Chevron Left
Back to Advanced Styling with Responsive Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced Styling with Responsive Design by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
3,652 ratings
660 reviews

About the Course

It used to be the case that everyone viewed webpages on about the same size screen. But with the explosion of the use of smartphones to access the Internet, the landscape of design has completely changed. People viewing your site will now expect that it will perform regardless of the platform (smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer). This ability to respond to any platform is called responsive design. This course will expand upon the basic knowledge of CSS3 to include topics such as wireframes, fluid design, media queries, and the use of existing styling paradigms such as Bootstrap. After the course, learners will be able to: ** Explain the mobile-first paradigm and the importance of wireframes in the design phase ** Create sites that behave across a range of platforms ** Utilize existing design frameworks such as Bootstrap This is the fourth course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. A basic understanding of HTML and CSS is expected when you enroll in this class. Additional courses focus on adding interactivity with the JavaScript Programming Language and completing a capstone project....

Top reviews

MA
Jul 19, 2019

I enjoyed the course very much. Learn a lot of things. And find that in web designing good practices are more important. I have to read articles, blog to update my knowledge and to learn new things.

TM
Sep 25, 2019

Well-structured, well-taught and easy to follow course with great exercises to help improve your skills. I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn responsive web design.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 645 Reviews for Advanced Styling with Responsive Design

By Nguyễn H Q B

Dec 11, 2019

ok

By Elias Z D

Jul 12, 2020

.

By phuocntde140177

Mar 23, 2020

.

By Paul J M

Mar 18, 2016

Anyone expecting to learn every subtlety of Bootstrap will be disappointed--but they deserve to be, this is a fours week course! The course introduces the concept of responsive design both through manually coding your own webpages and using frameworks, taking Bootstrap as an example.

Over three short videos the instructor gives just enough for students to start using Bootstrap while also giving them the tools to continue their later independent development.

Colleen van Lent is an exceptional instructor who manages to be engaging and motivating while always remaining 'human'.

I am not altogether happy with the decision to make all peer reviewed assignments optional, even though I understand the reasoning. For this reason alone I have dropped my review to four stars. If you are prepared to make the effort to take full part in the optional exercises this is a five star course--it's up to you!

By Vinayak N

Jun 12, 2020

Well structured course which gives a detailed overview of a lot of things which are otherwise overlooked. Making a site responsive so that it adapts to mobile, desktop and tablet sizes is very essential as many people are using mobile phones to do their work and the site you're catering to them must be the best and easy for use. Colleen really goes to talk all about this and teaches how to use frameworks like bootstrap and it's classes for accomplishing this task. It's an awesome course.

However, make sure to practise after you complete the course. I wouldn't have hesitated to give a 5/5 if there were more practise assignment and quizzes for users to practise these newly acquired skill.

Overall, you should definitely check it out if you're a beginner trying to learn web development.

By Barbara F

Apr 11, 2017

As always, Colleen is amazing and explains very well. I liked a lot the interviews she added on the 4th week, mainly the last one where the woman mentions the skills she looks for in a candidate. I know it is demanded from us to search for extra resources and getting our hands dirty to understand how things work out, but I was expecting a bit more about the edition of the Bootstrap's css. It is not really clear for me how to check their css's and overwriting the properties we want.

By AWAIS M

May 11, 2020

The bootstrap videos were a bit 'switch-off' ones. I personally believe that academia is there to teach the raw fundamentals. It is the job of the candidate to learn tools on his / her own. Anyhow, the course is a decent one and a necessary one. Optional readings at the end of week 4 simply don't work as the links are either outdated or the products they suggest have been discontinued. Regards!

By Gamaliel E L

Nov 22, 2020

The course approaches the resonsive design topic on an outstanding wey, it stars slow and gradually introduces more and more complex concepts and techniques, which (in my opinion) are really useful in web design.

I don't give it 5 stars because the Bootstrap section is outdated and I consider it could be tackled deeper. But still, a great course to get into responsive design.

