Chevron Left
Back to Safety in the Utility Industry

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Safety in the Utility Industry by University at Buffalo

4.7
stars
1,951 ratings
402 reviews

About the Course

This course arms you with basic utility industry safety knowledge. You will be educated about personal protective equipment, fire safety, hazardous materials and their symbols. You will gain insights to recognize the importance of a safe work environment. This course is for individuals considering a career in the energy field (who have a high school diploma, at minimum, and basic knowledge of mathematics), and existing energy sector employees with less than three years of experience who have not completed similar training and would benefit from a course of foundational industry concepts. The course is a combination of online lectures, videos, readings and discussions. This is the third course in the Energy Production, Distribution & Safety specialization that explores various facets of the power sector, and features a culminating project involving creation of a roadmap to achieve a self-established, energy-related professional goal. To learn more about the specialization, check out a video overview at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Yh9qIYiUDk....

Top reviews

MS
Dec 1, 2019

It's a great course. I've learned a lot here. I've learned how to protect Myself while working from electrical hazards or other hazards. I've learned how to protect workers if you're an employer.

AT
Jun 8, 2020

This course has given me a lot of knowledge about how important role of ""safety in the utility industry ""in our industries .\n\nVery helpful and useful and important course forever .

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 402 Reviews for Safety in the Utility Industry

By Ahmed M N K A

Apr 7, 2021

ok

By SUJIT K V

May 26, 2020

E

By Mahmoud R

Oct 17, 2019

t

By Robert N A

Mar 2, 2021

A very good course but I found that it does not highlight the whole world, as many of the rules and authorities are US, I have an issue with some of the procedures with regards to first aid, the main one is applying anointments of any sort on an open wound. This should never happen and if a casualty is bleeding and the bleeding is so bad that it cannot be stopped with the first application of a bandage or swab, another should be applied and the injury should be raised above the heart and the emergency services should be contacted directly. this is the only thing I had trouble with as I have had many First aid courses in my time some of military background.

By Kaleem U

Apr 18, 2020

To some extent, I believe that certification does not matter, but it will help in learning, growing new skills and gives a click of achievement. This gives me a road map towards how to play in Power sector.

"Safety in the Utility Industry" course gives information on basic utility industry safety knowledge, which includes content about personal protective equipment (PPE), fire safety, hazardous materials and their symbols.

By Muhammad U

Mar 12, 2021

Assalam O Alaikum! Thanks for allow me to complete this course. This course gave me a large amount knowledge about safety and utility in industry. I am an Electrical Engineer and this course help a lot in future. After completing this I am able to manage all type of emergency situations.

Regards

Muhammad Usama

By HEEREKAR R

May 13, 2020

The utilities industry has a long history of enforcing high standards when it comes to workplace safety. This attention to safety is imperative due to the nature of the work and the hazards the employees face, both in their environment and with regards to the .

equipment

By Sharanya C

May 8, 2020

The course was in fact very interesting. Just felt that this focused more on the policies in the US. Though there was a lot of content related to any industry in general, some more general content could also be included (not country specific)

By Okunsebor W O

Jun 18, 2020

The contents of this course gave me a deeper understanding in OSHA, PPEs types and applications, hazard identification and response, among others. I recommend this course for anyone in the power sector

By achraf b

May 2, 2020

It's nice course but it could be more general because many learners are not from US and maybe they will not work there so if it's more general it can help more people around the world

By Canacuan G M J

Aug 4, 2020

I found it a ver y interesting course an i learn new things although un some parte i did not understand a few words bit personally i al grateful forma the opportunities provided

By Pandian R

Apr 29, 2020

It was a wonderful sessions. Though it is a theory, the points were explained as a facts and not as a mere theory. The professor was excellent in summarizing the contents.

By Ghanshyam K

Jun 22, 2020

this course is very useful .

by the help of this courses we know about proper safety precaution

who is responsible for labour safety

WHATS is the responsbility whom?

By Andrew A

Jun 18, 2020

Guidelines are very broad but include a very useful overview of the entire concept of saftey in the industry as well as the organizations involved and the basics

By HOMESH C N

Feb 10, 2021

I am very thankful to have this course because this course is so much important to improve our skills regarding industrial safety and security.

By Sergio M J

Jun 16, 2020

Bueno para alguien quien va empezando en el tema. Un poco deficiente para alguien con algo ya de conocimiento y experiencia en la industria.

By AbdulGaniyu Z

Nov 14, 2019

The course was really enlightening and i believe it imperative for everyone to take the course, because safety begins with you and me

By SAQR T

Apr 17, 2019

this course has taught me a lot about safety in the work zone, things that I underestimated turned to be imperative and critical.

By AKSHAY P J

Sep 15, 2020

Instructor was like an automated robot reading out pre-written script. But the content was so clear and straight.

By Shahid H

Aug 15, 2020

I have learned lots of new things about safety in the utility industry, OSHA standards, PPEs and many more.

By ASHUTOSH G

Jul 10, 2020

Learning never ends, but here what I learned last few weeks was really going to help me in the future.

By SUNIL N

Jun 19, 2020

ITS VERY good COURSE,I enjoyed and learn form this.its very helpful working in industries.

By bhupesh s

Aug 30, 2020

Great course definitely improves your knowledge about safety practices in industry

By Shirvan C M

Jun 8, 2020

Was extensive enough, and a good point for a safety course. The dr was good .

By SADHANANTHI A

Oct 27, 2020

This course is very useful to understand about the safety in industries