Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Research Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Research Methods by University of London

4.6
stars
5,488 ratings
1,799 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC is about demystifying research and research methods. It will outline the fundamentals of doing research, aimed primarily, but not exclusively, at the postgraduate level. It places the student experience at the centre of our endeavours by engaging learners in a range of robust and challenging discussions and exercises befitting SOAS, University of London's status as a research-intensive university and its rich research heritage. The course will appeal to those of you who require an understanding of research approaches and skills, and importantly an ability to deploy them in your studies or in your professional lives. In particular, this course will aid those of you who have to conduct research as part of your postgraduate studies but do not perhaps have access to research methods courses, or for those of you who feel you would like additional support for self-improvement. No prior knowledge or experience in research is required to take this course and as such, the course is for everyone. This MOOC draws on a wealth of existing course material developed to support research training across SOAS, University of London and particularly drawing from the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy (CISD). In 2015, the course was nominated for the prestigious Guardian University Award for its innovative approach to online learning. Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes...

Top reviews

AG
Jul 26, 2017

This is wonderful course especially for research scholars, one suggestion is instead of giving articles from books, please provide a PPT which will be more effective ! thank you for wonderful session.

AB
Sep 9, 2019

very good course. The last e-activity was proposal preparation. It will be good if they add something about sampling in reading materials. Very good experience for me.....I will recommend this course

Filter by:

1426 - 1450 of 1,788 Reviews for Understanding Research Methods

By Eden

Mar 29, 2019

The course gives practical interviews to discuss research questions, and has good exercises to practise. But I find some contents are oriented at social sciences.

By Rongen ( Z

Feb 6, 2018

A great course introduce me to the research world. I like the interviews of researchers and the supporting materials? From which book did you get the material?

By deki

Nov 25, 2020

This is a very comprehensive guideline to those who are starting with research. Getting to know different perspective of one topic was enriching and helpful.

By Jacqueline M

Sep 23, 2018

A good introduction to research methods if you do the required reading properly. The assignments are relevant and can be completed in a short amount of time.

By Laura

Mar 9, 2017

ME PARECE UN MUY BUEN CURSO PERO ME PARECE QUE DE IGUAL FORMA SE DEBERÍAN ENFOCAR A COMO SE DEBEN CITAR LOS AUTORES QUE SE CONSULTAN PARA DISMINUIR EL PLAGIO

By Agnes S P

Apr 24, 2021

The lessons were clear ant the Etivity gave practical skills that are very applicable, graddibg other learners assignment gave one different perspective

By Maria d l A O T

Jul 5, 2017

La dinamica de retroalimentación revisando la tarea de los compañeros brinda el plus a la enseñanza.

Lo que no encontre fueron mis tareas calificadas.

By Mohammad M A

May 25, 2020

the course is great in founding the basics of research methodologies. A valuable addition will be major-related cours(e.g. science, physiology, ...)

By Moises A C

Sep 6, 2017

El curso está muy bien solo que me gustaria que fuera un poco más enfocado en cuanto a la elaboración por partes de un protocolo de investigación.

By Sandy A B

Nov 30, 2020

It was a very interesting course to take, very interactive and relies on personal motivation and genuine attempt from each of the participants.

By Hnin Y A

Sep 28, 2020

It's a supporting thing for me.I realize more and more about the research and can create research thoroughly.Thanks for sharing your course.

By Mohamed M E

Feb 7, 2019

Anyone with any background can improve his/her research skills through the E-tivity (Peer graded Assignments), It's a fantastic way to learn

By Richard R

Jun 10, 2020

Very useful course. It helped me get another view of the same thing.

The assignement has helped me a lot in developing it as my research.

By Iván N H

Sep 20, 2017

Considero que la calidad del curso es buena ya que te proporciona herramientas fundamentales para realizar un buen tema de investigación.

By Muhammad F S N

Apr 3, 2020

It contains good quality material. Moreover, it is concise and precise.

But it must include sciences, it includes social sciences only.

By Fernando M

Aug 14, 2020

It is a good course but kind of simple. I would have prefered more information inside the course and not as recommended literature.

By Shibani S

Jun 11, 2020

l really liked the topics touched upon in this course. However , I would appreciate it a lot more if we had a few working examples.

By Asmaa S M O

Jun 2, 2020

Well organized timetable offering me different options to comply with the course, transcript of content and reach reading topics.

By Chiara

Mar 12, 2021

The process of grading does not really make sense. However, very informative and helpful for someone pursuing academic research.

By Maleeha M

Feb 27, 2018

Loved taking this course, as I'm doing a dissertation in my final year at university, it is very much applicable to my degree.

By Michael P

May 17, 2021

I enjoyed the readings and felt the writing assignments were helpful in integrating the main ideas of the reading selections.

By Muhammad A F

Jun 8, 2017

It is a well designed course. I think the style is different. But it would become more effective if more interviews included.

By Bhuvana M N

Jan 11, 2017

Really liked the supplementary materials provided in the course. Also liked hearing about research from various researchers.

By George E

Dec 4, 2020

Enjoyed the teaching and the method in which the student is encouraged to expanded their knowledge in research methodology.

By ANJALY M J 1

Dec 12, 2020

An entry-level course to understanding research. Great for someone who hasn't been exposed to research methodology before.