Chevron Left
Back to Budgeting and Scheduling Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Budgeting and Scheduling Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
8,547 ratings
1,129 reviews

About the Course

A good project schedule helps all team members’ work together to meet project objectives. A project budget with realistic cost constraints is also an essential bedrock of any project. In this course you’ll learn to plan and stick to time and cost constraints in order to ensure the success of your projects. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the resource needs of the project 2. Decompose work packages into activities 3. Define what is needed to estimate activity durations 4. Define milestones and create a milestone schedule 5. Determine the critical path and calculate float 6. Describe the purpose of using leads and lags in a project schedule 7. Estimate the quantities and costs of resources required to perform project activities 8. Select one of three common cost estimating techniques to determine a project budget 9. Use a responsibility assignment matrix to assign responsibilities 10. Recognize the components of a project’s quality management plan...

Top reviews

LM
Jan 20, 2017

As in the other UCI Extension courses, this one have a good structure and a complete set of information that makes its simple to understand the basics of Schedule and Estimating in project management.

MF
Oct 23, 2016

I enjoyed this course, the mix of the video presentations and the powerpoints are well done. The instructor does an excellent job. the 'bonus videos' and 'panelist interviews' are very good as well.

Filter by:

926 - 950 of 1,114 Reviews for Budgeting and Scheduling Projects

By Abdelatif A

Oct 22, 2017

At first I thought the subject would be technical and boring, but gladly the wealth of clear knowledge,

the valuable insights, and the sharing of good practices and life experiences made it both

enjoyable and highly informative.

By Aditya V

May 23, 2020

Need to make it more technical with resources & Problems pertaining to Critical Path. This is a very basic primer - detailed problem sets with a higher complexity of scheduling add significantly to learning !

By Folorunsho E

Aug 16, 2019

Course is quite detailed and insightful. Personally, i would have appreciated a detailed peer-peer reviewed assignment at the end of the course. Other than that, it was an amazing learning experience.

By Tashieka M W

May 9, 2017

I really enjoyed taking this course to learn and understand budgeting and scheduling projects. The course materials and case studies allowed me the opportunity to apply my learning to real life.

By Matthew M

Apr 23, 2016

A good overview for budgeting and scheduling projects. The course focuses on the basics, but also does a good job of introducing more advanced methods for both financial and schedule management.

By kyle p

Jun 16, 2020

Tough course but a great amount of information. I already knew some general project management things and implemented them. Knowing more and of the PMBOK will definitely help in the future.

By Khan Z A

Jul 14, 2020

nicely planned, good use of real-life experiences. The lectures should be broader and made of several short duration videos. Too much reading content.Overall very helpful.

By Kalvis K

Feb 10, 2021

Pros- Good course, lot of material, practical tasks, bonus content.

Cons- Somehow Annoying lecturer body language.. Little bit similar content to other PM courses i got..

By pradip b

Sep 6, 2020

This course got me started in a nice way to understand the Budjeting and scheduling. Although it does not cover all matters, but now I am much interested to learn more.

By ilia v

Apr 25, 2017

It's better than the first course of this specialization. but as i mentioned in the survey, i think lesson 2 that includes 3 huge parts of PMBOK is not a great thing.

By Doménica Q

Jun 11, 2020

I liked the course, I find it really usefull. Although, I would like to have more reading material, as PDFs or articles of the subjects (material that I could save).

By laura

Dec 9, 2019

Very helpful module for beginners. Would be good to add a more practical and updated example for example using Microsoft Project Management.

Thanks fro the learning!

By Daniela E

Apr 22, 2021

I would love to have some interactions with peers or instructors to resolve doubts and questions. I feel that with no interaction my motivation goes a little down.

By Pore J

Aug 23, 2017

This course is great knowledge for Budgeting and Scheduling Projects, and what I like most about its contents is networking diagram which is fantastic explanation.

By Jae-lim K

Feb 20, 2016

I wish I could see actual budgeting process. Will be very useful to see how to get the gross, net gross, and average revenue of the projects in different areas...

By Carlos N

Feb 19, 2019

Margaret Pelloni is an outstanding professor and has a very good material. It would be better to have some kind of project to build and be evaluated by peers.

By Satoyan T

Apr 13, 2018

It was a bit difficult for me. Theory was a breeze but the mathematical aspect was a little hard, but I'll grasp it with a little more practice I guess. :)

By Eldar D

Jul 30, 2017

I would recommend to add video sample of creating for example construction project from the scratch, to show connections, critical paths, predecessors etc.

By Hasan K

Jun 8, 2016

I like this coruse and I hope to allow downloading the lessons as "PDF" for the students to get more benefits and to save these lessons as References

By Andreas F L

Apr 21, 2016

The subject gets appropriately harder in this part of the specialization, but the problems with certain parts seeming to have been rushed persists.

By Soraphak R

May 13, 2020

Thank you everyone on this course. The course is good. It should very good with more examples of phased oriented WBS and deliverable oriented WBS.

By gresia n

Oct 14, 2021

I learned a lot in this course about budgets and this course deepens my knowledge as a budget analyst.

I will continue to practice after this:)

By Ander M d L

Feb 4, 2018

I quite like the course, except that I find its a shame that we can not download the flash presentations to keep them for future references.

By Mario N

Jul 8, 2018

Full of interesting consideraciones you are not aware when you are the one who participantes in executing a project but not playing for it.

By Uchenna O

Apr 19, 2020

This course wasinteresting amd quiet technical and the instructor was explicit is breaking it down to anyone's understanding. good course