. I loved being able to work at my own pace and having experts share tips.

By RITESH K

Nov 29, 2020

THE VARIETY OF EXPLANATION PROVIDED BY DIFFERENT RESEARCHERS WAS VERY INSIGHTFUL WHICH HELPED ME TO SHAPE AND HAVE A CLEARY UNDERSTANDING ABOUT THE SUBJECT.

By Prativa D

Oct 1, 2020

I like the courses privided this plateform because they made it very interestingly and specially the peer review technique of evaluation is very interesting.

By Nabil M A

Nov 8, 2018

Thanks for the course. I have learned many new things. Thank you so much for Simon and his colleague. hope to attend anther course with you.

Thanks again

Nabil

By Anthea C

Oct 23, 2016

Excellent introduction for a first time researcher. Very helpful and well structured. Thank you, I am inspired to continue studying as I feel more confident.

By Miguel M

Jul 18, 2016

Solid and to the point. It will not get you ready to do a research, but it will give you the tools to design a solid enough draft or question for a research,

By Tazbiul M A

Oct 31, 2020

It was really great to learn this course with two awesome instructors. The course design was so nice for learning I am pleased to complete this course here.

By MD. R S

Oct 5, 2020

It's very important to know the pros and cons of research process for a researcher. It this regard, this course is mind-blowing and extremely helpful for me

By Mritunjoy M

Jul 30, 2020

this course gives the confident to the students to undertake any critical thinking systematically. Those who are new to research world,will be very helpful.

By Tanvir A

Oct 6, 2020

Through this course I could easily understand all methods of research. Now it is helping me to select the appropriate method to make the research fruitful.

By ALEJANDRO D

Feb 13, 2018

Las lecturas y videos te hacen desarrollar habilidades de lectura y redacción además de racionamiento y principios básicos para realizar una investigación.

By Ashley J

Apr 24, 2020

It is one of the best courses I have applied for and a great course explaining in detail about a process researchers and academic people take for granted.