Chevron Left
Back to Budgeting and Scheduling Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Budgeting and Scheduling Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
8,310 ratings
1,107 reviews

About the Course

A good project schedule helps all team members’ work together to meet project objectives. A project budget with realistic cost constraints is also an essential bedrock of any project. In this course you’ll learn to plan and stick to time and cost constraints in order to ensure the success of your projects. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the resource needs of the project 2. Decompose work packages into activities 3. Define what is needed to estimate activity durations 4. Define milestones and create a milestone schedule 5. Determine the critical path and calculate float 6. Describe the purpose of using leads and lags in a project schedule 7. Estimate the quantities and costs of resources required to perform project activities 8. Select one of three common cost estimating techniques to determine a project budget 9. Use a responsibility assignment matrix to assign responsibilities 10. Recognize the components of a project’s quality management plan...

Top reviews

MF
Oct 23, 2016

I enjoyed this course, the mix of the video presentations and the powerpoints are well done. The instructor does an excellent job. the 'bonus videos' and 'panelist interviews' are very good as well.

JR
Feb 5, 2017

Great course going into important details on cost and budgeting. I really like the video portion which gives real-world examples that help reinforce and bring the concepts to an everyday audience.

Filter by:

876 - 900 of 1,091 Reviews for Budgeting and Scheduling Projects

By Gigi G P

Feb 2, 2021

V

By Muhammad A A

Oct 27, 2020

E

By sachin s s

Jul 3, 2020

.

By Sanikumar S

Jun 13, 2020

G

By Manoj K

Jun 5, 2020

W

By UCHIT P R

May 12, 2020

.

By Qamar Z

Dec 18, 2019

B

By William M

Jun 14, 2019

.

By INGRID V

Feb 3, 2019

B

By Christopher J

Aug 22, 2018

G

By Sandeep S M

Apr 20, 2017

I

By Kevin T

Mar 3, 2017

A

By Fouzia B

Jun 6, 2016

y

By snigdha j

May 5, 2016

Wonderful course. It was very well written with all major topics covered. Bonus video and Panelists Interview were also very helpful. However I would like to mention a small mistake in the week 4th's lesson, slide no. 3.23 has a network diagram, which has last activity written A instead of I. It changes the calculation for complete forward and backward pass. Also, Margaret explained the network forward and backward pass with the value of first day as 1. However in the lesson it was taken as 0, which again changes the formulas she described in the video. It's not difficult to understand the difference but it somehow breaks the harmony.

By Mohammad O A

Jul 6, 2020

This course was slightly more difficult than the previous course in the specialization, which is expected, yet very informative and builds upon previous knowledge. The introduction of duration calculation was very interesting and actually fun. The budget estimation felt a bit rushed. But overall the course was very helpful and great introduction to the project management world since I can recognize and understand many of it's vocabulary and terminologies.

By Kondratiuk A O

Aug 11, 2020

As I mentioned earlier, there is a lack of translation of this course. All text materials, of which there are many, do not have the ability to translate and even the ability to copy for translators. The course is good, but the material is very difficult to perceive, because it is presented in large parts, it would be more convenient and clearer to break all large videos and text materials into separate parts on separate subtopics.

By FRANCISCO, T E R

Jun 17, 2020

This course if very helpful in learning the proper way of budgeting and scheduling projects. The discussions are precise and gives you a better understanding about the topic without dullness. The case studies and exercises really help to test the knowledge you gain from the lectures and readings. Would recommend this course especially to engineering students and professionals who would like to improve on the topic areas.

By Maria F M D

Sep 25, 2017

I really enjoyed this course and took my time to do the practical exercises which helped solidify the learning. In my opinion, the lessons are long and wordy and I would recommend breaking them into smaller units to make them easier to learn. Also, I think some important concepts were touched lightly and could have been done better by including scenarios or even some practical exercises.

By Joelle C S

Sep 25, 2016

After completing this course you'll have a good idea on how professional PMs schedule and budget complex projects. It will also teach you some valuable techniques that can be applied to projects you may be handling in your own work. I was unfortunately not impressed by the fact that the final exam was quite simple, simply borrowing questions already asked during the lesson quizzes.

By Benjamin G

Nov 1, 2016

Introduces helpful methods when it comes to estimating the duration of the project. The case study videos are fun to watch. The slides/lesson from the PMI are a little bit dry and formal, especially those depicting the different processes with their inputs and outputs. As in the preceeding course, I wish everything was a little bit more 'hands on'.

By Amos S U

Jan 28, 2019

This course is very important as no project can exist without spending and each project has programs which move on with time. Therefore this course is important for the projects to be successful.

it can be rated to 95%.

Great thanks to the instructor and Coursera directors for giving me this opportunity of pursuing a certificate in this course.

By Farid A

Jan 3, 2020

It was a great course! Two areas that in my opinion need consideration, are, one, I believe videos take less time than reading materials and people learn better from videos. Two, I did not understand why there was a lesson on project quality management while the course was about budgeting and scheduling.

By Amro H

May 13, 2016

Helpful course to get a good understanding of budgeting and scheduling projects. Obviously, nothing trumps experience, however this course supported me in how to think about the budgeting and scheduling aspect of a project, and what are the key terms and ideas to keep in mind during that process.

By arun v

Sep 17, 2017

Succinctly put course material. Lays down the key aspects and hammers them home. I wish the video lectures were more in sync with the reading material, though, especially the part where estimation of activity is explained. The plus one and minus one had me in knots; unnecessarily complicated.

By Vamsi T

Aug 6, 2020

This course is a good starting point for people who have never handled bigger project from start to finish. But, for managers and others who had the experience of handling complex projects might find it less interesting because the course didn't cover many real world examples in detail