Chevron Left
Back to Advanced Styling with Responsive Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced Styling with Responsive Design by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
3,333 ratings
591 reviews

About the Course

It used to be the case that everyone viewed webpages on about the same size screen. But with the explosion of the use of smartphones to access the Internet, the landscape of design has completely changed. People viewing your site will now expect that it will perform regardless of the platform (smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer). This ability to respond to any platform is called responsive design. This course will expand upon the basic knowledge of CSS3 to include topics such as wireframes, fluid design, media queries, and the use of existing styling paradigms such as Bootstrap. After the course, learners will be able to: ** Explain the mobile-first paradigm and the importance of wireframes in the design phase ** Create sites that behave across a range of platforms ** Utilize existing design frameworks such as Bootstrap This is the fourth course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. A basic understanding of HTML and CSS is expected when you enroll in this class. Additional courses focus on adding interactivity with the JavaScript Programming Language and completing a capstone project....

Top reviews

MA

Jul 20, 2019

I enjoyed the course very much. Learn a lot of things. And find that in web designing good practices are more important. I have to read articles, blog to update my knowledge and to learn new things.

TM

Sep 26, 2019

Well-structured, well-taught and easy to follow course with great exercises to help improve your skills. I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn responsive web design.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 580 Reviews for Advanced Styling with Responsive Design

By Phung D T

Feb 23, 2020

good

By Phạm V H A

Dec 08, 2019

nice

By Phan A M

Nov 17, 2019

good

By Karan K

Nov 08, 2019

okay

By Lê N M H

Nov 08, 2019

good

By Nguyễn T Đ M

Oct 29, 2019

nice

By La N T

Jul 15, 2019

good

By Mahitab M M M

Jul 04, 2018

nice

By Rafael M C

Mar 18, 2018

thnx

By Sierikov R

Jan 14, 2018

Good

By Vsevolod L

May 16, 2016

Like

By lamdqde140039

Jul 21, 2020

oke

By Aman M

Jul 15, 2020

Grt

By waleed r e

Jul 11, 2020

Wow

By Suprabha

May 21, 2020

grt

By Nguyễn N N

Dec 03, 2019

tốt

By AnhNDHE140185

Aug 03, 2020

ok

By ToanPMSE140895

Jul 19, 2020

gt

By ThuanNLSE140828

Feb 22, 2020

ok

By Nguyễn H Q B

Dec 11, 2019

ok

By Elias Z D

Jul 12, 2020

.

By phuocntde140177

Mar 23, 2020

.

By Paul J M

Mar 18, 2016

Anyone expecting to learn every subtlety of Bootstrap will be disappointed--but they deserve to be, this is a fours week course! The course introduces the concept of responsive design both through manually coding your own webpages and using frameworks, taking Bootstrap as an example.

Over three short videos the instructor gives just enough for students to start using Bootstrap while also giving them the tools to continue their later independent development.

Colleen van Lent is an exceptional instructor who manages to be engaging and motivating while always remaining 'human'.

I am not altogether happy with the decision to make all peer reviewed assignments optional, even though I understand the reasoning. For this reason alone I have dropped my review to four stars. If you are prepared to make the effort to take full part in the optional exercises this is a five star course--it's up to you!

By Vinayak

Jun 12, 2020

Well structured course which gives a detailed overview of a lot of things which are otherwise overlooked. Making a site responsive so that it adapts to mobile, desktop and tablet sizes is very essential as many people are using mobile phones to do their work and the site you're catering to them must be the best and easy for use. Colleen really goes to talk all about this and teaches how to use frameworks like bootstrap and it's classes for accomplishing this task. It's an awesome course.

However, make sure to practise after you complete the course. I wouldn't have hesitated to give a 5/5 if there were more practise assignment and quizzes for users to practise these newly acquired skill.

Overall, you should definitely check it out if you're a beginner trying to learn web development.

By Barbara F

Apr 11, 2017

As always, Colleen is amazing and explains very well. I liked a lot the interviews she added on the 4th week, mainly the last one where the woman mentions the skills she looks for in a candidate. I know it is demanded from us to search for extra resources and getting our hands dirty to understand how things work out, but I was expecting a bit more about the edition of the Bootstrap's css. It is not really clear for me how to check their css's and overwriting the properties we want.