Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Research Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Research Methods by University of London

4.6
stars
5,495 ratings
1,800 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC is about demystifying research and research methods. It will outline the fundamentals of doing research, aimed primarily, but not exclusively, at the postgraduate level. It places the student experience at the centre of our endeavours by engaging learners in a range of robust and challenging discussions and exercises befitting SOAS, University of London's status as a research-intensive university and its rich research heritage. The course will appeal to those of you who require an understanding of research approaches and skills, and importantly an ability to deploy them in your studies or in your professional lives. In particular, this course will aid those of you who have to conduct research as part of your postgraduate studies but do not perhaps have access to research methods courses, or for those of you who feel you would like additional support for self-improvement. No prior knowledge or experience in research is required to take this course and as such, the course is for everyone. This MOOC draws on a wealth of existing course material developed to support research training across SOAS, University of London and particularly drawing from the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy (CISD). In 2015, the course was nominated for the prestigious Guardian University Award for its innovative approach to online learning. Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes...

Top reviews

AG
Jul 26, 2017

This is wonderful course especially for research scholars, one suggestion is instead of giving articles from books, please provide a PPT which will be more effective ! thank you for wonderful session.

JV
Nov 28, 2020

A well made lesson with focus of what matters the most in research. The university of London along with Coursera did a great job at pointing out how research topics should be approached.\n\nThank you

Filter by:

1451 - 1475 of 1,790 Reviews for Understanding Research Methods

By George E

Dec 4, 2020

Enjoyed the teaching and the method in which the student is encouraged to expanded their knowledge in research methodology.

By ANJALY M J 1

Dec 12, 2020

An entry-level course to understanding research. Great for someone who hasn't been exposed to research methodology before.

By Debasmita D

Nov 15, 2020

I found it really new and engaging approach. I never knew before the assignments can be reviewed by peer students as well.

By Mayur P B

Jun 2, 2020

This course is easy and good for researchers to study and conduct research in ease and with management with time bounding.

By Farah K

Jul 28, 2020

The course itself is quite informative and I learnt so much from it. I loved that the videos were to the point and short.

By Bilal A

Aug 30, 2019

It was so nice to be a part of this course . lt was useful and recommended for others to build thier capacity in research

By Maria M

Oct 5, 2020

Wonderful set of assignments and course materials! It helped me to work on my drawbacks towards understanding research.

By Maria M

Jul 29, 2020

THIS WAS QUITE AN INTERESTING COURSE WHERE IN I LEARNT ABOUT RESEARCHING ITS METHODS, STRATERGIES AND ANALYTICAL PROSES

By Bamidele O I

Aug 25, 2020

Even though very brief and laconic but this course is well loaded and full of important knowledge for budding scholars

By Edgar C L

May 18, 2018

This is a basic research course. If you don't have any idea on how to conduct a research, this is a good starter pack.

By Inna B

Aug 8, 2016

Interesting course, provides a good insight for beginners. Wish there were more assignments and multi choice quizzes.

By Stace g

Oct 22, 2021

This was a very useful course. The readings and videos were especially helpful to demystifying the research process

By Enelito L E J

Mar 31, 2021

This is a best course for novice researcher and aspiring researchers in undergrad, masters, and doctorates. Kudos!

By ANSHUMAN B

Jun 23, 2020

I liked this course very much especially the e-tivity section. It is one of the best example of learning by doing.

By Dongsheng L

Mar 11, 2018

very helpful for me who are interested in enrolling a PhD program in the near future to learn more about research.

By Julio M M A

Jun 15, 2017

Me pareció buen curso, sin embargo creo que los entrevistados a veces no son claros con lo que intentan transmitir

By Divya M

Aug 22, 2020

It's very good! Now I'm able to understand what is research question and why the crtisim is needed in research.

By Carlos R G

Mar 28, 2019

Right of amount of challenge. Asssignments/Courseworks were good. The Peer-Review Process should be improved.

By Tanya S

Sep 10, 2015

Great set up with attainable and realistic assignments that are relevant and thought provo for a new researcher.

By Maisa B

Oct 13, 2016

Achei q os vídeos não tinham a ver com os artigos para leitura. Os videos poderiam ser um suporte à leitura.

By Lindsay S

Aug 11, 2016

Very good for an introduction to the basic ideas of research and why it is undertaken. Enjoyed it very much!

By Ali S

Oct 22, 2021

Chapters of books that the course use for reading section are excellent. Thanks for introducing such books.

By ABY R P M

Aug 11, 2021

The course need to be more inclusive of other fields of science, especially like experimental design etc.

By R. R

Sep 14, 2020

The course contains a lot of useful material and walks it you through championing your research paper.