Chevron Left
Back to Advanced Styling with Responsive Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advanced Styling with Responsive Design by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
3,634 ratings
656 reviews

About the Course

It used to be the case that everyone viewed webpages on about the same size screen. But with the explosion of the use of smartphones to access the Internet, the landscape of design has completely changed. People viewing your site will now expect that it will perform regardless of the platform (smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer). This ability to respond to any platform is called responsive design. This course will expand upon the basic knowledge of CSS3 to include topics such as wireframes, fluid design, media queries, and the use of existing styling paradigms such as Bootstrap. After the course, learners will be able to: ** Explain the mobile-first paradigm and the importance of wireframes in the design phase ** Create sites that behave across a range of platforms ** Utilize existing design frameworks such as Bootstrap This is the fourth course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. A basic understanding of HTML and CSS is expected when you enroll in this class. Additional courses focus on adding interactivity with the JavaScript Programming Language and completing a capstone project....

Top reviews

MA
Jul 19, 2019

I enjoyed the course very much. Learn a lot of things. And find that in web designing good practices are more important. I have to read articles, blog to update my knowledge and to learn new things.

TM
Sep 25, 2019

Well-structured, well-taught and easy to follow course with great exercises to help improve your skills. I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn responsive web design.

Filter by:

601 - 625 of 642 Reviews for Advanced Styling with Responsive Design

By Trần C L

Nov 5, 2019

This course doesn't cover all of the responsive design as Collean told you to play more with your code and explore more. I mean, sandboxing is the main part of this course, it's very dependable. Unless you really interested in web design, you just need to watch the lectures and pass quizzes easily. Good course though, it now gives you some view points from people who actually got a job related to web designing, which is nice!

By Devansh K

May 16, 2020

Great content overall. My only issue with the course is that it hasn't been updated yet even thought Bootstrap 4 has been around for a while. It was quite a hassle to do the assignments because I had to keep looking up the changes between Bootstrap 3 and 4 to make my code work.

By Yonatan S

Mar 5, 2017

I think this course is missing some key elements for a complete beginner. I would suggest to expand on Bootstrap and how to work with it. For example, what do I do with the bootstarp files I have downloaded, where do they go, how to find their classes etc.

By Reema M

Jul 9, 2020

The course deals with responsive design and bootstrap 3. The lectures are good and clear. The part on bootstrap has to be updated I feel. Also some of the additional materials suggested are currently unavailable.

By Joseph V M

Feb 2, 2020

The principles of responsive design are well presented. However, this course spends its last two weeks covering an out-dated version of the framework Bootstrap, which is somewhat of a waste of time.

By Jory P

Aug 3, 2016

I understand peer review is a bit difficult, but being quiz only made this course a bit too easy. Colleen is a great teacher though and I like her unique teaching style and viewpoint.

By Amreshwar S

Nov 15, 2020

I didn't liked that the coding assignments were made optional also the week 3 coding assignment was something that cannot be done until you watch week 4 , 1st two lectures.

By Aayushie P

Jul 26, 2020

The course can be improved... upgrade the material using bootstrap 4. More code exercises should be given. The peer-graded assignments should not be optional.

By Jonathan L K

May 1, 2020

Pretty nice course, particularly weeks 1 and 2. I didn't like the boostrap sections as much and the quizzes and assignments need to be updated.

By Adrian K

Dec 19, 2016

It focuses too much on bootstrap framework instead of in my view focusing on building responsive sites from scratch

By Justin C

Jan 23, 2017

We were introduced to Bootstrap, but not taught much about how to use it and how to structure our html for it.

By Luis B M

Dec 11, 2016

Not as good as the former three in the Specialization. The BootStrap part could be better in my opinion.

By Jade N

Jan 17, 2020

Starts out great, but the entire section on Bootstrap is essentially useless as it's all outdated.

By Adrien d T

Jun 8, 2020

Bootstrap 3 is outdated and these lectures aren't as effective as in the three previous courses.

By A M

Sep 7, 2019

The outdated bootstrap info makes this harder to learn from. I'm afraid it needs an update

By jamil h

May 13, 2020

expecting more live examples of projects and assignments in this regard. Thanks

By ILYA S

Aug 23, 2019

Too much emphasis on an older version of one particular front-end framework.

By Kunal y

Jul 9, 2020

honestly , not a good course to learn bootstrap

By Saiful I

Jul 25, 2020

should've added compulsory assignments

By Dante H

Oct 9, 2019

some if the information is out of date

By Rakshit V

Jun 10, 2020

An Update is required to this course.

By Genís T V

Dec 9, 2018

Correct, useful but a little bit soft

By Keya B A

Aug 31, 2020

there must be graded assignments

By hamid e

May 19, 2020

should be updated to bootstrap 4

By Deepti M

Jun 8, 2020

expected more