Chevron Left
Back to Roman Art and Archaeology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Roman Art and Archaeology by University of Arizona

4.7
stars
496 ratings
172 reviews

About the Course

The objective of this course is to provide an overview of the culture of ancient Rome beginning about 1000 BCE and ending with the so-called "Fall of Rome". We will look at some of the key people who played a role in Rome, from the time of the kings through the Roman Republic and the Roman Empire. We will also focus on the city of Rome itself, as well as Rome's expansion through Italy, the Mediterranean, and beyond....

Top reviews

VJ
Jul 5, 2016

To me, it is the best structured course so far. Quiz after every lesson and written assignment after every week. Also, prof. Soren is reproducing it steadily and in comprehending fashion.

NA
Oct 14, 2020

I really enjoyed every second of it! It was very comprehensive yet easy to understand and enjoyable. If you have the tiniest passion for classics, I definitely recommend this course!

Filter by:

151 - 168 of 168 Reviews for Roman Art and Archaeology

By Francine

May 27, 2016

A very interesting and entertaining course!

However, the dog could have been left out . . . .

By Kelly P W

Feb 29, 2016

Just started today and have already learned a lot!!! Looking forward to next weeks lesson!!!

By Joy S

Jul 20, 2017

Good info, nice professor. Has peer review, which I hate and won't do

By Shannon B

Aug 8, 2017

Loved this class. I'm a big history person and take any class I can.

By Jp C

Oct 21, 2016

Pretty good class.

Dude, lose the dog, it's not cute, it's creepy.

By Marisha W

Aug 15, 2016

Interesting and well presented. I enjoyed it very much!

By Andrew C

Apr 26, 2016

Good content, but odd mashing of video presentations. B

By Varun N

May 26, 2020

Really enjoyed the course; my first about Rome

By David F

Sep 26, 2016

Interesting content. Engaging instructor.

By Leticia L

Jun 12, 2017

great, interesting and complete course

By Earl

Jul 21, 2020

Enjoyed it. thank you

By char m

May 18, 2020

Excellent information.

By miguel a g a

Oct 11, 2016

Quite a good resource

By Ygor K B

Feb 19, 2019

good

By Marta C B

Jun 6, 2016

I didn't find the speaker very engaging. And his habit of bringing the dog into the classes was supremely bizarre.

By Karin L M

Jul 30, 2020

The course is good, but to get your peers to give a review is terrible.

By Wendi S

Jul 29, 2017

For a course on art and archaeology, there seemed to be little shown. More time was spent with Dr. Soren sitting behind a desk or standing at an empty site, usually reading off the teleprompter. This course lends itself to a lot of visuals, yet that part of the course was very skimpy. And why the old movie trailers? Why did we see a whole video on Troy? This isn't even Roman, beyond the fact that several emperors likened themselves to Alexander and some Hellenistic art influence. That's not what the video referenced. Again, it was just about the discovery of Troy, historical, with no attempt to make it relevant to the course itself. I know some historical background is needed to keep the work in context, but this was more of a history class than an art-based one. And as much as I love dogs, was that really necessary? Trying to be funny or cute didn't work.

By Elizaveta A

Mar 14, 2017

Very superficial and inconclusive.

The course professor focuses more on himself than on the material.