By Mynor Z

May 27, 2020

Great course if you are not that familiar with responsive design. The only thing that I didn't consider as valuable as other courses from the University of Michigan was relying on a css framework for responsivenes, in this case bootstrap. Flexbox and Grid along with media queries could be a more interesting approach, because it would not require the use of a framework.

By Edgar C C

Jul 16, 2020

Content is a bit dated. Bootstrap 5 is just around the corner and course is still teaching bootstrap 3.

Also it'd be a nice touch to pre-generate cool webpages for Colleen to use as examples. It's a little bit demoralizing working on codes that don't look that good on screen.

Overall I did enjoy the course really much. It was totally worth it!

By Kofi E O

Feb 10, 2020

This is a great course that touches on many of the important aspects of responsive web design. It doesn't really go deep into bootstrapping but does a great job overall. I would recommend it for a web developer who wants a refresher course on responsive web design, or a beginner who wants a good point to start off with responsive web design

By Shir D

Mar 26, 2016

The course was very intersting and the Colleen was Really Wonderful.

The one think that let me down is that i felt there wasn't enough material. The main ideas went again and again.

Beside, I think that it was good combination between technical practice and therotical priniciples.

By Ashutosh K

Jun 24, 2020

The instructor was amazing. She explained everything in a simple way. The course is a bit outdated though. Bootstrap 3 is not used these days. People have already moved on to BS4 and a couple of days back BS5 alpha was released. But this is very good for beginners.

By Diego A H G

Aug 7, 2020

For the course, I just had wished that the peer-graded assignments were required as they oblige you to do them. But, I just want to say, thank you, professor for everything. I will always remember you for helping me give my very first steps in web design.

By Thomas V

Jun 11, 2017

I think the Bootstrap assignment for week 3 would have been better if there was only the HTML and a light CSS to work on, instead of reusing our previous assignment would have been better. That way the assignment itself would have been slightly clearer.

By Jose L F F C B

Aug 28, 2019

Good introduction to Responsive Design. Not only is styling with CSS media queries covered, there is also an introduction to Bootstrap 3. Doesn't go very deep, but enough to get "feet wet". Instructor is clear in her explanations. Recommended.

By Mudit T

Aug 7, 2020

I would suggest explaining the framework in a little more detailed way, because everyone could have gone and just looked at the documentation, but they opt into this course to learn (possibly just bootstrap, if not responsive design itself).

By Ahmed H H M

Oct 10, 2017

The knowledge are very limited in bootstrap. We need more practical understanding. For example, the code for the advanced navigation is almost completely out of course and we need a lot of personal study to be able to follow up.

By Rutuj R

Jul 13, 2020

The course is well curated and easy to follow.The quizzes and assignments are great way to implement our learning and also helpful in grasping the material.But it could have been even better if it was updated to bootstrap 4.

By Darren S H

Apr 10, 2016

Very nice for theory of responsive design and had a lot of external links that I found very useful. I did this course with "HTML,CSS,JS" course from John hopkins University and it worked amazingly well with each other.

By Estitxu L E

Jan 16, 2018

Very interesting. By the time I took the course Bootstrap 4 had been released but the assignements and examples are still done using Bootstrap 3.

Overall, I'm enjoying the specialization very much. Thank you!

By Antony

Mar 21, 2020

I really enjoyed this class! It would be great to compare and contrast different framework, in additional to Bootstrap. Further, Bootstrap 4.4 has launched. The video on Bootstrap may need to be updated.

By Rajiv K

Jul 7, 2019

The course is very nice for those who wanna understand how to make a webpage responsive. The underlying concepts have explained very well. The knowledge of HTML and CSS is must understand the concepts.

By Viswajeet S

Aug 10, 2020

This course was very helpful for me to develop an understanding and importance of responsive design. I also learnt the basics of Bootstrap 3 like making navigation-bar, responsive tables etc.

By Ricardo S

Oct 6, 2019

The course is really well designed and easy to follow. The instructor is capable and easy to understand.

I wish the course were updated to cover Bootstrap 4, which has been out for long enough