Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Research Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Research Methods by University of London

4.6
stars
4,960 ratings
1,647 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC is about demystifying research and research methods. It will outline the fundamentals of doing research, aimed primarily, but not exclusively, at the postgraduate level. It places the student experience at the centre of our endeavours by engaging learners in a range of robust and challenging discussions and exercises befitting SOAS, University of London's status as a research-intensive university and its rich research heritage. The course will appeal to those of you who require an understanding of research approaches and skills, and importantly an ability to deploy them in your studies or in your professional lives. In particular, this course will aid those of you who have to conduct research as part of your postgraduate studies but do not perhaps have access to research methods courses, or for those of you who feel you would like additional support for self-improvement. No prior knowledge or experience in research is required to take this course and as such, the course is for everyone. This MOOC draws on a wealth of existing course material developed to support research training across SOAS, University of London and particularly drawing from the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy (CISD). In 2015, the course was nominated for the prestigious Guardian University Award for its innovative approach to online learning. Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes...

Top reviews

AG
Jul 26, 2017

This is wonderful course especially for research scholars, one suggestion is instead of giving articles from books, please provide a PPT which will be more effective ! thank you for wonderful session.

JV
Nov 28, 2020

A well made lesson with focus of what matters the most in research. The university of London along with Coursera did a great job at pointing out how research topics should be approached.\n\nThank you

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,625 Reviews for Understanding Research Methods

By Nurlan J

Sep 11, 2018

The course was nicely designed and helped me to explore new perspectives and expand my questioning skills to master them. Moreover, it provided valuable real-life experiences and advices from senior scholars which improved the practicality of the course.

Thank you for everything, dear University of London and the Team!

By MR. S K S

Sep 21, 2020

Understanding Research Methods gave ooverview of the current research topic or area of study under consideration. Also learned Objective of the literature review and significant sources selected for the current work. Added too Discussion of both the distinctiveness of each source and its similarities with the others.

By María L E

Jan 22, 2016

Muy buen curso. Estructurado y metódico. Imperdible para los que queremos incursionar en la investigación.

Lástima que el curso diga que tiene subtítulos en español, pero en realidad no los tenga. Gracias por no tener límites de tiempo estrictos ,para los que no hablamos inglés y nos demoramos un poco más es excelente

By J R G

Jul 31, 2020

It was a really good experience,the course "understanding research methods" 'fulfilled' what it exactly' meant to be, with the support of the instructors,chapters and further readings.The systematic procedures,the methods, in-depth research.I would recommend to those who are serious and ongoing with their research.

By Zubiri J H G

Mar 20, 2019

Este curso me ha permitido desarrollarme como un futuro investigador, haciendo posible que pudiera considerar factores como el tiempo de empleo de investigación, la búsqueda concreta y correcta de fuente bibliográfica y sobre todo saber como realizar u na buena investigación, por lo tanto lo recomiendo ampliamente.

By Kenneth N B A

Nov 17, 2019

This course has given me so much to think about. It allowed me to assess myself, whether or not I'm ready to conduct my own research and if I have the necessary skills needed to properly conduct one. I'm so thankful for this course because it gave me the missing pieces of information I need in my research study.

By BLESSED E

Aug 23, 2020

Excellent teaching approach. I enjoyed every bit of the course delivery. Thanks for allowing me to gain insight into research. I only wished I had the financial capacity now to obtain a certificate. Kindly, inform me on the next start date in advance, in order to enable me to make payments before course start.

By Angelos K

Apr 16, 2020

The tips and answers I got to my questions through this course are just ideal. I would like to thank the instructors.

It would be truly helpful and interesting to see such an online course for Research Methods in Natural and Life Sciences in the future!

I would love to attend such a course also.

Thank you!

By Tasfia T T

May 8, 2020

aw, I loved the course curriculum and its decorative aspects. helped me a lot to gain a piece of knowledge about research and research mythology. I would recommend this course who are interested or feeling enthusiastic to do know about the research proposals and want to make some of their own research.

