Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Research Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Research Methods by University of London

4.6
stars
4,571 ratings
1,516 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC is about demystifying research and research methods. It will outline the fundamentals of doing research, aimed primarily, but not exclusively, at the postgraduate level. It places the student experience at the centre of our endeavours by engaging learners in a range of robust and challenging discussions and exercises befitting SOAS, University of London's status as a research-intensive university and its rich research heritage. The course will appeal to those of you who require an understanding of research approaches and skills, and importantly an ability to deploy them in your studies or in your professional lives. In particular, this course will aid those of you who have to conduct research as part of your postgraduate studies but do not perhaps have access to research methods courses, or for those of you who feel you would like additional support for self-improvement. No prior knowledge or experience in research is required to take this course and as such, the course is for everyone. This MOOC draws on a wealth of existing course material developed to support research training across SOAS, University of London and particularly drawing from the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy (CISD). In 2015, the course was nominated for the prestigious Guardian University Award for its innovative approach to online learning. Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes...

Top reviews

AG
Jul 26, 2017

This is wonderful course especially for research scholars, one suggestion is instead of giving articles from books, please provide a PPT which will be more effective ! thank you for wonderful session.

JV
Nov 28, 2020

A well made lesson with focus of what matters the most in research. The university of London along with Coursera did a great job at pointing out how research topics should be approached.\n\nThank you

Filter by:

1426 - 1450 of 1,495 Reviews for Understanding Research Methods

By Balusamy

Dec 10, 2016

It's look very very basics, i thought to get something more informative..

By JUDYTH A E

Sep 14, 2015

course content was great, but I felt like the course left me hanging....

By ahmed i a b

Jan 3, 2016

so interesting and they got a very talented way of teaching

By Mayank S

Jan 15, 2016

The course should be renamed as Basics of Research Method.

By Sadia T

Jun 28, 2020

A book or youtube tutorial is better than this course.

By KEVIN W

Nov 19, 2020

Great course and knowledge i got from this course

By Juan J C G

Apr 25, 2017

es un poco difícil entender bien las preguntas

By Emil

Jul 13, 2020

This was definitely a strange course.

By Dissanayake M B D D

Aug 8, 2020

great work. loved it.

By Francisco P

May 29, 2018

It is a basic course

By Moetaz s

Aug 22, 2017

Good For Beginners

By CALIMANUT I C

Feb 28, 2019

too basic I'd say

By Meroona G

Oct 21, 2017

Need improvement

By Nicolas-Patience B

Oct 6, 2015

Helpful insight.

By MAHIMA

May 19, 2020

Good initiative

By Vaishnavi.N

Jun 19, 2020

Good learning

By Dr. S M A T

Aug 13, 2020

Good Course.

By Alfredo C M

Sep 23, 2016

esta bien

By Idbahamad H

May 10, 2020

was good

By Varghese J

Nov 8, 2019

Average

By Jaime V E S

Dec 16, 2019

I found the course useful because it made me think of a project I am working on. How ever, I found it way too short, I completed the four weeks in for days of light work (between 1-2 hours). I found the feedback I received a disappointment, with usually just a line of writing saying "good job", which seems to me that students just fill it up as a requirement. I found the chapters most useful, and I think it was a good call making the tasks around them; that being said, most of the work I reviewed (about this chapters) wasn´t about the chapters or the task at hand. I don´t know how others reviewed but I suspect they didn´t care and put up a passing grade. I would´ve liked more serious evaluations, and more tasks for that matter -maybe two for each week, one for the videos and one for a chapter-. Talking about the videos, I found them interesting but mostly too short and on the surface. I know the price is low because of the limitations present, but I don´t think that's excuse for the lack of content.

By Elsa N G

Sep 7, 2020

I believe the information provided in this course is very poor and misplaced. The articles chosen are difficult to understand and barely make sense with one another, the theory that one needs to understand regarding research methods is poor and it does not link well with each module. The questions asked in the excercises are not well posed, leaving the student s with doubts on what actually has to be answered. Sometimes in the instructions section a different question appears from that of the box where the answer has to be written.

In general I believe it is quite messy. It does help you acquire some basic knowledge, but I believe there are better sources for this, like books or articles that explain everything about research and the methods that can be used.

By Tomasz L

Sep 3, 2019

This course is not exactly a course in the classic sense - there are no lectures, the only videos are a few very short interviews with researchers each week and there is a little reading. The biggest focus of this course is on some kind of collaboration/social learning. I don't feel that that's the way to go with courses, especially if the only feedback that is available is this of students - necessarily not of the best quality (because they are still learning) and sometimes even misleading (because they do not understand the subject yet). I don't think that this type of courses works well, and I must say I was disappointed with this course - I expected to learn much more.

By Claire H

Aug 5, 2020

The information was there, and the insight into researcher opinions and methodology via the interviews was interesting. The videos felt drab and uncharismatic, the presenters seemed unconfident but the interviewees were excellent. I worked hard to produce my work, and to review the work of others, however the feedback I received from peers has been unhelpful, with one person writing 'It was good'. Since the peer review should be at least 50 words, it would be helpful to have a word count, and also the student should not be able to submit until their review reaches 50 words. This would support students like myself to improve. Thank you.