Chevron Left
Back to Budgeting and Scheduling Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Budgeting and Scheduling Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
8,430 ratings
1,120 reviews

About the Course

A good project schedule helps all team members’ work together to meet project objectives. A project budget with realistic cost constraints is also an essential bedrock of any project. In this course you’ll learn to plan and stick to time and cost constraints in order to ensure the success of your projects. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the resource needs of the project 2. Decompose work packages into activities 3. Define what is needed to estimate activity durations 4. Define milestones and create a milestone schedule 5. Determine the critical path and calculate float 6. Describe the purpose of using leads and lags in a project schedule 7. Estimate the quantities and costs of resources required to perform project activities 8. Select one of three common cost estimating techniques to determine a project budget 9. Use a responsibility assignment matrix to assign responsibilities 10. Recognize the components of a project’s quality management plan...

Top reviews

MF
Oct 23, 2016

I enjoyed this course, the mix of the video presentations and the powerpoints are well done. The instructor does an excellent job. the 'bonus videos' and 'panelist interviews' are very good as well.

JR
Feb 5, 2017

Great course going into important details on cost and budgeting. I really like the video portion which gives real-world examples that help reinforce and bring the concepts to an everyday audience.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 1,106 Reviews for Budgeting and Scheduling Projects

By Jose A P N J

Oct 20, 2016

little confusing on week 4, not about the math, the math is super simple but whether I should use ES equal 0 or 1. Margaret says 1 but slides says 2. Apart from that, great course. Much more interesting than the first one.

By Jim H

Jan 15, 2021

Great all-around experience!

The instructor, Margaret Meloni knows her stuff. She presents the information at the right pace, provided well thought out examples and in a manner that was easily understood.

Thank you,

Jim

By Gautam A K

Aug 5, 2019

Excellent course, well structured and presented. To get the total benefit of this course, I would recommend completing all courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization.

By Jagadeesh V

May 5, 2020

It was very good , informative and covers all the essential information on estimating project budget, considering cost factors and techniques to manage the schedule well which is eventually tied up tot he cost

By Basharat J

Aug 25, 2020

This course has actually reinforced all the concepts I had studied previously in such a way that I won't forget again. I would highly recommend this course to all those who have interest in project management.

By Felipe R

Jul 24, 2017

Excellent knowledge! I've always got in trouble with scheduling and budgeting. What a night it has always been in my project. Now with this Technics, I will be merciless with no guessing at all! Thank you!

By Abdulaziz K A

Feb 23, 2021

the materials are really helpful. Also it's required to increase and sharpen

our knowledge in Project management subjects.

I hope if we can receive the reading/Video materials to be as a reference.

By Paul B

Oct 6, 2015

Very interesting and insightful course, with practical information on projects scheduling. The instructor is increadibly engaging and cheerful making even the most hard things easy to understand.

By Турлыханов Е Д

Jan 12, 2021

I would like to thank UCI for delivering such an understandable and interesting course. I highly recommend even for those who already have an experience in budgeting and scheduling the projects.

By Konstantinos-Marios V

Jan 3, 2021

Amazing experience that I would propose to everyone independently of your background in project management! A real milestone for a continuous progress in budgeting and scheduling real projects!

By Randall G

Dec 15, 2017

Excellent practical advice given in the tutorials and videos that will help you avoid some of the common pitfalls of project management and make you look a true project management professional.

By Adnan A H

Dec 26, 2020

xcellent practical advice given in the tutorials and videos that will help you avoid some of the common pitfalls of project management and make you look a true project management professional.

By Kelly F

Oct 28, 2020

Straightforward and easy to follow. Some good insights gained from this course. I would recommend this anyone wanting to learn more about best practices for budgeting and scheduling projects.

By Farhan H

Jul 22, 2017

This course has really helped me in understanding my work better from a project's perspective. It has also highlighted the pitfalls in project's planning and executions we face everyday.

By PUSHPA S

May 16, 2020

AMAZING EXPERIENCE TO LEARNING WITH COURSERA. THIS IS ONE OF BEST ONLINE STUDY SITE IN WORLD. THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR GIVING ME THIS TYPE OPPORTUNITY TO LEARNING COURSES. KEEP IT UP....

By Ericson R

Apr 13, 2016

Budgeting and Scheduling helps you to attain the budget needed for the project itself. It also helps to monitor you cost versus your timelines in order to minimize the overtime and over

By ABHINAV K

May 5, 2020

A best-elaborated course and quality group discussion of the panelist in last, A lot of learning inbuilt with this course. Thank you for the quality of information and certificate

By G L

May 31, 2017

I like the Coursera way of teaching. Course content was right for me and the assessments were of a standard which meant I got the recognition I required to achieve my objectives.

By James G G

Dec 20, 2020

I have for a long duration desired to upgrade my skills. Thank you for this opportunity and intend to make a step forward at work and in continuous learning. Once more thank you.

By Bismi B

Apr 15, 2020

It was a great experience. one thing i has to suggest is to check the answers of the quiz. a question about float. i thing i had marked the correct option.but it shows wrong

By Prateekshya A

Jul 17, 2019

Loved the course! Simply excellent professor! I've taken other courses as well but found this the most interesting. Recommend it to anyone interested in Project Management.

By Michael L

Sep 7, 2020

For me, a perfect mix of delivery, exercises and quizzes to give me valuable learning experience. I enjoy the combination video / reading format of the material delivery.

By Katie A

Aug 13, 2018

Very helpful big picture overview of critical competencies for budgeting and scheduling projects. Immediate application for numerous projects I'm managing or co-managing.

By Indranil C

Aug 4, 2020

The course was really helpful in understanding the importance of scheduling and estimating costs. The course also gave some good mathematical approaches to map the plan.