By Jomar B A

Apr 12, 2020

Big thanks!

The videos and readings are very informative. The assessments are highly appropriate and responsive to the needs of the course takers.

The peer review process builds confidence among students and facilitates immediate feedbacking. This I believe is one of the best features of the course.

By Jamilah D

Jun 10, 2019

Thank you so much for this course. I spend time with the best researchers. When I hear the discussion I enjoy it because it was extremely useful for me. Faintly , I want to shear my proposal to get a feedback and criticism because I would to improve and enhance my researcher skills. Thanks again..

By Keith D

Aug 28, 2016

Very thought provoking course. The online content was well presented, and the supporting reading was highly quality, relevant material that expanded my knowledge on this subject and I am sure it will be really helpful in improving my future research projects and planning. Highly recommended.

By Priyankar

Aug 1, 2020

I found this course to be very pragmatic as a beginner researcher. The instructors touch upon very crucial and core elements of research that is applicable across disciplines. A conventional understanding of this course can make a difference between conducting 'research' and 'good research'.

By Khanysa E M

Apr 19, 2020

The course is very simply organised and taught, and easy to follow independently of having any experience with research methods. The course is practical which really helps to get an idea of the 1st phases of the research process: defining your research question and doing a literature review.

By Jessica F S

Jul 10, 2020

I loved this course! I recommend it to everyone who is working with research or plan to do so in the future. I enjoyed the reading material and I believe the videos were simple to understand and insightful at the same time. It enabled me to see the research process with a deeper purpose.

By PARTH D

Apr 6, 2019

Thanks a lot. entire team had made great amount of efforts to make this course so much easy to understand. so many things we can learnt and have clear view about research, literature review, research approach and design etc. Once again Thanks to coursera and university of london. Thanks.

By Francisco J d O

Jun 23, 2019

O curso é prático e direto. Obtive muito conhecimento de como proceder uma pesquisa. Eu recomendarei aos amigos professores do meu trabalho. (The course is practical and direct. I got a lot of knowledge of how to conduct a search. I will recommend to my friends the teachers of my work.)

By Muhammad U S

Dec 25, 2020

The authors of this course has helped me in understanding the research methods and what are the factors that need to be kept in mind while doing a research. I would recommend this course to the people that are new to research area and want to know about the research methods easily.

By Usra H

Aug 13, 2020

An interaction-based learning course.

Enjoyed the course. It was very interesting to see the opinions of different scholars, rather than going by books or articles. Also, the reading material shared in all is amazing and helped in understanding the concept of each aspect discussed.

By Usama K

Mar 18, 2021

I had significantly benefited from this prestigious course, where these benefits have been reflected in many skills which will add nicely to my scientific life as a faculty member.

I sincerely thank and respect everyone who has done this prestigious and distinguished course.

By Aedrian A

Jan 14, 2021

This is an engaging and interactive course that serves, for me, as "re-affirming" material on why do and how to do research. The readings are particularly excellent in providing an academic and surgical perspective on some assumptions I take for granted when doing research.

By Bhuvaneshwari R

Apr 12, 2020

This is a great course if you're interested in academic research. The interviews are especially good. The short length of the interviews and the assigned reading are an excellent combination since they give you direction, but also allow room for independent, in-depth study.

By galano t t

Sep 3, 2020

dear concerned,

i'm your student from Ethiopia and completed my course . but now to take certificate payment is necessary; so our county Ethiopia has no electronic payment online. by considering this if you support me by delivering certificate or any sponsor. thank you.

By Gustavo X F d S

Aug 3, 2020

The topic string was very useful. The placements made by the researchers in the videos helped to elaborate reflections about the vicissitudes of good research and the texts were very illuminating about the importance and aspects of the elaboration of the research proposal.

By Pamela A

Dec 10, 2019

The course was clear and easy to follow. Videos were very helpful and I really like the general structure of the course, especially peer review, which is fundamental for researchers in order to understand other people's research and have more insights into their own work.