Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Research Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Research Methods by University of London

4.6
stars
5,346 ratings
1,763 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC is about demystifying research and research methods. It will outline the fundamentals of doing research, aimed primarily, but not exclusively, at the postgraduate level. It places the student experience at the centre of our endeavours by engaging learners in a range of robust and challenging discussions and exercises befitting SOAS, University of London's status as a research-intensive university and its rich research heritage. The course will appeal to those of you who require an understanding of research approaches and skills, and importantly an ability to deploy them in your studies or in your professional lives. In particular, this course will aid those of you who have to conduct research as part of your postgraduate studies but do not perhaps have access to research methods courses, or for those of you who feel you would like additional support for self-improvement. No prior knowledge or experience in research is required to take this course and as such, the course is for everyone. This MOOC draws on a wealth of existing course material developed to support research training across SOAS, University of London and particularly drawing from the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy (CISD). In 2015, the course was nominated for the prestigious Guardian University Award for its innovative approach to online learning. Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes...

Top reviews

AG
Jul 26, 2017

This is wonderful course especially for research scholars, one suggestion is instead of giving articles from books, please provide a PPT which will be more effective ! thank you for wonderful session.

JV
Nov 28, 2020

A well made lesson with focus of what matters the most in research. The university of London along with Coursera did a great job at pointing out how research topics should be approached.\n\nThank you

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 1,751 Reviews for Understanding Research Methods

By Ijem O

Oct 27, 2016

In learning the precepts of carrying out research and its methods, this course stands me in better stead as a researcher.

By rafia m

Aug 17, 2020

an excellent course to understand the research methods. i would recommend this course to all who need to learn research.

By Dr V K s

Apr 3, 2020

Excellent course with finest material included. Best course for beginners for researchers and best instructors included.

By Enrique Z

Jun 14, 2017

Un buen curso que te ayuda a plantear un buen problema de investigación, ideal para los alumnos que están por graduarse.

By Zoe G

Mar 28, 2021

Great over view of research methods, excellent choice of readings and enough detail to be helpful in a practical sense.

By Evalyn B

Nov 26, 2020

Helpful in really understanding research methods in the academe. Thank you to those who have shared their knowledge! :)

By Altaf H

Mar 15, 2019

Interviews of expert in the field of research ,links chapters & ways are present for thesis,papers research are present

By Prof E

Nov 20, 2020

This kind of learning modality is such a big help for us to improve our skills, specifically in the field of research.

By Rosemary X D

Aug 1, 2020

The course has been very helpful to my proposal writing and will contribute immensely to my thesis writing. Thank you.

By Joy O

Dec 7, 2020

This has been an excellent course, I have learned so much in the short time I have been doing the modules. Thank you!

By Analyn B

Nov 11, 2020

I had a nice time going over this course. I learned about the different perspective of research. Thank you very much.

By Arnold B A

Nov 1, 2020

The course is very helpful and insightful. I learned a lot. Thank you coursera, DOST Caraga and University of London.

By Thanakrit P

Sep 14, 2020

Very helpful content, clear practical uses, easy for everyone to understand. Thanks to provider who make this course.

By Judith P M

Nov 14, 2020

I have learned about this course, and it helps me in doing my thesis because currently we have our research subject.

By Eletha S

Oct 6, 2020

it was a nicely put together source of information that gives a clear simple overview of what research is all about.

By Sayan s

Jun 16, 2018

This course should include research scopes in London university and there ongoing projects should also be mentioned.

By Malu D

Sep 11, 2015

Thank you for the opportunity to participate in this class! The lessons challenged me in new ways I never expected!

By Zelieus N

May 13, 2020

aptly describes the things one should keep in mind during research, gives an extreme overview on literature review.

By Dr. M M A R

Jul 28, 2020

It really enriched my knowledge about research. Everyone who wish to learn about research can undergo this course.

By Christy T

Jul 20, 2020

It very good work......now i learned about research... And i started to research somthing in the field of business

By OLADIPUPO, C O

Dec 9, 2020

Thanks to this course I've learned how to run a research and the importances of several frameworks in a research.

By Laura C

Jul 12, 2020

A great course which is right to the point and has a good mixture of teaching techniques, to cement the learning.

By ABDUL H M I

Dec 16, 2017

Excellent course for the research scholars/researchers. It was an informative and fully organised compact course.

By Ahmer J K

Aug 8, 2017

Great course with thought provoking discussions which give new meaning to academic research and food for thought.

By Mohamed A E M

Nov 3, 2016

It has been a pretty useful course to me as I needed to start from scratch in understanding the research methods.