Chevron Left
Back to Planning & Design of Sanitation Systems and Technologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Planning & Design of Sanitation Systems and Technologies by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
stars
940 ratings
271 reviews

About the Course

Do you want to learn how to plan affordable and context-specific sanitation solutions? Be up-to-date on the newest developments in urban sanitation planning and programming? Get to know best practice examples of urban sanitation systems in low- and middle-income countries? If yes, this course is for you! This course provides you with an introduction to integrated sanitation planning, both on a citywide scale and for specific contexts such as informal settlements. You will become familiar with different sanitation planning frameworks as well as different systems and technologies relevant along the sanitation value chain. You will learn why systems’ thinking is crucial for urban environmental sanitation, and how to apply key terminology and important concepts. INSTRUCTION Eawag-Sandec and EPFL jointly offer this course with support from sanitation experts of the World Bank and WHO. LANGUAGES We simultaneously offer this course in English and French. The name of the French course is « Planification & Design des Systèmes et Technologies d’Assainissement ». MOOC SERIES This course is one of four in the series “Sanitation, Water and Solid Waste for Development"....

Top reviews

FA
Sep 5, 2020

An eye opener to inclusive sanitation planning. The course content was very well delivered not to mention the choice of case studies of failed and successful urban sanitation projects. Keep it up!!!

TN
Nov 19, 2016

An eye opener to inclusive sanitation planning. The course content was very well delivered not to mention the choice of case studies of failed and successful urban sanitation projects. Keep it up!!!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 256 Reviews for Planning & Design of Sanitation Systems and Technologies

By AYUSH K

May 12, 2020

after completing this course i have understanding of proper sanitation facilities which are required as per user, and its collection facility. Also come to know about various case studies which are complted in various demographics. learn planning and design of sanitation facilities

By MD Z R

Mar 18, 2021

The quality of this course was beyond my expectation. I had no idea that an online course can be this interactive and engaging. The syllabus was very well designed. The case studies presented here were really helpful to understand the subject. My gratitude to all the instructors.

By Libertad G V

Nov 8, 2016

I really enjoyed this course where I learned many practical things, I acquired some interesting skills to plan and design projects. The materials presented are really useful and interesting. I want to say thanks to the whole team and congratulate them for their excellent work

By Edkarl G

Nov 20, 2016

This online course provides a solid and holistic approach for the planning of sanitation systems and selection of technology options. The compiled materials are up to date and offer a good resource for students and researches, aspiring practitioners and seasoned

By Ramkumar D

Jun 21, 2020

Excellent Course... Even Non-Technical or Non-Engineering background people will find it interesting throughout the course. Thanks to Christopher Luthi, Isabel Blackett, Many others who involved in this course and make us involved throughout our learning process

By Umar I

Nov 21, 2016

The course was well structured, providing a wealth of information packaged in concise videos, alongside additional documents for further reading. CA was also designed in a manner that required a proper understanding of the source material and not memorisation.

By José E N P T

Dec 31, 2020

AGRADECIDO POR EL CONOCIMIENTO COMPARTIDO COMO TAMBIEN POR LA EXPERIENCIA Y DEDICACION CON QUE SE CONFORMO EL CURSO. ME HE LLEVADO UN APRENDIZAJE BASTANTE BUENO Y DE GRAN IMPORTANCIA PARA LA SOCIEDAD Y EL MEDIO AMBIENTE.

ING. JOSE PALACIOS

GUATEMALA

By Pedro C H

Apr 4, 2018

A global vision of whole sanitation sistems including stakeholders, so useful procedures and very interesting examples.

I recommend this course for everyone who want to know more about sanitation, if your technician better but isn't a must at all

By SM A

Jun 9, 2020

I think it's a platform to know about standard sanitation system and planning process according to the condition of a locality. The case studies also helpful to relate the technologies or sanitation system with the real situation or world.

By Wilfred J L J

May 11, 2020

This is the second course that I have taken from the series “Sanitation, Water and Solid Waste for Development”, and both of them have given me tools to be more confident at professional level. Congratulations for such a incredible course!

By Abdul W

Apr 22, 2020

Never knew Sanitation services is such a blessing and not all people in the world has safe access to it. This course was very helpful in learning about all technical, financial,social challenges faced during planning of sanitation service

By Ilina R S

Jul 5, 2020

This course covers a wide range of sanitation systems in a concise but well-structured manner. All the lecturers are eloquent and use lots of case studies to expand on concepts, which makes it this excellent for beginners.

By Connie A

Nov 21, 2016

Very good general overview of how to approach deciding which sanitation system to use in many different contexts. It does not go into great detail regarding the design or operation of treatment systems. It is worth taking!

By Andrés F V N

Aug 31, 2020

It's a complete course that includes everything you need to know to understand how to plan and design sanitation technologies and systems. It also has a helpful and well-explain literature to delve into the topics.

By Zenzo S

Feb 11, 2018

Thank you so much for such a well-structured, organized course. I really enjoyed all the sessions, and particularly liked the pace which allowed me to carry on with my work and study. You are doing a great job!

By JOÃO T B

Dec 16, 2017

O CURSO É EXCELENTE - A METODOLOGIA DO EAWAG É POSSÍVEL SER UTILIZADA EM PAÍSES COMO O BRASIL QUE CARECEM DE SANEAMENTO - MUITO ÚTILI E BEM ESTRUTURADA A FERRAMENTA.

EXCELLENT! GOOD METHODOLOGY AND SMART DESIGN

By Rastko P

Nov 24, 2016

This course is great combination of on-hand knowledge and real time experience, concisely presented by lecturers. It was not only beneficial for the career, but also a pleasure to be the part of the course.

By Anjali R

Apr 3, 2020

great learning platform , detailed understanding of planning and designing concepts and principles of sanitation system in areas, forum help to clear doubts and query and better understanding of subject .

By Fazla Z A

Sep 6, 2020

An eye opener to inclusive sanitation planning. The course content was very well delivered not to mention the choice of case studies of failed and successful urban sanitation projects. Keep it up!!!

By Timothy N

Nov 20, 2016

An eye opener to inclusive sanitation planning. The course content was very well delivered not to mention the choice of case studies of failed and successful urban sanitation projects. Keep it up!!!

By FORAN C

Nov 4, 2018

VERY INFORMATIVE GUIDANCE .each and every individual must have the knowledge of planning and design of sanitation technologies then only goal of sustainable sanitation can be achieved

By JUAN M G V

Dec 12, 2020

Thanks for the documents and the help during this time. Now, I have a specific perspective of systems sanitary that I can share for other person and company for a better sanitation system.

By Carlos M

Jul 13, 2019

Un curso bastante interesante y muy bien explicado, sumamente didáctico, sin la frontera del idioma, ya que sus videos están subtitulados así como los cuestionarios. Excelente servicio

By Sharon

Jun 5, 2020

Great course. I loved the use of diagrams and colors to help highlight certain pathways/steps needed to occur. Loved the use of case studies. Very informative. Overall a great course

By Juan F d L I

Aug 2, 2017

Muy bueno para sentar las bases de la planeación y diselo de los sistemas de saneamiento en ciclo cerrado, seria bueno hacer una versión para la gente que ya estamos en el sector