Chevron Left
Back to The Music of the Rolling Stones, 1962-1974

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Music of the Rolling Stones, 1962-1974 by University of Rochester

4.8
stars
155 ratings
49 reviews

About the Course

This course will survey the music of the Rolling Stones, beginning with the roots and first formation of the band in the early 1960s, and following the group through the release of It's Only Rock 'n' Roll in late 1974....

Top reviews

AD

Apr 6, 2021

Brilliant!! Professor Covach is very knowledgable & enthusiastic. I’ve done four of his online music courses and thoroughly enjoyed every one. I’m 72 & live in the UK. Keep on rockin on!!

GB

Aug 9, 2017

I have completed every last one of John Covach's courses and he has inspired my way of playing my own music and the way I hear new music. He is, by far, the best teacher on Coursera.

Filter by:

26 - 48 of 48 Reviews for The Music of the Rolling Stones, 1962-1974

By Luis C P D l R

Aug 13, 2015

Great curse! Good information for lovers of rock 'n roll and fans of the world's greatest rock band!

By Anna F

Aug 22, 2015

Thank you for this course. The Rolling Stones is not very famous band in my country (Russia)

By M W

Dec 16, 2020

Professor Covach is a inspiring instructor. I have taken three of his courses.

By Scott Z

Jul 23, 2021

John rules and the course is a slew of information for any true Stones fan.

By Jessica R L A

May 30, 2022

It was an excellent course because the teacher knows too much about music.

By gerardo d m n

Jan 12, 2016

Gran curso, aprendí mucho de la historia de los Rolling

By John C

Oct 20, 2019

Very informative and entertaining. Love these courses.

By Alex M

Aug 17, 2020

Great instructor and very well presented information.

By Cuauhtémoc C E

Apr 25, 2019

a very complete study of the Rolpimg Stones case.

By John R P

Nov 22, 2017

Great and challenging course. thnk you, Professor

By David M

Apr 24, 2016

Excellent teacher very expert in the matter

By Debra J

Sep 1, 2015

I learned so much! Excellent professor!

By James S

May 31, 2020

Just awesome---rock-n-roll

By Juan C A E

Nov 30, 2020

Great! Excellent teacher.

By enrique b r

Jul 16, 2017

It was a great course!

By António M d S A

Jan 26, 2017

Thank you very much.

By JOHN Q

Feb 6, 2016

interesting and fun

By Richard A R

Mar 30, 2017

Good Course!

By Nick d U

Sep 30, 2015

Lots of fun.

By mansi g

Oct 1, 2018

its easy

By Deleted A

Sep 23, 2017

Great intro to a music powerhouse of the 20th century, which provides further opportunities for research after the course's conclusion. Simultaneously musicological and historical, which is nice. Those looking for a social/cultural class will find some relevance, but it mostly examines the growth of the band as a musical entity, taking into account some of the current society's influence and noting the Band's role in anti-establishment attitudes, but not really delving into the larger reaction (try History of Rock 1 and 2 if you have the chance)! Dr. Covach is a perfect instructor for this course.

A good parallel/companion study for the other course from the same institution/professor, Music of the Beatles, but in that light, a tad more complex to follow along--although I've gotten into the swing of things, note taking (following the lectures) is much more consonant in the Beatles class and initially hectic here, so just between the two is my tiny complaint.

Also, a fairly challenging course to fit in to a regular school schedule (odd but true for me at least) the lectures are about an hour to an hour and thirty minutes, I usually take time out to search & listen to excerpts of the songs on spotify which probably takes maybe thirty minutes to an hour depending on how many releases are talked about in lecture and how many of those are covers (which adds searching for original versions)--and with the special features, it's a solid three-credit-hour class, despite its half-term length. Definitely for anyone (fans and newbies alike) to take, but be ready!

By Stacie M S

Sep 27, 2015

There is a glitch in the week 2 quiz but otherwise I am very much enjoying the course.

By Colm F

Dec 20, 2016

Great delivery!