Chevron Left
Back to Advertising and Society

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Advertising and Society by Duke University

4.7
stars
592 ratings
137 reviews

About the Course

This course examines the relation of advertising to society, culture, history, and the economy. Using contemporary theories about visual communications, we learn to analyze the complex levels of meaning in both print advertisements and television commercials. About the Course The course covers a wide range of topics, including the origins of advertising, the creation of ads, the interpretation of ads, the depiction of race, class, gender, and sexuality in advertising, sex and selling, adverting and ethics, and the future of advertising. The lectures will discuss theoretical frameworks and apply them to specific advertisements. Course Syllabus Week 1: What is advertising and where did it come from? Week 2: Am I being manipulated by advertising? Week 3: What’s in an ad beyond that which meets the eye? Week 4: How do ads get made? Week 5: What do ads teach us about race, class, gender, and sexuality? Week 6: Does sex sell? Week 7: What is the future of advertising? Recommended Background No background is required; everyone is welcome! Suggested Readings Although the lectures are designed to be self-contained, we recommend that students refer to the free online textbook ADTextOnline.org. Other free resources will be suggested for each week’s module. Course Format Most videos will be lectures with instructor talking. Each lecture will be illustrated with PowerPoint slides, print advertisements, and TV commercials. The videos for each week will consist of segments that add up to about an hour. Each week will have one quiz that will appear as stand-alone homework. All resources beyond lectures will be available online to students at no charge. Most of these will be from ADTextOnline.org. Others will be visits to the sites of ad agencies in the US and abroad, open access websites that deal with course topics, and open-access journal articles....

Top reviews

KD

Jun 15, 2018

What a great course! As an owner of an agency, a marketer and advertiser, I found it very eye opening and enjoyable. I learned a lot that I can apply to our business. Thank you Professor O'Barr.

GG

May 03, 2017

I will never look at advertising with the same eyes. It made me understand a lot of our current society and economy. Really suggested if you want to become a more informed citizen and consumer.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 134 Reviews for Advertising and Society

By sreela m

Jul 29, 2019

Really enjoyed reviewing advertisements and literally learning that there's so much more to it han meets the eye.

By ATTAT E

Jul 01, 2020

The course was robust and engaging enough to prompt further reading on the subject of Advertising and Society.

By eishika

Jun 19, 2020

Really enjoyed studying this course. Thanks to the Professor teaching the same. It was a wonderful experience.

By Mariam K

May 16, 2020

Very informative course. It surely opens the eyes to the world of advertising. Highly recommended to take this

By Thibaut S

May 05, 2017

Very interesting class, lots of examples and cases study which made the course very active and dynamic !

By CHOW W

Apr 05, 2018

It is a remarkable course to know advertising nowadays with a more "scientific discussion" provided.

By Pujol A

Nov 18, 2018

A really good overview of the advertising word. Lots of interesting examples and practical cases.

By Abin J M

Jun 13, 2018

100% Happy with the course,learned a lot!!!!!! looking forward for similar learning experience.

By Pashkov A

Mar 13, 2019

Very interesting cours, a lot of things to think about. Thank you, Professor William M. O'Bar.

By 소현 김

Aug 07, 2017

It was my best coursera! Ican learn a lot of not only advertising but also society. Thank you!

By Muhammad T S

Nov 19, 2017

Interesting and useful discussion. Different perspectives shared by a learned professor.

By Karen P

Jan 28, 2019

Well-structured and informative. Quizzes were a good way to check understanding.

By George-Bogdan D

Apr 26, 2020

Great insight and amazing and detailed teaching. I will recommend this course.

By Jorge R M D

Jun 24, 2020

Un muy buen curso, completo y que abarca desde lo general hasta lo específico

By Rizwan A K

Nov 18, 2018

its a very good site to learn what ever you want to learn relet to your study

By Amir H V

Nov 26, 2017

Thanks a lot for your effort and hardworking to deliver these course to us.

By Alex I

Nov 21, 2016

Absolutely fantastic course! Great insights and, of course, great teacher!

By Harshit S

Jun 29, 2020

A great course that dives deep into the various aspects of advertising!!!

By Mithun V

Jul 08, 2020

Learned a lot about the Advertising and it was very useful for me.

By Sergienko A

Apr 16, 2020

It's been a wonderful and informative course, thank you very much!

By Neha

May 02, 2020

How can i get my certificate which syllabus i have been completed

By Brian E

Apr 06, 2020

Good overview that provide me with a few great ideas to consider.

By Ananya G

May 10, 2017

A well planned and organised course. Good learning experience.

By GUJJARI P K

May 16, 2020

Advertising and society course is very useful to MBA students

By Nishant N

Oct 29, 2019

I love how the mooc is making me analyse everything around me